PCB inquiry committee video/ Pak tour under ICC Scanner/ Akmal's keeping questioned

Apparently they are showing it on TV. Has anyone watched it yet?

Geo obtains PBC inquiry committee video

LAHORE: Geeoe has obtained the video of the proceedings by the PBC inquiry committee for investigating Pakistan cricket team’s failure on the tour of Australia.

In this video, coaches Intikhab Alam and Aaqib Javed expressed their doubts on the Pakistan cricketers’ involvement in match fixing.

Pakistan lost all their matches – three Tests, five One-day Internationals a Twenty20 International – on the tour of Australia, after which the Pakistan Cricket Board had formed an inquiry committee.

The video of this inquiry committee’s proceedings has been obtained in which coach Intikhab Alam had recommended to expel four players from the team.

Assistant coach Aaqib Javed said that he doubt the Pakistan cricketers were involved in match fixing.

He said that dropping catches and not running out the opponent batsman by wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal proved there was something wrong.

Pace bowler Rana Naved-ul-Hasan had admitted that he was among those players who took oath against Younis Khan but he later apologized to him

re: PCB inquiry committee video/ Pak tour under ICC Scanner/ Akmal's keeping questioned

nope haven't seen it yet. but have read some other reports. anyway, we all Malik is pure evil...

but wonder how the respective fanboys will react when they find out that Hazrat Yousuf and Shahid Bradman Afridi were also taking oaths to remove Younis at all costs. Malik was public enemy no 1 because he is a politician/troublemaker, etc. well guess what sweet old uncle Afridi and Allama Yousuf are no angels either. in fact, Yousuf sahib is the one organized the oathtaking ceremony.

fun times ahead...

a video with poor sound quality…

Intikhab says that Umar Akmal faked his injury (he deserves a life ban - ban his arrogant little arse). then says that Malik, Misbah, Yousuf and Younis have to removed from the team to set it right. Younis not because he is a troublemaker like the others but because he has other issues of his own.

enjoy yall.

re: PCB inquiry committee video/ Pak tour under ICC Scanner/ Akmal's keeping questioned

so samb at least u should now accept that Malik n Younis N Yousuf r all there who should be banned

there is only Afridi who aint involved in this who grouping n politics

I've always said that all troublemakers bar none should be kicked out including Malik, Yousuf, Younis, etc.

there is only Afridi who aint involved in this who grouping n politics

do you deliberately ignore what doesn't suit your point of view?

Afridi IS involved. he IS one of the seven who took the oath to remove Younis Khan as captain. the fasaadi number one is very much involved as he has been since for the past several years.

‘Negative’ Malik slammed by team-mates, coach

A video of the PCB’s inquiry committee investigations into the ill-fated Australia tour has revealed the level of in-fighting and disunity within the Pakistan side. Though not new as such, the video - leaked to a leading channel in Pakistan - confirms speculation surrounding the startling level of distrust and discord between senior members of the side.
Former Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik is at the centre of it, accused by team-mates and coaches of being a negative influence in the team. In the video, Malik is ultimately described by a committee member as a “termite”, with broader criticism of his role ranging from backbiting against players to politicking within the team.
The PCB took action against seven players, including Malik, after the committee concluded its investigations, though they never made public the report. Mohammad Yousuf and Younis Khan were banned indefinitely, Malik and Naved-ul-Hasan were banned for a year while Shahid Afridi and the Akmal brothers were fined and placed on probation for six months for specific incidents of indiscipline.
“He (Malik) is a negative person and he creates problems. I wanted him to be sent back home,” former coach Intikhab Alam told the committee members. Intikhab also said that Malik had initially agreed to bat at No.3 but shied away during the tour of New Zealand, which preceded the Australia series. He also accuses him of deliberately sitting out of the second Test at Sydney.
Predictably, the most scathing criticism comes from Yousuf, with whom Malik has had a public feud almost from the moment he became captain in 2007, after a disastrous World Cup in the Caribbean. Yousuf held Malik and the selection committee of the time responsible for his ouster from the team for the 2007 World Twenty20 and subsequent series.
Both made public statements against each other while Yousuf was away from the team, till his return last year during the tour of Sri Lanka. However, their feud picked up again after Australia, where Yousuf was the captain. Yousuf was slammed by the media and former players for his defensive approach during the Sydney Test, and after the tour concluded, was even accused of “infighting” and having a “negative influence”, similar to the charges laid against Malik.
“He played politics all the time. Former chairman Dr Nasim Ashraf made a big blunder and hurt Pakistan cricket when he appointed Malik captain in 2007 when his place in the side was also not confirmed,” Yousuf told the committee. “This led to other players also believing they could become captain, it set a wrong precedent in Pakistan cricket.”
Malik responded by criticising Yousuf’s captaincy during the tour to the committee, where they failed to win a single match. “I went out during water break in the Sydney Test on the final day and told him to attack Mike Hussey but he didn’t listen,” Malik said. “His captaincy in Australia was pathetic, he has no confidence to take decisions.”
Malik found no support from another captain and senior player, Shahid Afridi, who accused him of backbiting. “I told him clearly on his face that if he continues this practice of his double standards he will not survive in the team for too long and I will not have him in the team if I am made captain,” Afridi said. Afridi is currently the Twenty20 captain and Malik is still serving his one-year ban. His appeal is set for May 22.
**Intikhab is also critical of the players’ behavior and manner away from the field, questioning their education levels and upbringing, their mental aptitude and ultimately concluding that they “seem to be mentally retarded.” He suggests, as remedial measures, that Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq, Yousuf and Younis be removed from the team, though he says of Younis that “he is not a troublemaker but he has other issues.” **
Parts of the interaction of Rana with the committee are also on the video. Rana talks at length about the players’ unhappiness with Younis when he was captain last year, admitting that he was part of a concerted movement to try and remove him.
The leak of the video - and more will come over the coming days - has come as an acute embarrassment for the PCB, which has tried hard to keep the findings of the report private. Six of the seven players have since appealed the punishments and hearings are currently underway under the aegis of a retired judge: the board blamed the players and their legal counsels for the leak of proceedings that were held in March. The video recordings were obtained and shown by Geo Super, the only sports channel in Pakistan.
**“The board had the video recordings of the proceedings since February and nothing was leaked out to the media,” PCB legal advisor and a member of the inquiry committee Tafazzul Rizvi said. “But we had given the video and audio recordings to some of the players and their legal representatives [at the appeals]. So it was very obvious who leaked these video recordings,” Rizvi said. **
**He said the board had kept all the proceedings of the inquiry committee confidential for the sake of Pakistan cricket, the reputation of the players and the sport itself. “But if the players want these things to come out in the open then fine they will also have to bear the consequences, the board is certainly not responsible for leaking out these confidential things,” Rizvi said. **

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/460164.html

I was just curious to know who provided these videos to Geo? Today PCB solved this dilemma (sort of)….PCB did provide these video recordings to some of the players and their legal representatives and one of these players (or more) sold them to geo….it is just hard to imagine how cheap our players are these days…PCB has clearly stated on ciricnfo that a player or players have provided these videos to GEO

I am sure our mahan players would have done a quick cost benefit analysis and decided to sell them…and I am sure not for much…these players always embarrass us…we are capable of so much when it comes to fraud, selling illegally etc….but these players can’t of think of anything big….think of selling whole PCB if you can…kitna miza ayaee when one day ijaz butt comes to his office after having “siree payaee” nashtha and find out that his office, car as well as all of PCB assets have already been sold by mohammad asif and malik to a private party!

and why bother selling one match here and there…become bold and pooriee kee pooriee series ka soda karo bhai….do bundling….offer bookies a better rate if they are willing to buy the whole series including T20 matches….….I mean, we have a great track record….we have sold damn nukes in the black market!!! these players should have some respect of our glorious traditions...

It could be the players' lawyers as well

Not condoning this particular act but atleast kuch players kee asliyat sab k samne aa gayee..

While everyone is slating GEO, some even accusing them of being anti-Pakistani for making this public, it is better to have such 'inkishaafaat' from your own media rather than some foreign channel or cricinfo

I think we needed this video leaked because all the players claimed that they were innocent. At least, we as public, knew that Malik was the worst of the lot and the video highlights that too.

There is news that Salman Butt will now be the new test captain. I dont think thats great news, he doesnt seem captaincy material but I guess we'll give him a try cuz we have no leadership options.

