Had any one of u used pediasure? Im giving nido to my daughter but one of my friend suggested me to replace it with pediasure coz she is having very poor diet. What do u guys suggest?
Re: Pediasure
Nido is a perfectly safe and good formula for toddlers. I don't know about pediasure , there are so many now in the market and each one has something better than the other , but I have given Nido to my daughter several times and found it to be good.
If you are so worried you can also try adding junior horlicks to your kid's milk.
Best would be if you ask a ped.
nido and pediasure are two different things, i believe. nido is formula, whereas i think pediasure has more in it for kids who aren't eating properly/well/enough. do check with your doctor before starting anything new.
Had any one of u used pediasure? Im giving nido to my daughter but one of my friend suggested me to replace it with pediasure coz she is having very poor diet. What do u guys suggest?
It worked in my case, Pediasure comes in three flavors( as far as i know) and my little one likes Chocolate flavor calls it Chocolate Juice.
Nido is powdered milk. It has a lot more calories than regular milk so adding a tbs of it to a cup of milk adds more cals and nutrition. Pediasure is a nutritional supplement that has a good amount of calories and most of the daily requirement of essential vitamins and minerals a child needs. So for poor or picky eaters, docs recommend it as a supplement not replacement just so we can add some more nutrition to the diet. I've used it on my older kid per her docs recommendation as she was a tiny baby. It helped a lot.
So did u replace pediasure with milk?? is ur baby having a good diet or poor?
nido and pediasure are two different things, i believe. nido is formula, whereas i think pediasure has more in it for kids who aren't eating properly/well/enough. do check with your doctor before starting anything new.
Inshallah i will visit her ped soon. We went 3 months back nd he was saying try diff things no need for pediasure or any vitamins.
Nido is a perfectly safe and good formula for toddlers. I don't know about pediasure , there are so many now in the market and each one has something better than the other , but I have given Nido to my daughter several times and found it to be good.
If you are so worried you can also try adding junior horlicks to your kid's milk.
Best would be if you ask a ped.
Thanks for ur reply. Can i add junior horlicks to nido?
Nido is powdered milk. It has a lot more calories than regular milk so adding a tbs of it to a cup of milk adds more cals and nutrition. Pediasure is a nutritional supplement that has a good amount of calories and most of the daily requirement of essential vitamins and minerals a child needs. So for poor or picky eaters, docs recommend it as a supplement not replacement just so we can add some more nutrition to the diet. I've used it on my older kid per her docs recommendation as she was a tiny baby. It helped a lot.
Jazakallah for ur comment.....my daughter is also a very pick eater.......She likes very few things and i hav to run after her to feed her...It takes an hour for her to eat half apple....Im really tired of this habbit....
I was reading on some forum that pediasure make kids hyper active and addictive too...Did u notice any thing like this?
Pediasure is a shake and it’s not only for toddlers. I use to drink it all the time during my pregnancy. I wasn't able to have too much milk (dairy product,) and was told by OB that it was a great substitute. It comes in different flavor and it taste pretty good.
Jazakallah for ur comment.....my daughter is also a very pick eater.......She likes very few things and i hav to run after her to feed her...It takes an hour for her to eat half apple....Im really tired of this habbit.... I was reading on some forum that pediasure make kids hyper active and addictive too...Did u notice any thing like this?
No, it does not make kids hyperactive or addicted to it.
My daughter is a very very picky eater as well. When she was around 2-3 yo I used to give her Pediasure since she simply refused to eat. I was mainly concerned about her getting the nutrients, however she gained some weight while being on it as well. You can either give it on it's own or mix it with milk.
I used it for a bit for my daughter but then my MIL was like why do you need to go buy extra nutrition and calories taht way? why not give her milk shakes? I was like duh!!! So if your daughter likes milk shakes, maybe try giving her banana milk shakes or mango etc, any high calorie fruit so she will get the benefit of both milk and fruit in her diet.
Ira she refuses any thing we give her in a cup...she only drinks her milk from sippy cup or water from glass....I will buy pediasure for her....I keep running after her she eats bit nd then she refuses..
