PCB bans Shahid Afridi from Sharjah Cup

Haan Yaar. Thats what people always forget. He isn’t an opener. He is a bowler and he bowled decently throughout the WC. Im sure if he would have played against sides like Holland, and Namibia, he would have a lot more runs and wickets under his belt. But stupid captaincy by Waqar made him sit out against those minnows. Afridi bowled better than Razzaq throughout the whole tournament, and his highest score was 47 against Holland. And changes_like, Afridi was never labeled as a “specialist batsmen” in the WC. He is an “all-rounder.” :smack:

Yaasir, look at what you are saying yourself. "Im sure if he would have played against sides like Holland, and Namibia, he would have a lot more runs and wickets under his belt. ", i.e. he is a very mediocre player. Do we need a player like him in our team. The answer is simply no. The sooner we realise that he is just a third class batsmen and an average bowler the quicker we can start looking for someone with real talent. The guy is a waste of space frankly and the only people who are happy with his inclusion in the team is our opponents because they know they have to get 9 not 10 wickets to win the match. Afridis wickets whether he bats at no 1, 2 or 10 will come withing the first 5 balls.

Yes he has made the fastest one day century, but that was 8 years ago, he needs to come out of the shadow of that and perform again.

I for am not at all upset at his ban, leaving the right or wrongs of the ban aside. Pakistan cricket is much more important than to waste its time on a third class player. He is best suited to Mohallah cricket and that is where he should concentrate.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Yaasir, look at what you are saying yourself. "Im sure if he would have played against sides like Holland, and Namibia, he would have a lot more runs and wickets under his belt. ", i.e. he is a very mediocre player. Do we need a player like him in our team. The answer is simply no. The sooner we realise that he is just a third class batsmen and an average bowler the quicker we can start looking for someone with real talent. The guy is a waste of space frankly and the only people who are happy with his inclusion in the team is our opponents because they know they have to get 9 not 10 wickets to win the match. Afridis wickets whether he bats at no 1, 2 or 10 will come withing the first 5 balls.

Yes he has made the fastest one day century, but that was 8 years ago, he needs to come out of the shadow of that and perform again.

I for am not at all upset at his ban, leaving the right or wrongs of the ban aside. Pakistan cricket is much more important than to waste its time on a third class player. He is best suited to Mohallah cricket and that is where he should concentrate.

You are in form Ehsan bhai. ;)

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Yaasir, look at what you are saying yourself. "Im sure if he would have played against sides like Holland, and Namibia, he would have a lot more runs and wickets under his belt.

What I mean by that is that when u compare his numbers on paper with Razzaq or other players of the team, they look much worse, and the fact is, while the rest of the team played against minnows like Holland Namibia, he would have enjoyed playing against them like the rest of the team did. I can assure you Afridi would have scored more than a combined 4 runs in two macthes against Holland and Namibia, like our "specialist batsmen" Inzamam-Ul-Haq did. When people find no one else to blame, they find players like Afridi, who go out there and give their best in the feild. Just like when Imran Nazir was dropped from the Pakistani squad after he failed against Australia in the test series. Well who didnt? I still believe he should have been a part of the WC squad, but thats another example of the PCB kicking out players who aren't the real reason for the miserable performence by the whole team.

*Originally posted by yaasir: *

What I mean by that is that when u compare his numbers on paper with Razzaq or other players of the team, they look much worse, and the fact is, while the rest of the team played against minnows like Holland Namibia, he would have enjoyed playing against them like the rest of the team did. I can assure you Afridi would have scored more than a combined 4 runs in two macthes against Holland and Namibia, like our "specialist batsmen" Inzamam-Ul-Haq did. When people find no one else to blame, they find players like Afridi, who go out there and give their best in the feild. Just like when Imran Nazir was dropped from the Pakistani squad after he failed against Australia in the test series. Well who didnt? I still believe he should have been a part of the WC squad, but thats another example of the PCB kicking out players who aren't the real reason for the miserable performence by the whole team.

Bhai Saheb,Seriously batana Afridi ka aap ka koi rishtedar to nahi..

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *

Bhai Saheb,Seriously batana Afridi ka aap ka koi rishtedar to nahi..

Yaar Mujhe kya Afridi se lena dena. If he's alive or dead, I don't care...but Im just exprssing my point of view. Everyone has their own point of views, and no one is wrong, not me and not you.

I don't care what he does with the bat or ball, he is dissappointing but I have been very impressed with his fielding, we need a fielder like him in the team/

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
I don't care what he does with the bat or ball, he is dissappointing but I have been very impressed with his fielding, we need a fielder like him in the team/

How about making him our 12th man? During the fielding we can replace Inzi/anwar with AFridi :D

*Originally posted by elahi: *
People are very unfair with afridi
Remember he was originally not selected as a batsman but was in fact a bowler
As a bowler he played decently throughout the world cup, and against India was likely our best bowler
If he bowls, and then bats 7th or 8th for us he's not so bad.
If they play him as an opening batsman then how can you blame him for his failure when that is not relaly his position

The sledging charge is a little bit ridiculous when you consier all the things that go on anyway,,,

yeh i agree...he said himself that he plays better on no 5, 6 but they keep on sending him as an opener which is not gonna work and he can be more successful low in the order plus he bowled well....he wasn't that much useless as INZI ....n all but he will be back inshALLAH

seriously yaar, you cant blame specific players for our loss
our lack of tactical planning in the games is really horrendous, the way afridi was used (and the fact that Saqi was not used) is a good example of this
people just look for players to scapegoat and afridi is a scapegoat i guess
if you want to criticize players be fair and criticize everyone, if you did so Abdul Razzaq, Inzi, Younis Khan,, the list goes on and on, Afridi should not be alone in this department
I look forward to seeing the changes made to the team that goes to Sharjah

Is Afridi still playing for Derbyshire? When does county cricket start so we can see if has finally put his head on straigth?

http://www.cricketnext.com/news1/next/anjali/anjali031.htm

Former Pakistan captain Rameez Raja vehemently believes that Shahid Afridi deserves the rap on his knuckles from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)after his despicable behaviour against arch-rivals India in a crunch first round match.

“Afridi is a very temperamental character, as you can probably tell from his batting. This lesson should hold him in good stead,” said Raja after the PCB declared that the all-rounder would be banned from the Sharjah Cup for sledging Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and umpire David Shepherd.

During the India-Pakistan game at Centurion on March 1, the stump microphones picked up Afridi’s swear words to Shepherd when an appeal against Mohd. Kaif was turned down. On several occasions, it was apparent that he was swearing at the Indian players. In addition to being banned for the triangular tournament involving South Africa and Sri Lanka, Afridi has also been fined 50 per cent of his fee for the match against India.

Raja said he was surprised that the PCB had taken strong action against the player but reiterated that it was the right thing to do. “He has a tendency to get carried away without considering the repercussions of his actions,” said the former cricketer.

Speaking about the World Cup, Raja said the Indians had a very good chance of winning the Cup. “They’re peaking at the right time. Tendulkar is batting brilliantly and the seam bowlers are doing so well,” said Raja.
:smack: :smack: :smack: :smack: :smack:

Why's Nancy Dr'e'wing all those smacks? India does have a very good chance of winning

Exactly, but try explaining this to others, who are kean to blame Afridi and just Afridi for the poor WC performence :smack: