passed but still confused!

So here’s the thing. I passed my driving test a week ago(uk). Its been a long time coming, i’v been trying on and off for a few years and have wasted lots of money on it but finally i did it. For a new driver i’m really not that bad, decent actually.However I CANT PARK! its really getting me down, i know for most of you this is such a small matter but its really getting me down. I went to tesco the other day and parking between two cars…oh my god it was a mission! the same happend when i went into town, i almost hit both the cars! my husband has been giving me tips but i just dont seem to get it. So tell me did any of you go through this when you first passed? should i hang in there? any tips you can share?..thanks!

Re: passed but still confused!

Practice.

Go to ASDA, TESCO or any store/public parking in quiet time or on Sundays and practice in parking slots. Take your hubby with you and ask him to stand in one parking slot PRETENDING to be a car, and you try parking in a slot next to him. :-D nah just kidding.

normal parking or parallel parking? - if it's the latter, then I've seen many... many people not getting it right even after years and years of driving.

becahre ki jan leni hai tumne xeno. I think it’ll be a better idea if he sits next to her or how about xeno meno standing in the other slot? :hmmm: Not a bad idea I guess :stuck_out_tongue:

On a serious note I don’t think girls are good with parking. It took me ages even after I passed my test to get the parking bit right.

xeno-thanks but i think i'll spare hubby's life for now ;)
mama ki dua-its nice to hear you were in the same boat...gives me some hope! im afraid im going to stop driving altogether because im sooo afraid of parking :(

awwww many congrats seashell on passing ur driving test!!!:yahoo:!!! I would have to agree with Xeno that pratise makes perfect !!!:@:…and if its Tescos on a Sunday afternoon then pratice parking so be it!!!..take ur car for a run down here and there and make sure u get ur roundabouts in :cb:…Best of luck !!!

if u r rich enf, buy the car than can park itseld..yes, including the parallel and reverse parkings...or simply find a hubby, if u r MOT married already, lols, he'll do the work for free and u don't even have to say sorry lol

hashmat ji…exactly WHAT car is there that parks itself???:konfused:???..if there is then it hasnt been introduced on Top Gear then :cb:!!!:wink:

guess what! rounsbouts are popping up everywhere in smaller canadian towns and they are huge ones as compared to the ones in UK. no one seems to know the rules how to negotiate these roundabouts…i KNOW it!!! i LOVE it coz i never have to wait for a red light or even slow down haha**

:hehe:…actually I find roundabout tricky…its all about getting in the correct lane for you turning prefably on your approach to the roundabout!!!..:mudhosh:!!!..in UAE theyve started to replace roundies with traffic lights at open junctions… :bummer:…some roundies have great history attached to them !!!

yep…i just love it…i think soon ppl will be flying in their petit birds and just imagine ghar ke aangan meN aap ghar waaloN ke saath baat cheet kar rahe hoN aur do flyers hawaa meN TakraayeN aur aapkii aangan me Tapak paReN aur phir vahiiN donoN laRne lageN…lol**

:lajawab::wink: