People who work

No I have a close group of friends it’s surprising how fast you become friends with people here, during the first quarter I thought making friends was probably the most difficult task since its such a large university, but now I can say I know enough people to say hi to every other person that passes by…I hate the studying part doing homework, waking up early to go to class, last minute cramming sessions it can be sooo stressful I love the first few meeting periods were we just sit there and do the introduction, this is my most favorite part!!! College is more fun if you live on campus then you are always with your friends I have to commute!

paki maryam good to know u have made some good friends :slight_smile: that aspect will only get better…
yup studying and stuff and especially last minute cramming sessions are stressful i agree but as they say life is never perfect…but college is still a good part of one’s life :slight_smile:

mehroo aapi :hug: atleast you are at home with your kids your husband cant be…but i can understand that they must miss him being home…but its good you are there…
i am going to try and adjust inshallah mehroo aapi, been trying already, i guess it will take some time…ye jo sara drama mein karti hoon ye idhar hi karti hoon gs pe, warna asli mein to banday show naheen kara sakta na k he is having a hard time…
pehli job to mushkil lagi thee aur do din kar k chor hi dee thee :o lekin is dafa irada hae inshallah k apnay damag pe control rakhna hae aur bas karni hae to karni hae without feeling bad or ye k its tough…
i think all this is worse because i am also missing my ammi a lot, she has gone to visit bhai in germany…and usually i discuss everything with her…i havent even been able to talk to anyone abt how i feel..
bas aap dua karna k sab theek thaak hota rahay mehroo aapi :slight_smile:
school days to…sigh…that truly was the golden time :slight_smile:

Aray, don’t just focus on the negatives.. routine, subah uthna, falana dhimkana… look at the positive… tankhwa :yummy: Think of the different ways you will spend the moolah. Think of the clothes you can make, the eating out, buying gifts for “friends” (meaning sending gifts back to US, in some cases!!!)… in short, how much fun it is to actually earn money which you can spend the way you like. Wah bhayee wah! :slight_smile:

thanks Faisal bhai :)

the money thing wasn't such a change coz i've been used to getting financial aid stipend in college and working part time to supplement that so am used to having money in my hands to spend... [alhamdolillah]....thats why i guess it didnt hit me...but you are right :)

Ab saari umar tau stipend nahi milay ga... ofcourse, some girls land a rich husband to get an eternal supply of money, but thats a different story... so anyway, point is, most people work, so they can get money to take care of their other needs and wants.

The best part is to actually enjoy what you are doing on the job. Then waking up in the morning won't be so bad. And lastly there are the holidays and vacations, you can look forward too. For example, I know people who are really into skiing and they will work the whole year and then take 3 weeks off in winters to go skiing and enjoy doing what they really like. And their regular job allows them the luxury of enjoying what they like in their life.

Point is, I tend to look at the positive side of working.

Any of you look foward to down-times at work?
For instance, enough workload a day for two hours and the rest of the 6...u have nothing to do.

Bandoosta not at my work...we dont have free times...but some of my friends at other places do...i guess it depends on the nature of ur job

Faisal bhai you are right thats the approach one should have

irem , you take things too seriously. It's saturday, almost 5 o clock in the evening, and I am at my office, and yes working. But, so is my boss and three other co-workers. My boss just ordered a nice dinner for us <----- incentive to stay longer i guess :D

but, to be honest I wouldn't have it any other way..I just can't live without all this energy. After work, we may go out late at night, or may just hang-out here for a lil while. Others are sure to have few drinks, and then we just shoot stuff, plan, talk strategies etc. And everything basically revolves around using technologies to deliver services, developing, ingenuity..and yes making more money..

On the flip side, I haven't had a chance to do my laundry in over couple of weeks, I haven't had a chance to eat a single nice home cooked meal in god knows how many days, but I will still go and run few laps when i get home, have a nice cup of tea..don't know what else..but no complaints whatsoever..life is great ..it totally rocks