Re: People who hate Desis the most are....
are you suggesting that there are no areas with a large number of desis which have decent, civilized desis living there? notice, large does not mean majority.
Sure, there are good and bad people everywhere, but I do not think that is the discussion.
I love my own people, but one of the benefits of living in a diverse society is that one can expand his/her social circle beyond there own group.
Self hate is sad.
^^ I am reminded of this very famous joke describing Pakistanis
A man visits Hell.
He is shown around by these 2 Angels.
The Angels tell him that each country has its own Hell and that hell is guarded by Angles who keep the people back as they try to escape.
He makes his way and then comes to the Hell for Pakistanis. But what was strange that this hell had no guards.
The man asks the angles, why is there no guards for this hell. The Angles tell him that there is no need, as one Pakistani tries to escape, the other Pakistanis pull him back in.
Inferiority complex
Ditto.
A lot of Desis like to make themselves think they are more modern, westernised and with the times compared to fellow Desis, they are deluded that they are somehow White and will criticise fellow Desis ampngst White people or agree with the criticism White people throw at Desis.
I personally love Desis, I try to get on with everyone and I'd love a perfect world where there was no need for groupings but there is so it's nice to be around people who you can just chill around and there's no need to correct or be on the defensive all the time..
A Desi will always be a Desi, living on a Crescent/Drive/Avenue as opposed to Road/Street and having Whitey 'friends' (really just neighjbours who you say hiya too) doesn't make you non-Desi, you're still as much a Desi in the worlds eyes and always will be.
South-Asians are not perfect, I have problems with them but I wouldn't criticise them infront of outsiders (what purpose does that serve but to further tarnish our collective image?), I'd educate them as best I can or leave them..
Mostly its because we Desis move to the West to get away from the Desi Environment back home. And then to move thousands of miles to the west and then live in the same neighborhood with the same people as you were trying to flee its just plain ridiculous.
I live in a mostly white area and there are a few desis here and there which is ok. You need to meet people from your own community but living in an area where Desis are a majority is not really experiencing or enjoying the West but rather confining yourself
That's 1 in 10 people and you know it!
Don't come on a Pakistani forum and start using the term "we" because you're a hindoo Indian. We are genetically different from you; sure our languages overlap (unfortunately) but thats where the commanalities end.
Get over it; Pakistanis and hindoo Indians are different.
That's 1 in 10 people and you know it!
Not really...
Many people want to live with Goras
Many people want to teach their kids English and send them to good schools
Well I would say 5 out 10 move to the West for the reason
The rest are economic reasons
respect yourself so that others may respect you.i guess desi hating desi cant be classified as racism but is certainly an example of snobbery.
I like desis overall but the only thing I personally dislike is when I see desis doing that whole trying to be white thing and making fun of or criticizing desis or anything related to desiism(if there is such a word:D) when they are in the company of nondesis. This is one thing that just burns me up inside and i've seen it quite a few times. I steer clear of these "desi-haters-white-wannabes".
This never works because eventually desis need other desis. I would completely suffocate living in an all white community.
kinda reminds me how when a black person gets a job and doesnt talk in ebnics or wears pants that buckle at the WAIST!!! is considered a "self hating white wannabe"
its interesting that anything having to do wiht education, not talking or looking like the majority of ppl around u is considered "white"... as if being "white" is the standard that everyone shud aspire to...
i'm not sure exactly what you're trying to say but what I was saying was in relation to actual white caucasian people. I grew up my whole life in a completely white neighborhood and there weren' t many desis in the city I lived in. But the few desis that were there used to have white friends and they used to make fun of certain desi things and they never used to like anything desi which really pissed me off . It is how those desis were raised because their parents never really taught them any desi customs.
You were in a way lucky because you grew up in new york city which is so diverse with whites, blacks, hispanics and every ethnic group a person could think of.
Re: People who hate Desis the most are…
double post
Inferiority complex
Very true.
Inferiority complex (or just complex), lack of self respect or maybe just that the desis remind them of who actualy they are.
There are some Desis who would even pretend that they do not know Hindi/Urdu/Punjabi, and sometimes would speak their native language with accent. Personally, I dislike this type of desis.
Very interesting...i shall get back 2 this thread when i m free so i can give a detailed answer.
human courtesy practiced on an unconditional basis will ERADICATE this anti- dedi behavior, granted that the associated flaws in the desi groups are in deed addressed as well
some of these include:
racing in wrong doing with others
getting things done with a small minded approach
being unable to defend their selves
not waning to own up to their own mistakes
too much dependence on others
self pity with laziness
corruption
delibrate resonation of threats that mean nothing
inability to strive for the best - by educating oneself
not realizing the consequences of reinforcing the stereotype of the term 'desi', itself
Re: People who hate Desis the most are…
Well mannered does not = white wannabe. Not all White people are well mannered and not all Ethnics/Pakis are bad mannered.
White wannabe’s are those that have an inferioirty complex, criticise and look down on all things Desi, I’ve known quite a few Desis like that, one was my uncle, an Indian girl at school, my friend who thought he was American because he was born there and talked with a CNN accent, and a Mirpuri ex, Gosh they did my bloody noggen in.
I think there needs to be a balance, integrate yourself in the society you live in and consider yourself a part of it but also be proud of your roots and origins, you can either be ashamed of who you are and it wont do anything but cause people to look down on you more or you can be an ambassador for your culture/country and be proud of it so that others respect it and you… You might be American/British but you’re also a Paki and that Paki label is going to stick with us for at least 3-4 generations more even if some of us don’t want it to, one of my friends is born from a fling his mother had with a Paki taxi driver, he’s never known his dad, he can’t speak ‘Pakistanian’, he isn’t Muslim, he has an Anglo name and speaks English but when his pure White friends have had too much of him (he’s the type of person who pecks your head) they say “shut up you Paki b*****!”.
I admit Pakistanis are not perfect but we don’t need to broadcast that to the world, jo ham mein khaamiyaan hain woh hamen khud sudhaarni hon gi, ghairon ko bataney ka kya faaeda? We don’t need to dishonour our country infront of outsiders. When something is advertised in commercials they don’t show the negatives (they’ll show how good a blender is but not that it’ll go flat the next day), Indians’ll show their fancy Islamic Mughal architecture but not the Hindu Brahmin caste system in their holiday brochures… We are Pakistan’s ambassadors, we have to create a postive image of it regardless of the cons, they’re for us to cover and resolve ourselves..
Let’s face it being a Paki/Desi is in your genes, that’s not going to change no matter how you try to act, we’ve got the best culture in the world so why not enjoy it? Be proud of who you are so that others will envy you and be in awe of your culture instead of criticisng your identity and increasing peoples disdain for it and for yourself because you’ll always be a Paki.
I tell you another thing which pees me off is when Pakis claim to be of Arab or Persian origin instead of just being proud of who they are (Pakistani), that gets right on my breasticles… If anyone says to me “you’re English you” I turn around and tell them “F off, I’m a Paki through and through” I’ve had people say to me “you’re well good looking you for an ethnic (asian)” but it doesn’t flatter me, I tell them “all Pakis are goodlooking”.
Don’t get me wrong I equally hate Pakis who have no manners (Paki women pushing in at Tescos and Paki men not letting ladies on the bus first
) and those that are not well groomed (by all means wear Shalwar Kameez but iron it and don’t wear sneakers with it) and that sort of thing is quite common amongst the type of Pakis you get down in town. I also hate those Pakis of my generation who think everyone besides them is a piece of siht, for example I was with one guy chilling in town and this white guy approached us said “hiya” and sat down at our table, well this Paki I were with just says “p**** y**** da gora, they’re paleet (napak) innit, chal etho chaliyey”, I didn’t say anything but I was angry and ashamed, F’ing paleet!? It’s not like you’re in the most Kosher of area in Manchester mate… I felt so sorrryyy for that poor gora, Paki mate just made me want to puke my guts out, that’s the attitude which gives us all a bad name, it was well out of order because I know how it feels, I’m dead sensitive and I don’t like stuff like that happening to me, it really gets to me so I can imagine they’d feel the same way when it’s vice versa…
^ bhai sahaab; you're making the mistake of calling Pakistanis "desis" when in actual reality its a term that refers to indians. Lets maintain our own identity.
Otherwise, I agree 150% with ur post. It was a pleaure to read.
In all honesty bro, I think we're stuck with being associated with Indians whether we like it or not...
Language defines an ethnic identity and our language is the same..
The term Desi is not a racial label because a lot of South-Asians are mongrels coming from different races but rather a cultural/geographic label to describe anyone from South-Asia who comes from a country where the domiant languages are of Sanskritic origin.
Des and Desi are Pakistani words, Indian languages originated in our country hence the similarities but they adopted our languages so we're stuck with being associated with them.
I agree we are racially not the same as Indians (although similar) because they are mostly Dravidians and we a Aryo-Dravidian amalgam, the only Indians we are the same as is NW Indian East-Punjabis (everyone on Channel Punjab-'Shan Punjab Di' looks 100% Pakistani)...
Kashmiris, Pathans and Balochs are not Desi as such but they're being Desiised whether it's in India or Pakistan.