Parents in old age supported by daughters ?

Does anyone here know of any families that had only daughters and how those daughters supported their parents after retirement?

What do daughters do once they are married, and not working? How do multiple daughters share the financial responsibility? Any of you have any examples from real life.

Re: Parents in old age supported by daughters ?

My parents have only 2 daughters. We are there for mom and dad whenever they need us...we have awesome husbands who have always supported us.

Nikki, I was looking for some insight to how finances are managed? I have seen desi families being ok giving the guys' parents money but what about if the girls' parents need money, and the girl is not working how is that managed?

And also what if both of them are old, can't drive (physical limitations) how is that managed and daughters live far away

My mom (of course with the help of my father) supported my Nani after the death of Nana. My mamu was still studying then. Most of the money that Nana/Nani invested (around 15 laakh some 25 years ago) went down the drain in investment companies fraud . My mom used to give nani a fix amount every month.

Abbu used to take Nani to Dr's whenever needed, paid for her eye operation, kidney operation and what not and todate we have never heard a single word of objection from abbu's mouth on why ammi was doing all this with our money.

If that is the case, the girls husband MUST step in and support her parents, it is the only decent thing to do.

My mom's cousins, 3 sisters took care of their very very sick mom for years. Each sister would keep their mom for 4 month .. everyone took a turn. Her finances were of course taken care of the sisters and their family whenever it was their turn to keep her. Two sisters worked, one didn't.

My husband's naani lived with her daughter too. My husband's mamoon refused to take care of their sick mom so my MIL took care of her. She didn't work so my FIL provided everything she needed from food expenses to medical.

Yaaah...plenty of girls do this.

One of my close friends...3 girls and no boys. Mom and dad are not stable and they're daughters support them in every way possible.

In my own situation...we are 4 daughters. Right now, we all live close or with mom and dad. When and if that time ever comes, its going to be our responsibility to support them. No questions asked. Its just how it works.

I wouldn't marry a guy who had an issue with this.

Well my dad single handedly supports my nani and nana. Even my mothers brothers and sisters. Now after 20 years most of my mums brothers are working and they pay. Never heard my dad utter a word. I guess it's something we do.

At the end of the day if my dad refused to help and he only had daughters then he would have had a difficult old age just like them

It is really good to see all these stories from ppl's own lives. I know a lot of women would never dream of deserting their inlaws in their old age, it is nice to see a lot of desi men would also be thinking the same for their wives' parents.

Same here. Only my eldest sister is married so far and she has always still helped us support our parents.

my mamoo never supported his mother in anyway while she was sick and in Pakistan he was in some other country enjoying his life. My mom took care of every single issue regarding her mother and my father always supported her 101% with everything. Gladly my dadi and otehr family members from dad's side never had objection and were too always supportive.

My mum's sister and her family look after my grandad.. he's been living with them since my grandma died..

On my dad's side one of my cousins has her mum living with her as well (her dad died)..

I don't think it's that uncommon or difficult for girls to look after their parents nowadays..

I will not have any issues with me or my wife supporting any elderly who needs help with their finances and well being.

i think financial support comes much later, i have even seen kids who run away from aking responsibility of their parents.so no, i havent known any.

I know a few families who have done it.

youngest of 3 girls, no brothers....2 of us are married, bro-in-law and hubby have never objected to helping our parents ever..in fact, when both of our parents were diagnosed with cancer the same time, it was the damaads that stepped up to the plate and took care of things...my husband took 8 weeks off from his job to stay home with our kids so that I could go to Khi to be with my papa....my bro-in-law took up the tab and pretty much paid for all my father's expenses (chemo, surgeries, providing round the clock male nurses etc)also never held my sister back from leaving her home in Dubai to divide her time between US & KHI....my husband was named by mom as executor of her estate, and it's been nearly 4 years since she passed away and he is STILL settling her affairs!

so no, I would not say it's uncommon! it probably depends on the family dynamics, but for the most part, I've never known any man that has not stepped up to care for his inlaws if needed...

My friend's grandmother is living with them (with her daughter & son-in-law) as her grandmother did not have any son & she is a widow too. So as there was no one to take care of her GM,her mother decided to take her to her place as supporting your parents is not restricted to financial support only, they also need your care & love.

Mashallah . May Allah reward your husband and BIL highly for this noble gesture. Ameen.
Some say that this world is still intact because of folks like them. Humanity is not completely dead. :k:

Thank you…agreed…we are very, very blessed to have them as husbands! The joke in our family was that I was the “bahu” and my husband was the “son” of my parents…lol!:wub:

And from what I’ve seen with my friends/social circle..most men are that way! So yes, humanity is not completely dead…you “men-folk” are not so bad afterall!! :wink:

Nahi NEVER. It goes aginst humin naychoor. :vivo: