People who suck up to the managers...

Do you guys have people like that in your department…“chamchas”?

There is someone like that in my department. Always says yes to whatever the manager says, has no opinion of their own, and ALWAYS parrots the manager’s point of view, even when the team is sitting and having a conversation, even if the manager is absent.

Well, this REALLY bugs the hell out of me. Firstly, I have no respect for them because they obviously don’t even respect themselves. Secondly, I feel they are lying to me b/c they are not being honest about their opinions. I always believe in saying whats truly on your mind and not hiding your true opinion, even if you’re talking to the CEO, you have to say what you truly believe in, not something that is going to get you brownie points with your manager.

It bugs me endlessly when I see people simply parrotting someone else’s point of view in meetings and sucking up and being insincere.

*mad*

I just HATE that :frusty:

Re: People who suck up to the managers...

^^ I absolutely agree with you. And what I really find strange and worrying at the same time: The further you look up in a companies hierachy, the more people of that kind you will find.

^ must be a Pakistani phenomenon...rest of the world chamchagiri is limited to middle management at best and rest of it is based on KPI's and shareholder value creation

No one at my work sucks up to the manager, in fact we're always giving him a hard time. and we still get nice bonuses.

I like being sucked up to....what's your problem you underling minions!

Re: People who suck up to the managers…

I was talking about middle management there. Obviously a Top Executive doesn’t have anyone to suck up to. And btw, I don’t live and work in Pk.

It’s gotta be done Irem baby, it’s gotta be done :mudhosh:

Seriously though, your attitude really bugs me. I get on really well with my managers, and she’s obviously taken a liking to me - she favours me over the rest of the team, always sends me on training courses, relies on me for the hardcore cases etc. At first it used to bug me when people like you used to tell me its only because I suck upto her, because i don’t. According to these people, my progress has nothing to do with the fact that I’m one of the hardest working emplyees in our building, or that I’m educated to a higher level then most of them, or that I always give 110% to whatever I do, the only reason I’m progressing is because I’m in with the boss :rolleyes:

The fact of the matter is that I do like my manager, so I’m being genuine when I’m doing my ‘chamchagiri’, but even if I didn’t particularly agree with what she had to say, I would still suck upto her if it meant I could further myself in my career. You’ve gotta look after number one, cuz no1 else will.

CHAMCHAGIRI ZINDABAD!

Sadi..my father once told me.."look out for number one..cuz if you don't someone will number two on you"

^ did he say it in an indian accent? now that would be funny.

LOL...somewhat of an Indian accent... funny nevertheless

i really like it when some people talk abt ‘speaking up’?..nobody ‘speaks up’ until you know that the risks are not high…in this case, we know irem has no plans of sticking around in the company, so the attitude…others at yr place cant afford to give the attitude, they r there to work up the ladder, and are not whiling away thier time until dulha bhai shows up…

u know how people never spoke up, until the “wecloming” thread came up…

nobody gave 'the real pieces of mind 'when the “tone it down thread” was going on…

:flower1:

ghulail as usual i don't get what the heck you're trying to say :p and i might just be sticking around in this company btw ;)

**Sadi Sobi** i dont know about your case but i DESPISE chamchageeri coz it involves being insincere. 
as u said u work hard and when u say good stuff to ur boss u r being sincere. well thats ok then coz u r not being insincere.

yes there r people who just get jealous of successful colleagues and needlesly blame them for chamchageeri, but that was not the case with my colleague :p
that person is a REAL chamcha.
im not saying give ur manager attitude, there SHOULD be a degree of giving respect to ur manager coz after all they are ur manager, so sure, be nice to them, but other than that earn their respect by ur WORK but don't try to suck up to them and do their chamchageeri...and come on, parrotting the manager's opinion to your colleagues when the manager is not around and ur colleagues are pi$$ed at the manager for something unfair the manager did??? thats just TOO much! and all this just coz u r the manager's chamcha! sorry but that just SUCKS! i don't have any respect for such people.
and sure, have ur eye set on the # 1 spot, but please don't forget BEHAVIORAL ETHICS on the way up! for me, i can sacrifice the #1 spot but i cannot sacrifice my ethics. ethics come first. real success at the end of the day is that wud be if i tried to be a good person all along even if i didnt get the #1 spot, if i did thats great tho, but certainly success is not that i sacrificed being a good person for getting the #1 spot. the #1 spot is not worth it in that case.

