Passport or Wife???

I want to be a wife NOT a passport !!! or I want to be his Wife not his bloody Passport !!!
well that is generally what pakistani girls living in England probably say or think when their parents want to take them back home and marry them off to a cousin and bring him back here. the situation is worse when the guy is not educated & comes from a totally different background i-e has different values & everything.
what do you think of this attitude…what do you think of the whole situation?

girls should be permitted to marry an ahole of their own choice.

*Originally posted by Gabrujawaan: *
girls should have a choice to marry an ahole of their own choice.
marrying an arse hole out of choice rather than force would be better.

Love marriage to an ahole is better than an arranged one.

I think girls who're overly concerned about guys marrying them only for their passport probably think they have nothing else to offer.

Well that can't be helped. If a girl from here does marry a guy back Home, even if she settles there initially, I think that it will always be on the guy's mind that the girl represents an opportunity to move to the West and start a new life should he lack opportunities in Pakistan.

Any Western citizen girl who gets married to a guy back home, in my opinion, is half girl and half passport forever.

The only solution is to renounce the Western citizenship upon getting married.

Incidentally, this is part of the reasoning behind my mother's Golden Rule that a girl raised in the West should never be married to a guy back home. (though the reverse situation is fine)

BabaG, you are becoming funny in your old age. I dont know why it just amde me laugh. On a serious note, what ever happened to “charity begins at home” …dont you want to help a family member (in this case a cousin) better his life. I am sure he will be thankful. :hehe:

^ that is a good thought... 'charity begins at home'.. but that shouldnt apply to marriage..

i think its ok for a girl to get married to a guy in pakistan/india but not with the intention that u should be helping him out cus he's from there.. that will lead to greater problems later on.. cus it'll always be in he back of the girls mind that she only did it out of sympathy and obligation.. and that aint marriage..

My hubby is from Pakistan and he wants our daughters to marry someone from pak and help them out.
"kissi apne ka kaam ho jaye ga" as he puts it.
Im determined not to let that happen though. Who knows, only time will tell. Kis ki kismat kis se judi hui hai? Only Allah knows.

Hmmm....i honestly could not ever understand that concept. Marrying back home when the two individuals have very little to nothing in common. Arranged marriages are still the norm, but that doesnt mean that the two individual just met on the wedding day.

Secondly if it is for passport or economic reasons, then the marriage could very easily be rocky and added complications. The guy may feel that once i have citizenship who needs the girl etc. The female could feel resentment that he married me due to the passport and in some cases the thought may be why me? That of course causes addition friction.

Totally ridiculous! I mean.. getting one's daughter married to some guy back home.. just for the betterment of the guy or a fellow countryman? I mean.. shouldn't the parents be more concerned about the happiness of their daughter rather than some guy back home?

And the match is so not meant to be. Different backgrounds means tension. And PK.. if the guy is not well educated.. nothing could be worse.

All men are dogs. Especially desi ones, they just need a passport, nothing more.

My bestfriend is getting married to a loser, who she thinks is perfect. He only wants to get a green card. She doesn't even know where his parents are, he's not educated or decent. She is so blinded by his so called love that she can't see the cons. She is going to ruin her life if she goes through with this wedding. I don't get it. Why girls become to fookin' stupid when they "think" they have fallen in love? I mean is it really love? Or just infatuation or maybe they found someone they can play with and feel good about themselves. I wish I could show her the reality but sadly that can't be dont, so I've stopped advising her. Let her go with the flow.....

*Originally posted by Baba G: *
I think girls who're overly concerned about guys marrying them only for their passport probably think they have nothing else to offer.

lol...

*Originally posted by LahoriMaharani: *
All men are dogs. Especially desi ones, they just need a passport, nothing more.

My bestfriend is getting married to a loser, who she thinks is perfect. He only wants to get a green card. She doesn't even know where his parents are, he's not educated or decent. She is so blinded by his so called love that she can't see the cons. She is going to ruin her life if she goes through with this wedding. I don't get it. Why girls become to fookin' stupid when they "think" they have fallen in love? I mean is it really love? Or just infatuation or maybe they found someone they can play with and feel good about themselves. I wish I could show her the reality but sadly that can't be dont, so I've stopped advising her. Let her go with the flow.....

You mean including mods... :D

*Originally posted by Zabardast: *
You mean including mods... :D

Woof woof.

Part of the problem is desis lacking spine and blindly going into doomed marriages. I've seen this happen within my own family on occasion, where it's clear to everyone except the girl's parents that the marriage is doomed from the start, but they go along with it nonetheless and the girl just meekly follows rather than making a stand.

this is exactly wht my friends moms attitude is:rolleyes: think of the apna jis ka kaam ho jayey ga,dont bloody think of ur daughter!

Originally posted by nandulala:
"kissi apne ka kaam ho jaye ga"

Thats what my dad said too. I had an argument with him over it and he was like, "itnay log hain jinko visa nahi milta;unka bhala hojaye ga". And i was like I agree, but what about my bhala. I am not saying guys without green cards arent good people, i am sure they are. But I woud be wondering for the rest of y life, if that person married me for my greencard or me as a person. And i cant live like that.

I admit it hurt a lot when he said this though. :(

Thats why I am never marrying an ABCD. Zarra nakhray to dekho....

People who want to have their western raised daughters to marry an undeducated git from pakiland are probably the same, uneducated. Someone oughta send these people to school.

Yup mee too :snooty:
I will rather marry my chachey di Dhee from chak #112, zillah Sahiwaal.