Passport Pak

Assalam Aleekum
I read In an article by Abdul Kadir Hasan daily Jang dated wednesday Dec 01, 2004 that Its a not requirement anymore to specify your religion.
The space to write It down has been removed from new passports.
It was not mentioned anywhere that this will happen.
The author says this is a act to please Kadianis.
The Saudi govt has already raised objections on this new passport
scheme implemented by Nadra(Passport and ID card dept of Pak).

take care

:eek:

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

when i got my NADRA id card i had to specify that, abt a yr ago waise

but this is highly interesting :eek:

do u have a source for this news?

There was a thread on this a while ago, and it's true. All of Pakistan's non-muslim minorities have been lobbying successive governments for years to have religion removed from the passport.

As an anti-Qadiani measure, it doesn't really work. My parents know of a Pakistani officer who is serving with the Bahraini Army. The Bahraini Army does not permit non-Muslims to serve, but this Qadiani has simply declared on his Pakistani passport that he's a Muslim and, when questioned, simply pretends to be one.

I know of others who do the same thing in order to go to Saudi and in particular Mecca and Medina.

The most ideological of them do not agree to the declaration that is conditional to being classed as "Muslim", but many others simply sign it anyway so that they are allowed to do everything that Muslims are allowed to do.

It's almost impossible for, say, am immigration official at a Saudi airport to prove that someone who declared himself a Muslim on his passport is not in fact a Qadiani.

hmmm i c

i think this is a good step waise

theres no need to declare ur religion in ur passport after all

Assalaam Aleekum
I have quoted the source.
I will try to find It and post It.
take care

achaa, wese Why Is It a good step.
I think maybe , just maybe Now It will
be difficult for Kadianis to ask for Asylum.

merely mentioning our religion on the passport doesnot make us or for that matter any one from the minorities any less Pakistani. I don't thinkits a bad move but seriously what is the logic behind this measure?

Kadianis se itni “mohabbat” kahay ko hae bhaYee :hehe: i think live and let live, and dont give annyone the chance to complain, if Kadianis had a problem with the religion thing mentioned on the passport, and we r not becoming less of a Muslim by not mentioning it, then dont have it there, khair hae

Minerva from what i have heard the minorities have been after Musharraf and lobbying him to take such steps. prolly a result of that.

Anyway, there are many quadianis in England, Canada and elsewhere. Other passports do not have a religion column, so they go anyway.

Maybe we have wasted too much of our energies on them.

There are other ways to identify one’s religion on Passport. One with a Thumb Print in signature area is most certainly not a Qadyani.

:jhanda:

wow, for your info madhanee, thats not a true measure. as it doesnt at all depend on more educated have more chances of being a qadiani.

what pakistani passport says muslim and non-mulism? or it mentiones
each religen? what if one is aetheist or dont want to identfy with any religen leave it blank?

Religion column not removed from MRPs

Religion column not removed from MRPs, Senate told

By our correspondent

ISLAMABAD: The government on Thursday informed the Senate that religion column has been included in the new machine-readable passports (MRPs).

Replying to a point of order raised by MMA Senator Syed Hadyatullah Shah, Minister of State for Interior Dr Shahzad Wasim said there was also a provision of declaration form, which would be used as secondary verification document by visa issuing authorities.

He said there are 16 entireties in machine-readable passports on the data page, while in the old manual passports there were only 12 entries on three different pages. Senator Hadyatullah Shah had raised the issue of non-inclusion of religion column in the new machine-readable passports with the result that many non-Muslims (Qadyanis) applied for Saudi visa for Umrah and Hajj.

I found this item relevant to the discussion at hand…

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_3-12-2004_pg1_3
ISLAMABAD: The Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) on Thursday dropped its demand in the Senate for religion to be listed in the new passports after government senators showed them copies of Saudi passports which do not specify religion.

Speaking on a point of order, Professor Hidayatullah Shah of the MMA criticised the government decision to remove the religion column from the new machine-readable passports.

MMA Senator Professor Ghafoor Ahmed said the removal of the religion column was a “conspiracy by anti-Islam forces” and indicated that Pakistan was being converted into a secular state.

Dr Shahzad Wasim, the minister of state for the interior, informed the Senate that Saudi Arabian passports do not specify religion. “Declaring one’s religion is not the responsibility of the state. A person should declare his own religion. You will notice that there is no column for religion in National Identity Cards,” the minister said.

May be start a Gupshpup Poll to gauge what Guppies feel about having one’s religion listed on the Passport. I think there should a column on whether one can read and understand Quran and can name every Surat by heart. In addition, all people traveling on Pakistani Passport be tested at the airport for their knowledge of Islam. There should also be a column if one believes in Jihad and 72 hoors or not. And by the end of year Hijrat 1427, we will have Pakistani Passport as thick as Harry Potter. But don’t worry, as by the speed things are going, its only a matter of time that all Pakistanis will be Muslim alone (Chitay Safayd Muslim of Persian and Mongol influence), and there wont be a need to worry about putting religion on the passport.

Sometime I have this illusion that I am the only one who can put some sense into these Mullah loving morons.

Now we will hear from some idiot who would claim that there’s nothing wrong with Pakistan and everything is all hunky-dory and siht.

Assalamalaikum, Madhanee,

Aho jee tusi he suchay Musalaman ho or sari sense bhi aap main hai, mashallah!

I don't see there is anything wrong in debating a certain move in the parliament. So, I guess the opposition has the right and are entitled to their views.
But I wish they had accepted the decision by the government or for that matter opposed it on merit. Why did they have to agree to it after being told that the Saudi passport does not have a column identifying the religion of the individual.

hmmm

Walakuym Asalam Mineva, I think my argument was just ghisa pita useless bakwas, but the essence of my argument is that there should a debate on the usefulness and a purpose (functionality) of something, and not necessarily the debate on rhetorical garbage.

As far as I understand it, the purpose of a travel document is to identify the traveler. It serves no other purpose. Allah is not going to ask one for his/her passport to grant a Visa for Hell (everyone is going there regardless of what their passport say). Once these idiots in the parliament understand this basic idea of spending their mental energy on something more substantive, things are going to remain in the ditch that they are. Tomorrow they might require people to paint their religion in Big Letters on their Houses.

sad state of affairs when people cant even be angootha chap :(..or that thyeir angoothas are cut off :frowning:

I am very sad now

Oye Chup kar key Beth. An-paRh Qadyanis have their literate relatives sign for them…they they not dumb.

MMA’s and govt’ reasoning doesen’t seem valid. Saudi Arabia has 100% Muslims. We do not. Therefore this comparison is not justifiable.