**Atlantis** hehe that sucks :p

**masterofall240** where do u work? tell me quick :D

**Umer** bhai I don't think anyone would respect people who are just hollow chamchas! Don't you think? I really believe that one can only earn respect thru solid work. One should respect the manager, no doubt, but I don't think anyone would appreciate an insincere chamcha? Its easy to look through such people , how can anyone respect someone who is obviously fake? I think even if chamchageeri gives chamchas success in the short run, in the long term they will be the losers coz this is just not RIGHT!

Erm excuse me, but isn’t this showing that this person is sincere? He or she could easily have colluded with you guys behind the managers back, but chose to parrot the managers views without him/her even being there. Has it ever crossed your mind that maybe this employee has a similar viewpoint to your manager? :ahaa:

Irem, abhi thak thu bachi hai, nehi samjhe gi. You live in a society where you don’t even have to work, daddy can provide for you today, husband next year, and kids in twenty years time. I, on the other hand don’t have that pleasure. My pops is retired, hubby will probably be some freshy (unskilled manual worker at best), and generally speaking, kids raised in this country can’t even to look after themselves, let alone their parents. I work out of necessity, not choice. It’s not about me wanting to be ‘independent’.

If I want that beach front retirement house in Wales, then * I * am the one who’s gonna have to work her butt off to get it. However, working your butt off isn’t always enough. I can name plenty of people who are Mashallah so hard working, but don’t progress because they don’t know when to shut up, or when to stroke somebody’s ego. Alhumdillilah I have that skill in abundance, and I intend to use it.

You might think I have no integrity, but I really don’t give a crap what people think. Like I said earlier, I’ve gotta look after number one.

And, another thing, why do you assume that sucking up means being insincere? Managers aren’t dumb – they know when people are being genuine, and I’m pretty certain they’re not going to promote someone they believe can’t be trusted.

Personally, I reckon you’re just jealous :stuck_out_tongue:

Sadi

***Erm excuse me, but isn't this showing that this person is sincere? He or she could easily have colluded with you guys behind the managers back, but chose to parrot the managers views without him/her even being there. Has it ever crossed your mind that maybe this employee has a similar viewpoint to your manager?** :ahaa:

No, that’s not true. The only reason that person does this is b/c we have joint meetings with the manager which is the only timr we get to talk about all issues and that person says their opinion in those meetings so its pretty obvious that they can’t do a 180 degree turn at the lunch table when the manager is not around. So the only reason they say the same thing is to save face in front of us and not appear like a turncoat.

You can have a viewpoint similar to the manager once or twice or thrice but not ALL the time in EVERY snigle scenario specially in certain cases when its more than obvious that even you are also the loser by that decision of the manager.

** Irem, abhi thak thu bachi hai, nehi samjhe gi. You live in a society where you don’t even have to work, daddy can provide for you today, husband next year, and kids in twenty years time. I, on the other hand don’t have that pleasure. My pops is retired, hubby will probably be some freshy (unskilled manual worker at best), and generally speaking, kids raised in this country can’t even to look after themselves, let alone their parents. I work out of necessity, not choice. It’s not about me wanting to be ‘independent’.

If I want that beach front retirement house in Wales, then * I * am the one who's gonna have to work her butt off to get it.  **  

Sadi bachon wali baatein toh tu ker rai hae samajhnay kee koshish tu khud kar. 

All sets of behavior should be defined by ethics, go after the retirement house in Wales, work you bu** off to get it as well, but if the only way to get that retirement house is by being unethical then sorry live in a 1 room flat in East London instead and forget about the retirement house in Wales.