My daughter is a very very picky eater as well. When she was around 2-3 yo I used to give her Pediasure since she simply refused to eat. I was mainly concerned about her getting the nutrients, however she gained some weight while being on it as well. You can either give it on it's own or mix it with milk.
Even my daughter has refused to eat....How many times a day u used feed her pediasure??
juryk, pediasure is all well and good, you should try it but if your toddler is old enough to eat, i would suggest keep introducing new foods to eat as well. Keep offering food even if she refuses to eat. WIth my extremely picky daughter, i sometimes have to apply the 5 bite rule. She has to take atleast 5 bites out of her food before she is allowed to leave the table. Like you, i also get tired of trying to feed her. Her pediatrician says she will eat when hungry but when she is hungry she only asks for certain foods (like milk!) and not a variety. Sometimes it helps if my husband feeds her because if i am frustrated, she can feel it and reciprocates my frustration with hers. Also, some days,i try to leave the food on the table with her and she feeds herself. My mom says its better for her to take a few bites of her own will than me feeding her the whole bowl forcefully. Same advice by her ped. Some days i also try to add high calorie things to her diet so she gets her calorie requirement in. Like butter in her noodles or nutella on her toast.
I totally understand how you feel. So i just thought i would list what works for us sometimes. Other than pedia sure maybe you can let her have full reign on what and how much she want to eat instead of forcing her?
juryk, pediasure is all well and good, you should try it but if your toddler is old enough to eat, i would suggest keep introducing new foods to eat as well. Keep offering food even if she refuses to eat. WIth my extremely picky daughter, i sometimes have to apply the 5 bite rule. She has to take atleast 5 bites out of her food before she is allowed to leave the table. Like you, i also get tired of trying to feed her. Her pediatrician says she will eat when hungry but when she is hungry she only asks for certain foods (like milk!) and not a variety. Sometimes it helps if my husband feeds her because if i am frustrated, she can feel it and reciprocates my frustration with hers. Also, some days,i try to leave the food on the table with her and she feeds herself. My mom says its better for her to take a few bites of her own will than me feeding her the whole bowl forcefully. Same advice by her ped. Some days i also try to add high calorie things to her diet so she gets her calorie requirement in. Like butter in her noodles or nutella on her toast.
I totally understand how you feel. So i just thought i would list what works for us sometimes. Other than pedia sure maybe you can let her have full reign on what and how much she want to eat instead of forcing her?
Jazakallah ira....Inshallah I will try to introduce pediasure nd keep trying diff variety of food.
Juryk, I gave to my eldest when she was 2 years old when her hemoglobin went down drastically as she was only drinking milk whenever she got hungry so hematalogist her doctor advised me i have to force her eating habits as i got so scared. No mom wants their kids blood transfuse. She is 4 years old not taking pediasure anymore eats regular , but takes about 30 mins finish her meal. I also started her multi vitamins which is also good for picky eater.
Btw, she didnt take in her bottle, glass, sippy cup :( she took in syringe :p.
Now, my 1 year old who is 2 lb under weight. Doctar started her pediasure which she doesnt like eitjer, but i am giving her in syringe as long as she gain weight doesnt matter how i give her.
Juryk, I gave to my eldest when she was 2 years old when her hemoglobin went down drastically as she was only drinking milk whenever she got hungry so hematalogist her doctor advised me i have to force her eating habits as i got so scared. No mom wants their kids blood transfuse. She is 4 years old not taking pediasure anymore eats regular , but takes about 30 mins finish her meal. I also started her multi vitamins which is also good for picky eater. Btw, she didnt take in her bottle, glass, sippy cup :( she took in syringe :p.
Now, my 1 year old who is 2 lb under weight. Doctar started her pediasure which she doesnt like eitjer, but i am giving her in syringe as long as she gain weight doesnt matter how i give her.
Its good to know that ur daughter is eating well now Mashallah..... Since sara didnt had much at dinner nd lunch I gave pediasure to her in sippycup at night instead of nido.....She drank 4 oz Mashallah....She even asked for more but when i gave she refused.....Im planning to giv her pediasure instead of breakfast coz she drinks 6 oz nido when she is up. She don't like to eat at least for 2-3 hours after milk in morning.
Even my daughter has refused to eat....How many times a day u used feed her pediasure??
About 2-3 bottles a day.