Parhe Likhe Jahil

Some of GS members are prime exmples of parhay likhay jahils. I think this category is more destructive to the society than a regular unparh insaan.

az an angineer i am the thinking this thrad is beelo my IQ laval :snooty:

aspaciallee if you are nat an angineer or daktar or laayer urself :snooty:

and the educated guys who beat their wives …how about those?

^ i agee

^ once again I agree

I would also like to add that what is truly admirable and respect-worthy is if a person is highly educated, comes from a wonderful family background and/or has a lot of wealth …in short everything to be proud about…but still manages to be humble…now that is really something to respect…

I also see some people who seem to think that they are better than others because they chose to get further education while others chose not to. But just getting a degree doesn't say anything about your character.

From what I've seen, I'd say the trend is more that people have a higher degree, they tend to be more arrogant and to look down on those who don't have as much education as them. Of course this is not the case with everyone, but it is one of the things that I've seen that makes people think they're superior to others.

I think what he was referring to was parha likha jahils, including men and women both. Why do you take such low shots at men? The whole discouraging thing usually happens with the unparha likha jahils or just jahils. By assuming that every man discourages women from an education is jahil in itself. There are good men, and there good women. There are bad men and there are bad women. No one is better than the other. Thinking otherwise is just childish :)

very rare

Re: Parhe Likhe Jahil

The best example of an educated person is someone who does not look down on others and has a humble, gracious and extremely positive attitude in life. They represent themselves as educated and inspire people who maybe are not as educated as them because of their humililty and ability to communicate with people from all kinds of cultures and backgrounds. They are extremely open minded and do not judge people on their race, caste, gender, social staus, education level, beliefs and so forth.

What's the point of being educated and shoving it in people's faces. I think you discover someone's education level from the way they speak to you, and arrogance and superiority is a big turn off when it comes down to it.

I have met some people who are extremely academically qualified, however they have such an arrogant attitude and negative and bitter outlook on other people and life in general that you just don't wanna socialise with them. I would probably rather socialise with an uneducated person with excellent morals and character as opposed to the latter of a
'parha likha jaahil'.

I am not arguing with you :slight_smile:

But I do believe that class has a lot to do with compatability. Background, priorities etc. It is becoming less important because, unfortuantely, usually caste divides also meant fuedal-class divides. Our generation isn’t removed far away from those times for such issues to be entirely irrelevent I am afraid.

So in some cases, I believe, there is a real case for looking in-caste.

Also there is a sense of history that somepeople want to preserve. One which they are rightly proud of and isn’t a million miles away from the same reasons one may use for marrying within religion or nationality. A shared lineage that some may want to pass onto their children.. Neither of which ensure compatiability either - but do encourage it.

That is a different issue to mocking people who havnt had the chance to an education imo.

Some people are intellectual snobs. But other people are superficial. - and it is indeed difficult to relate to someone with a completley different world view. Although no discrimination is ever valid.

Rightly said…

as an aside. would you people consider neitzche, mozart etc parhe-likhai jahils? All were horridly snobby yet, undeniably, contributed so deeply to our world history. Can greatness compensate for smallness of spirit?

or is it that beause so many f us are mediocre,, its better to hedge our bets and be nice to everyone so that not only will we be doing good blahblah, but will be remembered well? So that when we see someone so arrogantly disregarding others - we feel our kammis amplified.

I think people whodont care deserve a small tiny level of admiration for this careless attitide to their heritage, no?

hitch there is an urdu proverb that roughly translates to no one looks at the caste of the fisherman when gauging the price of the pearl .... so if someone has something good to offer than i say kudos to them for offering it and playing their part in making the world a better place ... if they are jerks and morons .. well thats their personality and that shouldn't make their contribution any less significant ... and on the flip side they are not amazing humand being just because of their contribution ... they are still morons ...

When I see girls unmarried at the age of 30 because parents couldnt find an in-caste match, I cannot help but despise this system.

When I hear things like "Syeds ko aag haram hai" or "Hum Raja hein aur Rajaon mein hi shaadi karenge"...I cannot see myself teaching this to my children. I dont want to pass this on...I want it to die.

When I have kids, I will teach them what the caste system is so they are aware but will place no importance on it.

Encouraging compatibility...marriage works if you want to make it work. Thats the bottom line behind it. If two Chaudhrys want to battle it out, their last name doesnt stop them. In my circle, family and friends...I have seen Sheikhs marry Syeds, Hyderabadis marry Punjabis, Sunnis marry Shias...these are divides and will become a problem if you let them. But, if you want it to work...things like caste, nationality, heritage dont matter.

People need to start understanding that in this day and age...the caste system, your last name, family name, etc will not make married life any easier. Its the two people involved that make it easier.

As for passing on heritage...being Muslim and being Rajput are two very different things and cannot be compared.

Islam does not recognize divides...why should we?

If ALL of those who are fortunate enough to receive good education and instead of showing off to others and being proud of it, if we go and educate those who can't afford or are unfortunate - simply by being friendly, slowly changing certain ways things get done half of the worlds problems in fact majority of Pakistan's problems would be solved.

I agree zainyyy

I dont agree with you. Alot of the "unfortunate" in Pakistan don't want the educated helping them, especially foreigners who can't really relate to them on any level. They're comfortable with what they do and they want to be left alone. If you wanna give them money yeah maybe they'll accept it but if you try to force them to go to school they're gonna tell you to back off (from what i've seen, and yes it does make sense to some extent)