Just as I had predicted in another thread

chalo Salman ko bhi aazma k dekh letey hain though he seems too nervy or tense in pressure situations

I have a feeling that Salman Butt would be made test captain while Afridi would be handed ODI (in addition to T20) captaincy. I am not even sure that Younis Khan will make the tour as a player

As long as Salman can be a fast learner. We hope he is.

Never a dull moment in Pakistan cricket!!

Former coach, deputy question Kamran Akmal’s keeping

Senior members of Pakistan’s team management on the ill-fated tour to Australia earlier this year raised concerns about a run-out wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal fluffed during the second Test in Sydney, hinting that it may have been more than just a cricketing error. This has emerged in a video, leaked to a leading Pakistan sports channel, of meetings between officials and the six-man inquiry committee which investigated Pakistan’s performance in the aftermath of the tour.
The tour is currently being investigated by the ICC’s Anti-Corruption and Security Unit (ACSU) to establish whether Pakistan’s on-field performance was the result of what it called a “dysfunctional” team or “something more serious”. This was announced on Thursday by the ACSU’s outgoing chief, Paul Condon.
The leaked segments of the video centre around the testimony given by Aaqib Javed and Intikhab Alam, assistant coach and coach respectively on that tour, to the committee. Akmal dropped Michael Hussey three times in the second innings, allowing the batsman to score a hundred that was pivotal in Australia winning the Test having conceded a 204-run lead.
**But the miss that has aroused suspicions was a run-out chance against Shane Watson, when Akmal cleanly collected a throw from the outfield but neglected to remove the bails with Watson short of the crease. In his statement, Akmal denied any wrongdoing. “I got the ball but was totally blind and couldn’t run out the batsman,” he said. **
**Aaqib says of the miss that it was the “most shocking” of all his errors. “But the run-out, that was shocking, really shocking,” Aaqib says to committee members, including the head Wasim Bari, the PCB’s chief operating officer. “What did he do? How can this happen?” **
Asked specifically by a committee member how firmly he believes that Akmal’s mistakes were deliberate, Aaqib says, “I’m not sure, but my suspicions are pretty high. They are high because of other things I know about the process, the people in the surroundings. There is a high percentage. These things are not new in Pakistan cricket. These things have happened and I was a victim of them. There is a question mark, yes.”
Intikhab, asked about the same incident, appears more reluctant to point to anything untoward. While describing the incident, though, he repeatedly refers to how shocked he was initially. “That run-out I saw, I was flabbergasted. If you see it, it is shocking….the ball came, he was diving so far out, what can I say? We couldn’t believe it. I heard many stories about match-fixing also.”
The video, aired first by Geo Super, a Pakistani sports channel, is particularly significant because it is the first time people within the board have spoken of match-fixing, an issue that has swirled relentlessly over Pakistan cricket over the last year. In the past, however, such statements have come only from ex-cricketers, or senators and parliamentarians. It isn’t clear, however, whether these suspicions were included in the various written reports handed to the PCB by touring officials or in the final inquiry committee report; it is understood, for example, that Intikhab’s written tour report did not raise this alarm.
After these meetings, the inquiry committee decided to ban four senior players and fine three others heavily. Many of the other incidents in the video have already become public knowledge since the PCB completed its findings. Intikhab and Aaqib talk, for example, of Umar Akmal and the allegations that he faked a back ailment before the third Test in Hobart in protest at the dropping of his elder brother.
Intikhab is also critical of the players’ behaviour away from the field, questioning their education levels and upbringing, their mental aptitude and ultimately concluding that they “seem to be mentally retarded.” He suggests, as remedial measures, that Shoaib Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Yousuf and Younis Khan be removed from the team, though he says of Younis that “he is not a troublemaker but he has other issues.”
Parts of the interaction between Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, another player facing a one-year ban from the national side, and the committee are also on the video. Rana talks at length about the players’ unhappiness with Younis when he was captain last year, admitting that he was part of a concerted movement to try and remove him.

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/460390.html

Afridi blames indiscipline and Intikhab’s demoralising tactics

Shahid Afridi, the Pakistan captain, has said indiscipline, a lack of mental strength and demoralising tactics by the then coach Intikhab Alam were responsible for Pakistan’s poor show on the tour of Australia. Afridi - whose statements were revealed on the leaked video of the PCB committee hearings - was questioned about the possibility of match-fixing during that winless tour but he denied knowing any player who deliberately under-performed.
When asked if the defeats against Australia were deliberate, and if there was a specific member of the team who lost the match intentionally, Afridi said: **"If you watch all the matches we have played recently, we have not been beaten in the matches, we have given away those matches. I think the reason is that we are not mentally strong. We had decided in our heads that we cannot beat Australia even before the match had started. **
“I have heard from others that such things (deliberately losing) exist but I do not know of any such player myself.”
Afridi was also asked if the players were playing for themselves, and he replied: “As far as the fielding is concerned, we do very well in the practice sessions but we have a few players who perform well with the bat and then do not concentrate while fielding. They stand near the boundary, sign autographs and talk to girls. I have my eye on a few such players.” :smiley:
Afridi also complained of not being told in advance of his being made captain during the ODI series against Australia. Mohammad Yousuf had led Pakistan in the first four games and Afridi filled in for the last one. **“I told our coach Intikhab Alam very clearly to tell me well in advance if I were to captain the team in the ODIs against Australia,” he said. “But I was still made the captain only 40 minutes before the match.” **
**The coach was blamed for contributing to the team’s demoralisation, as Intikhab was shown to have placed little confidence in his team. “Even as I prepared to go for the toss, undue pressure was put on me to win the toss,” Afridi said. "And I was told we will win the match only if we win the toss. I told Alam, he should not demoralise the players. I am sure comments like those can be avoided. **
**“Yawar Saeed [the manager] is a disciplinarian and we need to ensure people like him enforce strict discipline in the team. No one should be spared.” **
He also called on the selection committee to appoint captains for longer tenures, of at least a year. “Also, the selection committee needs to give the captain of the team a longer run. Whoever is made captain should be allowed a stint for at least a year.”

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/460382.html

And finally not to be kept out of the limelight…

Pakistan MPs summon team officials over Australia tour…AGAIN!!!

The parliamentary committee probing Pakistan’s disastrous tour of Australia has summoned top officials and players - including PCB chairman Ijaz Butt, Australian tour coach Intikhab Alam and former captain Younis Khan - to answer questions relating to the side’s performance.
A brief statement issued by the committee on Monday did not., however, specify what exactly the committee would be investigating or who esle it would call.
The development came a day after the leak of video footage of the PCB inquiry that revealed high levels of discord and distrust within the team. Shoaib Malik was at the center of the controversy, with several team-mates and coaches accusing him of being a negative influence in the team.
The video also featured Alam and the then bowling coach Aaqib Javed raising questions over wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal’s shoddy performance in the Sydney Test. Akmal dropped Australian batsman Michael Hussey three times and missed an easy run-out, with Hussey going on to make a match-winning 138, as Pakistan crumbled from a position of strength at the end of the first innings. The visitors never recovered from the Sydney fiasco, going on to lose all the remaining matches on tour.
“I was flabbergasted when Kamran missed that run out. The batsman was far from the crease and the ball was in Kamran’s hands but he missed the chance,” Alam said.
Akmal defended himself saying that he was blinded and hence could not complete the run out. “I got the ball but was totally blind and couldn’t run out the batsman,” he said in his statement.

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/460343.html

Not surprisingly others are rubbing it in

Never a dull moment in mad world of Pakistan cricket

At a quick glance, another normal week in the world of international cricket has just passed. England are easing their way through Bangladesh; Australia, after a couple of black eyes within four days last week, have reasserted themselves against New Zealand. They’d call it normal transmission; New Zealand will be rueing lost opportunities. But any time you’re thinking life in all pretty ho-hum in the world of cricket, cast your eyes in the direction of Pakistan. Life may be many things there; dull it is not.

They have security issues which are far beyond the scope of its cricket authorities, but in any case they are well capable of making a pig’s ear out of basic sporting administration at the best of times. **They have cricket’s most extraordinary chief executive in Ijaz Butt, a man who could create controversy in an empty room. **The simple backdrop: Pakistan’s board, unhappy at events on the tours of New Zealand and, more particularly, Australia, decided action had to be taken.

They had drawn the three-test series here, but were whipped 3-0 by the Aussies, then lost their ODI series 5-0 plus the solitary Twenty20 match.Off the park internal ructions further filled out a sorry picture. It was all too much for the good men of the PCB. And when they decide to act, there are no half measures, no mild censuring. The recipients of punishments get a decent shoe-ing. So out go captain Mohammad Yousuf; the man he replaced, Younis Khan; allrounder Shoaib Malik and medium pacer Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, the first two for indefinite periods, the second pair for a year. Yousuf and Younis are rubbed out, effectively blamed for causing strife within the squad.

Malik is reputed to be a dressing room agent provocateur, and no one knows what Rana - who has no previous disciplinary black marks - did to earn his holiday.** Colourful ball eater Shahid Afridi** and the Flying Akmal brothers, wicketkeeper Kamran and teenage prodigy Umer, received hefty fines, to no surprise for their mischief-making in Australia. Younis, Yousuf, Malik and Afridi are Pakistan’s four most recent captains in the various forms of the international game. Players were forever conspiring against the admirable Younis; Yousuf and Malik constantly bickered with each other.
It should immediately be made clear that a week is a lifetime when it comes to Pakistani cricket politics.

blame everyone except for yourself as usual... what's new about that uncle Afridi? you've been doing it for well over a decade.

maybe Inti wouldn't have been negative if he knew that the vice captain of his team had half a brain which he unfortunately doesn't. so, maybe Inti had good reason to be worried?

The ICC’s Anti-Corruption Unit is investigating Pakistan’s tour of Aus

very nice…abb yae kalak sariee dunya ko patta lagay gee…zindabad hamari team zindabad…

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/460381.html

Re: PCB inquiry committee video/ Pak tour under ICC Scanner/ Akmal's keeping question

So it is clear that Shahid Afridi was fined for biting the ball and not for doing politics. Yunus is indefinately suspended because he is arrogant. Mohammad Yusuf who has retired from cricket, is suspended simply because he was the captain and should take some blame. I think the real trouble maker Shoaib Malik got off easy with just 1 year of suspension.
Yousuf was right when he said " Former chairman Dr Nasim Ashraf made a big blunder and hurt Pakistan cricket when he appointed Malik captain in 2007 when his place in the side was also not confirmed". This is so true. Shoaib Malik was not even a full time player when he got the captaincy.

Re: PCB inquiry committee video/ Pak tour under ICC Scanner/ Akmal's keeping question

It is big problem in our team that every player who just came in starts thinking abt captaincy after few good showings.
It started after 92 world cup. After imran maindad was geniune opt for captian , after few matches the great imran announced that wasim akram to be made captain..
IMO that was time which hurt too much. wasim made captain and he thought he could be another imran , got good treatment by his best friends waqar aaqib n company ...
and the story continued..
Similarly when inzi was almost getting settled again imran came into picture and announced inzi not being suitable for captaincyy....

http://www.cricinfo.com/magazine/content/current/story/460463.html

a great artcile by osman…loved the first paragraph:

“No longer should there be doubts that the current batch of players are among the most pathetic characters to have represented Pakistan. The leaked video](http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/460164.html) of the PCB’s inquiry committee hearings has simply confirmed, and put incontrovertibly and forever on the greatest mirror of our times, television, what many already knew: that this band of senior players care not for anything but themselves, that they cannot be captained by anyone, that they are governed by their greed for power and that they will, most shockingly, deliberately underperform to undermine their captain. Pathetic is barely condemnation”

and read this

“Two captains, Younis and Yousuf, have publicly said their players were actively trying to uproot them. The most shocking parts of the video - and there are enough - are Rana Naved-ul-Hasan’s happy confessions of first siding against and then siding with Younis, and underperforming under him. He says it with unrepentant, shocking candour”

wah rana sahib wah…you should be selling pakora and smossay in sheikupura…that is all you can do if you were not cricketer…well i take it back..i can also see him selling milk on his bike …gwala…

well all of them are losers…i dont care if they win one match here and there anymore or even a tournament….they are established losers…

what i am really scared that these players have totally lost their credibility…apart from match fixing, they underperform for their own agendas…so what will happen from hereon…..Pakistanis who love conspiracy theories and live in their own dream world - sarriee dunya hamariee dushman ha! from jews to yahood to hanood to americans to west…sab hamaray dushman hain and want to finish us because we live in land of pure and are Muslims and possess nukes - would attribute every defeat either to match fixing or deliberate underperformance…so no serious introspection or analysis will be done at any level including PCB…just blame players…it will be a total mess from hereon as long as these players are playing…