I just started working and sometimes I feel like its such a weird lifestyle. I mean, you wake up really early, get ready and go to work, where its all people who are your fellow workers, spend the whole day with them, doing work for a company, and then the whole day ends, you come back, its night, you eat dinner and sometimes you are so tired you just gulp it down, you then do whatever you have to do to get ready for the next day, you don’t get much time for anything else, and then you sleep for waking up early the next day coz you got to get atleast 8 hours of sleep.
Its such a fruitless cycle. Is this the purpose of life Like work work n work?
And what about having a proper family life? These days in many households everyone leaves the house in the morning for school/job etc and then comes home at late afternoon/evening/night. Its such an endless cycle. People don’t get time for anything it seems. What’s the purpose of it all? Its like you’re trapped in this endless cycle
All my school friends are working full time as well and we all get together and complain about this. Some of them like working others don’t but I always feel like why am I working so hard morning to night? What’s the point?
How do you guys feel about working and how do you feel it ties into the bigger picture of things? Do you get much time to enjoy or spend with your family or just kick back and enjoy yourself?
Welcome to the real world irem... :-) ... i've been working for a long time n been thinkin the same thin.. but u kno wut?.. i always make myself believe that atleast m makin a differnece . even if its a very small portion.. but atleast m part of sumthin that makes a change in life in one way or anuther... makes me appreciate the people who r in the same boat... You are lucky u r one of the few...
Life changes with time.. thats the beauty of it… … u kno.. once u get used to the routine.. mayb u can take sum time out at weekends or at the day end. or mayb u can find the gap in between lunch hours? u can go out with frends on lunch.. n hav fun then.. i used to do that, but then most of the frends went abroad or got married or got busy with sumthin else..
uyou are just having a hard time adjusting, you will get used to it. become reinds with ppl you work with, take time out for yourself at lunch time or after work, meet up with friends whoa re closeby for lunch or after work. Make the most of your weekends etc. You will be fine
the ppl at my job r GREAT n i get along with them well alhamdulillah and its really nice, plus i love my boss, she is super nice
the office is also nice n the work is also ok
its just the timings n getting up soooo early n the feeling that u r working n working n working for the whole day n when u get home u dont have any time to do anything else
in college i used to live on campus n took a medium to light courseload plus my lectures were all taped n avlbl online so i never developed a strict routine...i guess i just have to get used to the routinised lifestyle...
on weekends i am catching up on sleep or visiting family or getting in touch with friends
not 2 worry sweety , happenz wid da best of us, it’s just a different routine then wat u hv been used 2, makin it a lil difficult 4 u 2 adjust but u’ll get use 2 it widout even knowin urself
haan jus rem 1 thin; i had been doin a full time job + part time consultancy + studiez maself 4 past 4 yrz but i always tried my best 2 give da max time i can give 2 my family n Friendz, coz owise doin all da other thingz dun matter much if v dun hv sum 1 2 share wid. so try 2 keep urself updated abt da lives of ppl around u n ya mostly try 2 njoy ur self in wat eva u do, avail ev chance of flatterin urself coz after all da life is urs
btw m more lucky then u in a manner
i.e
5 hrs sleep is enuf 4 m 2 re-energize
Irem, what kind of work do you do? Do you have flexible work times or a strict routine? Do you have anything that you like doing away from work?
You are right, college is a nice time of life for me, too. I am kind of scared because after next year, I am thinking about going out to the big bad world of work, too;) Right now, working part-time on campus, school full time, and trying to decide to work or go to grad school - too many decisions!
some ppl are unable to move forward, i recall some ppl at my college who did not go on but just kept going to school taking courses in one area and another, working as grad assts living around campus area. They were in their 40s but did not want to let go of the life of academia, but they did not want to go and become teachers, they just wanted a student life forever it seemed.
I think for most of us there is a time to move on.
yaar u r just a freshman, enjoy urself…why do u hate school? r u taking too many courses? u dont like ur courses? u dont have good friends yet?
i used to hate school for the first two yrs, but then when i made a close group of friends, i really loved it, though i always missed my family
school is not just abt studying n classes…its a whole lifestyle…thats what i miss…i certainly dont miss the studying wala part
sometimes when faced with deadlines for assignments n stuff n stuck in the lan programming i also felt like i wanna get the heck out of school lekin often times when hanging out with friends i used to have this feeling k wow this is so good n i know im gona miss it after i graduate and yeah i really really miss it…
i just miss the college lifestyle, living with friends, having no responsibilities, having fun n hasi mazak n masti
depends on what u like to do in life and what makes u happy, for some it makes them happy to challenge themselves academically to great extents…but make sure u dont burn urself out by taking very tough courses that u hate…take classes u enjoy, do a major u like, and give it ur best, and have some fun with ur friends in the evenings n on weekends…coz this is really gona be the best time of ur life ever inshallah
hey if u ever wana talk abt school n stuff i’m like ur sis n u can pm me aite
awww Irem i know what you feel but dear it’s because you are new in feild assa hee hota hai , life here is much harder than anywhere :o my hubby have no routine and sometimes he have to work in weekends also …shuru meiN i was so upset about it but now with time we are used too kya kareeN ..lekiN its not easy with kids …when they don’t understand that why dad is at work all the time
try to make some friends at work , it helps …when i visit my dentist i see her talking about everything with her colleuges while working saath saath kaam bhi chalta hai and gupshup bhi try to adjust yara .
school life …ahh you are right who can forget those days … I want my school days back