BTW yaar what makes you think I or Pakistani women who do work work to be ‘independent’ and we live in a society where we don’t even have to work, and as you said “daddy can provide for you today, husband next year, and kids in twenty years time.”? Yaar if you think that then you are not well informed enough about Pakistan or Pakistani society. That is stuff thats written in books or magazines, its not the truth.

** However, working your butt off isn’t always enough. I can name plenty of people who are Mashallah so hard working, but don’t progress because they don’t know when to shut up, or when to stroke somebody’s ego. Alhumdillilah I have that skill in abundance, and I intend to use it. **

Anyone can have that skill if they want to Sadi, its just I don't think its a skill that one should be employing. 
Just be honest and nice, why does one need to lie or deceive to reach their goal?

You might think I have no integrity, but I really don’t give a crap what people think. Like I said earlier, I’ve gotta look after number one.**

Well sure, you’re responsible for your own actions. I have my own opinions about what behavior I consider right and what I consider wrong.

And, another thing, why do you assume that sucking up means being insincere? Managers aren’t dumb – they know when people are being genuine, and I’m pretty certain they’re not going to promote someone they believe can’t be trusted. **

Sadi, the person I opened the thread about was being insincere. And there’s a difference between being nice, respectful, courteous, even being extra nice…and SUCKING UP…CHAMCHAGEERI…
Sure, by all means, go and talk to your manager everyday, give them gifts, never disagree with them even.
But knowing that the sky is blue, but calling the sky geen just coz your manager said so, and then telling your workmates that the sky is green too. That is just wrong and that’s what chamchageeri is.

There is a fine line between correct and wrong behavior here.

** Personally, I reckon you’re just jealous :p***
I’m not. I got a higher raise recently than this person and I earn a higher salary than this person, and there is no reason for me to be jealous.

I was just mad at the person's attitude.

I (and the third person in our department) spoke to them today about it as well, and they defended themselves by saying that they honestly believe what the manager was saying. We were like yeah right whatever.

feisty ...

Irem,
I work in a title company, issuing title commitments. it gets pretty damn boring.

Irem, I swear you sound so unbelievably jealous of this person! Are you scared their next pay rise will be bigger than yours? :wink:

And again you bring ethics into it - aslong as other people aren’t being hurt by what you’re doing, why should it matter if you’re doing chamchagiri? And I’ll have you know that sucking up is an art form that takes years to perfect. If you were to go uand suck up to your manager i’m sure your manager would see right through you as you don’t have the skills required to do so.

At the end of the day, to each their own. if I want to suck up to my manager then that’s my decision, and if you don’t then that’s yours. By the way, what gives you the right to ‘speak’ to this coworker about his chamchagiri’, who the hell do you think you are? Allah aap kai colleagues ko salamat rakhe, I for one could never work in your team :rolleyes:

masterofall240 lol oye who the heck are you? Stop playing tricks with me :p

Sadi LOL well that's your (wrong) assumption. I am certainly not jealous of this person.
And this attitude bugged me (and it bugged my other colleague as much as it bugged me) because that person was lying to us as well, and being insincere to us as well. And that did hurt us coz that person is our team member. If what they said was just between them and the manager then we would have no problems with it whatsoever, even IF it affected the whole team's work, but what made us mad was he was not being honest with us either.
I don't need to learn sucking up coz I would never suck up to anyone.
Sure, you suck up all you want, but I also have a right to my opinion when I say I hate those who suck and and sucking up sucks.
I have every right to speak to my colleague firstly because I was bugged by something they did and wanted to address the issue. I obviously cannot reprimand them nor can I tell them what to do but I can certainly tell them what I think of their behavior.
And I wouldn't keep you in my team anyway, coz I wouldn't keep people who suck up in my team anyway. I'm not the manager though and don't decide who's on the team and who's not.

masterofall240 I just read your first thread. You're in DC and you're 20. So you're not who I think you are. Sorry.

um, ok. :confused: