9-Saqlain Mushtaq
10-Shoaib Akhtar
11-Waqar Younis (captain)
12-Mohammad Sami
13-Shahid Afridi
14-Faisal Iqbal
15-Mohammad Zahid
16-Hasan Raza

Good to see Razzaq back after his injury. It should be a good series against SA and hopefully our team will perform to its potential.

Well this Wicket Keeper thing is getting quite interseting actually!

Coach and captain obviusly prefer Rashid! But Selectors were so impressed with Kamran that they included him in onedayers squad as well, obviusly giving signals that now head to head competition is on :slight_smile:
and for sure Moin khan is not out of contention as well! So first time Pakistan is facing dilemma of 3 wicketkeepres, initially it was between the two! :slight_smile: , Nice problem to have but as they want experience in WC, i think Rahid or Moin will make the squad!

and right ehsan, its good to have Razzaq back :k:

Great to see Wasim in both squads… :k:
But its a folly not to include Saeed. :frowning:

Good luck Pakistan!

Pakistan recall Akram for South Africa tour

Veteran Pakistan fast bowler Wasim Akram has been named in both the Test and one-day squads for the tour of South Africa starting next month.

Chief selector Wasim Bari, announcing the squads for five one-day nternationals and two Tests, said Akram had been picked for his experience.

“The pitches in South Africa traditionally assist the fast bowler so we felt that Akram with his experience would be ideal for those conditions in the tests also,” Bari told Reuters.

The 36-year-old Akram, Pakistan’s highest wicket-taker in tests and one-day internationals with 414 and 485 wickets respectively, opted to miss the recent test series against Australia in order to rest. Pakistan lost the series 3-0.

His last Test appearance for Pakistan was in January against Bangladesh when he had to leave the field with a hamstring injury after bowling just eight deliveries.

“He is too good a bowler to be ignored for such an important tour and we have concentrated on a strong pace battery for South African conditions,” Bari said.

Akram has featured in just two of Pakistan’s 10 Tests since August, 2001, failing to take any wickets.

The selectors have announced a 17-man squad for the five one-day internationals starting on December 8, and 16 players for the two tests that follow.

“Since the World Cup is also to be held in South Africa we want to try out the maximum number of players to see where they stand,” Bari said.

The selectors retained veteran wicketkeeper Rashid Latif alongside 20-year-old Kamran Akmal in the one-day squad, despite the fact that Latif announced his retirement from Test cricket this week.

But they again ignored experienced opener Saeed Anwar, who was dropped for the current tour of Zimbabwe but was named on Thursday in a provisional squad of 30 for the World Cup.

“The opener’s slot has always been a problem for us and we are going through a phase of trial and error. Anwar is a seasoned player and always there as a choice for us but we have to also look to the future,” the chief selector added.

thnk god wasim is back! nice squad! pakistan can beat anyteam with these players! GO PAKI:jhanda:

inn ko saeed anwar sey kia chir hai jo kabhi uss ko rakhtey hi nahi hain? jab dekho bahir.. kabhi unfit.. kabhi kuch! mujhey to dar hai key becharey ko world cup mein bhi nahi khilayen!

well if this side plays honestly for there country, then no one can stand in front of them,
good to see Wasim and Razzaq in both forms.
Picking Final team will be a tough call for the Tour Selection Commitee :)

Nice squad, though Saeed should have been considered. I think the board is trying to hint to Saeed that they want him to retire completely.

I expect this Pakistani side to atleast win the test matches. They are looking really strong side in both batting and bowling.

"Pakistan can beat any team with these players"

NO!

That is pure BS! Look at this list man, who has done something against the top sides, its a mass of flat track bullies and ppl who are unproven. They may be great, but let them prove it first. Some of them are a waste of a test/ODI jersy!

1. Taufeeq Umar -Good aginst bad attacks!
  2. Saleem Elahi -:rotfl"
  3. Younis Khan - decent bat, flat track dominant though
  4. Inzamam-ul-Haq (vice-captain) -brilliant
  5. Yousuf Youhana -brilliant
  6. Misbah-ul-Haq -unproven
  7. Abdul Razzaq -odi genius, test match toddler!
  8. Rashid Latif (wicketkeeper) -past it
  9. Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper) -looking good, but unproven
  10. Waqar Younis (captain) -past it
  11. Saqlain Mushtaq -genius, but declining
  12. Wasim Akram -past it
  13. Shoaib Akhtar -brilliant, genius, awesome
  14. Mohammad Zahid -was fast in 1997, must prove his worth again
  15. Faisal Iqbal -bar 1 knock V Aus, a joker!
  16. Shahid Afridi -:rotfl" why is he playing intl cricket?!
  17. Mohammad Sami-joker. Just nippy, little esle!

Thats the reality, a few ppl give us any credibility. Some just have a name left.

well thats the best available talent with nly Saeed Anwar missing !
Kindly enlighten us with the team you grant previlage to give them a pass grade. Please do that on ASAP basis:hehe:

Man were is Saeed Anwar.......................................................

Whats up wid the Board of Selection.....dont tell me there going to WC wid Saleem Elahi........Its gonna be a disaster. Just cause he hit a few good knocks against Zimbabwe they think hes gonna be good enough for the WC.

I am just sick and tired of this....blunders after blunders.

whtever it is! they can prove anythin over here! and y r u so against our team? Misbah-ul-Haq? unproven? huh? he was given man of the series award from the pakistani side in series between Pakistan, Australia And Kenya! and so did Faisal Iqbal.. scored a brilliant century! Muhammed Sami? already done a hat-trick... whatelse do u want? Saqlain Mushtaq? hez bak in the side.. and he's just done with the county cricket.. so he can still bowl well! and Abdur-Razzaq? hez a pure cricketer. knows bowling and batting...
and this team can beat anyteam! and im sure!!!
but shud bring Saeed Anwar though:D

Its not a matter of "best team" but merely that if that is the talent available to us then we are in trouble. They may be the best in Pakistan, but that is not to say there good players-it just shows Pakistan is in a terrible state in regards to its Cricket.

Let me get this straight:

Cos Sami has got a hat rrick in tets he's something special-mate, care to look at his stats, he had 1 good game, or even a few, he's BS!

I saw Faisal Iqbal play against England in the home series, or was it the away, point is he turned his face to short pitched stuff-thats not the mark of a class act.

I'm sorry, I have NOTHING against our team-I love those guys-but if someone is not good we should admit it.

*Originally posted by mo_best: *

I saw Faisal Iqbal play against England in the home series, or was it the away, point is he turned his face to short pitched stuff-thats not the mark of a class act.

Well, some one named Mr. Steve Waugh NEVER EVER looked confortable against shot-pitched delieveries. And its an open secret that he cannot play pull shots or hook shots with authority but h has fought his way out of it.
Even Hayden cannot play square of the wicket on the off side with utmost authority!

and Faisal Iqbal is way way younger then both of them and apparently he has learnt how to tackle them if we believe newspaper reports as he had coaching with Javed! and what if he hasnt,He has other shots specially against spinners! If on this weakness you term him a 'joker' then God bless you! Steve waugh must be a joker too then, eh?

No one is doubting your patriotism or love for our cricket team! But the least you can do is to hope better and wish them that they succeed coz they are quite capable of !

*Originally posted by saby: *

Well, some one named Mr. Steve Waugh NEVER EVER looked confortable against shot-pitched delieveries. And its an open secret that he cannot play pull shots or hook shots with authority but h has fought his way out of it.
Even Hayden cannot play square of the wicket on the off side with utmost authority!

and Faisal Iqbal is way way younger then both of them and apparently he has learnt how to tackle them if we believe newspaper reports as he had coaching with Javed! and what if he hasnt,He has other shots specially against spinners! If on this weakness you term him a 'joker' then God bless you! Steve waugh must be a joker too then, eh?

No one is doubting your patriotism or love for our cricket team! But the least you can do is to hope better and wish them that they succeed coz they are quite capable of !

Don't listen to him Saby, people like him can never appriciate anything. They always look at the negative, rather than the postive.

Saaed Anwar should have definetly been in the team. What can I say about these stupid PCB Selectors, especially Wasim Bari! :smack:

Bari on the backfoot, but survives bouncers

Postings and positions in Pakistan cricket tend to be of very short tenures and there is a culture in our cricket set-up in which changes are more than just a necessity. Former captain Wasim Bari occupies a nadir place in Pakistan cricket, that he has been serving as chief selector since early 1998 with just a short break in 1999. Thus it was not surprising to see him taking on the scribes head-on during the press conference held at the National Stadium on Friday to announce the teams for the tour to South Africa.

Bari was aggressive from the outset having anticipated the questions that were going to come his way. He was adamant when accused of heading a rubber stamp committee with no voice of its own. “This is not a rubber stamp committee. Our decisions are heard and implemented. We might listen to advice and suggestions, but we don’t take dictation from anyone,” he insisted.

He was visibly annoyed when asked if Wasim Akram had been rewarded for skipping the all-important Test series against Australia by being recalled for the Tests in South Africa. “What do you mean by rewarded? It’s a logical decision taken in view of the conditions in South Africa,” he shot back.Bari, flanked by an anxious looking fellow selector Abdul Raquib, also denied that he had given any statement as to who was the better wicketkeeper among Rashid Latif, Kamran Akmal and Moin Khan. "I never gave any interview comparing these three. And I never said that captain Waqar Younis would decide who would go to South Africa. “I only spoke to Geo TV, and didn’t mention anything about the captain. I just said it was a difficult job choosing between the three keepers.”

When asked as to how he or his selectors could compare young Kamran with Rashid and Moin on the evidence of performances in just two Tests and two one-dayers and that too against a second-rate outfit, Bari stuttered for an answer and lost his way as he snapped back by forgetting the name of a reporter and addressing him as ‘Rana Shakoor’ (all-rounder Rana Naved-ul-Hasan apparently playing on his mind) and changed the name of Australian batsman Damien Martyn to Demi Martyn and then Danny Martyn before being corrected. All signs of nervousness. :hehe:

But one message was obvious from Bari’s demeanour whenever he spoke on the issue of the wicketkeepers: that Rashid better performs in the one-dayers in South Africa or the chief selector will not give a second thought to chopping him from the team. :smack: not a new thing either:hehe:

Bari’s frustration and anger on this particular subject was so obvious that he refused to say who was the number one wicketkeeper from among Rashid and Kamran. “What do you mean by number one or two? Why are you insisting on this? It’s up to the tour selection committee whom they play,” he said, ignoring reminders from reporters that when he announced the teams for the tour to Zimbabwe he had named Rashid as number one wicketkeeper and Kamran as his deputy.

On the subject of constantly omitting veteran opener Saeed Anwar, Bari said the left-hander had been given enough chances in three tournaments in Tangier, Nairobi and Colombo and had failed to justify his place. But he got it wrong when he stated that Saeed’s highest score in those events was 41 and someone reminded him it was 51 – a remark ignored by the chief selector.** But Bari did say that Saeed was still in the run for the World Cup and could be brought back if the trial-and-error process to find a reliable opening pair didn’t end successfully with Taufiq Umar and Salim Elahi.**

He was at a loss of words at explaining on what grounds had Salim been picked ahead of other openers and was it fair that he was getting a chance to establish himself against lesser opposition.

The impression one got from the press conference was that Bari is clearly gifted with high survival skills and has learnt that in Pakistan cricket selectors do have to make compromises and then defend them as logically as possible.

well if this Bari fellow is honest to his words in case of Umar or Elahi's failures, we can hope to have Saeed Anwar bak in the team for the worldcup , insha'allah!

Great to see Wasim back in tests and what about Moin Khan ? He should be there in the one days sp.