"Papa, buy me the Eiffel"

Remember that thread i posted here couple months back, about that wedding of Subrata Roy’s son? Here’s another wedding in the news. Price tag for the entire nuptial ceremony? A mere US$55m :halo: To put that into perspective, imagine this: earlier this year in March, the US State Department announced that it was giving $55million to the UN High Commissioner for Refugees. That was not the entire budget allocated for that year by the US, i think $55m was half of it. A refugee organization that takes care of millions of refugees from the Saharan desert in Africa to eastern countries in Europe, receives a donation that equals what one couple have spent on their wedding. Even if you are a die-hard rightwing nut, there is something not entirely sane in that equation.

(…at least according to the hippy :stuck_out_tongue: )

Glimpsing a fairytale wedding, BBC, 22 June 2004

[thumb=H]_403010_2976345.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]ancebody-ap0_2976345.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]ridefamily-ap2030_2976345.JPG[/thumb]

It is one of the biggest events on the Indian social calendar this year. The only trouble is, it is taking place in France, and journalists are strictly banned. It features 1,000 guests from all over the world, 20-page-thick silver-cased invitation cards and five days of events staged in some of the France’s most famous settings.

And, of course, there is Bollywood song and dance.

This then is the mother of all weddings for the daughter of one of the wealthiest Asian men in the world. The host is London-based Indian-born steel tycoon Lakshmi Mittal. The bride is his daughter Vanisha.

Mr Mittal owns a steel company with an estimated worth of $6.4bn. Only last April he paid out nearly $127m for a London mansion, making it the most expensive house in the world. The wedding is expected to cost more than $55m - that includes expensive gifts for family and friends - according to accounts in Indian newspapers.

The guests have been put up by the host in a five-star hotel in Paris. Mr Mittal has hired the 17th century Vaux le Vicomte, described as the “finest chateau and garden” in France, for the marriage of 23-year-old Vanisha, who has a degree from London’s School of Oriental and African Studies, and her banker fiancé. The chateau was built for Nicolas Fouquet, King Louis XIV’s finance minister.

“There will be an Indian marriage party here on 22 June. We are smaller than Versailles but from the point of beauty we are number one, we think,” a spokesman at the Vaux le Vicomte, some 55 km from Paris, is quoted as saying. The newspaper says the festivities will “light up Paris… and the gardens of Eiffel Tower have been cleared for the mother of all firework displays”.

The engagement ceremony took place on 20 June at the Palace of Versailles, once the home to Louis XIV, France’s Sun King. There was a lavish dinner for the guests at the Jardin des Tuileries on the right bank in Paris. The highlight of the engagement ceremony was a cocktail party for the guests who were then taken through the palace. Mr Mittal and his wife, Usha, according to reports, even played themselves in an hour-long ‘drama’ which enacted the love story of Vanisha and 25-year-old Amit at a glittering function on the banks of the Seine.

The domestic drama was a Bollywood production. The script was written by leading movie writer Javed Akhtar, set to music by music director Shankar Mahadevan and choreographed by dance director-turned filmmaker Farah Khan. At the Palace of Versailles, guests to the wedding were also regaled by can can girls, evoking the heydays of the Moulin Rouge, according to India’s The Telegraph newspaper.

There were reports that some top Bollywood stars, including Aishwarya Rai and Shah Rukh Khan, would entertain the guests at a ‘surprise’ Bollywood theme party at the wedding. The bridal trousseau has been designed by some of the top Indian designers, including Suneet Verma and Tarun Tahiliani.

One of the top chefs from the eastern Indian city of Calcutta, where Mr Mittal was born, was flown to Paris to prepare Indian food for the guests. Munna Maharaj, Calcutta’s top caterer-turned-restaurateur, has a reputation for rising to the challenge of a big event. According to one report, he once prepared more than 120 dishes for some 15,000 guests.

The expensive wedding invitation card has also become the talk of the Indian media. The card contains romantic poems, including some written by a Mittal family member.

Here’s one verse: “From the chateau steeped in history, We enter a world of maharajahs and mystery, A gilded palace from Bikaner brings, A lavish feast fit for a king.”

“There is just a hint that the Mittals see themselves as maharajahs on a par with the ancient royal houses of Rajasthan..,” is The Telegraph’s comment.

The Indian media is agog with ‘leaked’ and ‘unofficial’ reports from the wedding. Mr Mittal had earlier issued a statement making it clear he would not be inviting the media to cover the wedding. ‘Papa, Buy me the Eiffel,’ headlined a report in Outlook, one of India’s leading magazines, alluding to the extravagance in Paris. “The steel magnate summons all the romance of Paris to gift his daughter-and his guests-a fairytale wedding,” the magazine said.

and the point is? :rolleyes:

The father spent .08% o fhis networth on his daughters wedding? I think he went cheap.

You wouldn’t get the point, Matty :rolleyes:

So you think $55m is cheap for a wedding. Next time i read of a 13 year old prostituting herself so that she can use the money to support herself and her 3 younger siblings, because her parents have died of Aids, then i’ll remember that $55m on a glitzy wedding at a French chateau, is a pretty damn good investment. From a moral perspective as well.

Yeah yeah screw it call me a commie, i couldn’t give a rat’s arse.

$55m is a bit steep for a wedding, yes, but if the dude is as rich as they say then its his friggin' money. It would be worse if he was like a policial leader and amassed all this wealth through corruption and kickbacks etc.

Plus, if you get worked up on people spending their money and how that money can be better spent on refugees than this is not just limited to the millions of dollars spent by the ultra-rich. Next time you have a Fish Fillet Combo from McDonalds, you should remember that the Fish Fillet combo costs $7, whereas you could have filled your appetite by eating bun-kabab and the excess $4 you would have saved could have provided food for a whole week to a family of four in Africa.

Point is, there is no end to the comparison.

Nadia, You should live on cup-o-noodle soups and shop at salvation army and give away your computer because all the money that you spend on things like food, clothing, internet access can be used for buying that one kid in bangladesh a copy of Bill Gates biography.

And don't get n the moral highground about menot getting the point. I was doing NGO;s before you learned to spell N.G.O.

WHo is doing more for society, a person who is spending $55m or someone who is putting $100 under a mattress.

Originally posted by Faisal: *
**Plus, if you get worked up on people spending their money and how that money can be better spent on refugees than this is not just limited to the millions of dollars spent by the ultra-rich. Next time you have a Fish Fillet Combo from McDonalds, you should remember that the Fish Fillet combo costs $7, whereas you could have filled your appetite by eating bun-kabab and the excess $4 you would have saved could have provided food for a whole week to a family of four in Africa.

ugh :( Thanks for making me feel guilty now, Faisal Bhai. Not that i eat meat/fish, but now if i ever step inside a McDonald's, i'm going to feel guilty.

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *

ugh :( Thanks for making me feel guilty now, Faisal Bhai. Not that i eat meat/fish, but now if i ever step inside a McDonald's, i'm going to feel guilty.
Well, the idea was not to make you guilty, but just to suggest to keep a little perspective. Do whatever you can for the society at large, thats good. Just don't take everything so personally.

Re: "Papa, buy me the Eiffel"

Mr Mittal owns a steel company with an estimated worth of $6.4bn.

Small correction here. He doesnt own just "A" steel company. He owns a few all over the world.

HUH ? A person who has to prostitute herself, isn’t exactly worried (or shouldn’t be worried) about whether or not she is doing anything for society. Society should be worried about whether or not they are doing anything for HER. Priorities, my Matty friend, priorities.

As for the person who is spending $55m to tie the knot, errrr - how does that $55m trickle down into society? Unless you’re talking about the price of renting a 17th century chateau…i guess the money from there goes to um the individuals who operate the upkeep of the chateau. Yeah i guess they’re giving back to society alright. Giving back to a bunch of rich dudes who maintain a chateau built during the 1600s.

i applaud their selflessness :teary1: :k:

Nadia

What do you think is good for society.
Him keeping $55 mil in his bank balance
or spending it on marriage?

3rd or best option would be to donate it to that AID fund but point is by not spending it on marriage he is not gonna give it to them.Atleast we dont know it.

Are bhai mehnat kar ke kamaya hai... Matti daalo..dil pe mat lo yaar..

F&B,

i understand - mehnat ki hai. He deserves to spend it any way he wants to.

But yaar - everyone is not at the same level of equality. i mean, how does one justify it. You have entire families headed by 13 year old girls, cuz their parents have died of Aids, and you have one wedding at a 1600s chateau ? Come on, there is something seriously warped in that. Where does the logic exist, please let me know...honestly i WANT to learn where the rationale behind that exists.

If we were all living at some basic level of socio-economic stability, like say there was no case of a 13 year old having to sell her body so that she can take home bread for her lil siblings, theek hai - phir that's okay. But this world has its disparities. For as long as that financial chasm exists, how does one justify spending $50 million on one wedding ? Imagine how many anti-retroviral drugs you could buy with that. Imagine how many hospitals we could renovate in Pakistan, with that money.

The list is endless.

But yaar - everyone is not at the same level of equality.
Yes, they are not. And they are not meant to be. Neither in captialistic society, where we live in. Nor in Communist societies that collapsed. Nor in Islamic societies that we consider as ideal. Its just not how its meant to be. People are expected to be compensated more for the work they do (including exercising the muscles between their ears i.e. brain).

And you are right, the list is endless. As I showed through one example of McDonalds before, even small amounts you spend on yourself (to buy that shampoo or that new pair of shoes or that dress you like so much) can all be arguably considered a waste when you compare to the needs of famine-striken Africa or poverty-ladden South Asia. You can not live a life by constantly being unhappy about yours and others spending habits.

No, I htink Nadia can prove you wrong. :hehe:

Nadia beta, google and try to find out whether he has any trusts or foundations that also are involved in charitable stuff before casting aspersions.

spending .08% of your networth is not lavsh enough somemight say for your daughters wedding.

Nadia,

While you have every right to challenge such an over spending morally, but that's as far as you can go. You can't (and shouldn't) make any laws baring something like that. It's the owner's money, he can choose to spend it as he wishes, regardless of if it's considered a moral purchase to us or not.

^ ahmadjee, considering you are such a die-hard Green supporter, your views are shameful and an insult to the Greens. You should reconsider your support to Greens, or at a minimum, they should revoke your membership.

^ shadi hogayee hai na.... bhabhi ney ahmadjee nader koh ahmadjee forbes banadiya hai..

So much money on a wedding. Seems there is more than meets the eyes; there is a deeper agenda. think about it
matsui i was gonna propose if you'd let me do something. I dont remember what exactly what it was but it involved my disposable rubber gloves , my fist and you. Nevermind, i'll let you know when i think of it again :)

Almost all parents want this event to be the most special, each & every one of us do whats in our best approach according to what we have. They did the same.

BTW How many millions he spent on charity, trusts etc ?

If we spent 2% of our income on soceity so does he whats the diffrence ? But yes since he has so much more maybe its morally his responsibility to spend more, but not a obligation.

:bravo:

*Originally posted by Gamma Dilation: *
So much money on a wedding. Seems there is more than meets the eyes; there is a deeper agenda. think about it
matsui i was gonna propose if you'd let me do something. I dont remember what exactly what it was but it involved my disposable rubber gloves , my fist and you. Nevermind, i'll let you know when i think of it again :)

Gmma remnd me again to not answer your phon calls when you are pantng heavy on the other end. Vaisey, you missed a guppy meet in NYC last week. :p

Someone very special (not mini school bus special, but special nbnonethless, was here)

Okay. Theek hai, theek hai. To sum up everyone's arguments:

• this is life, it is unfair
  • the father obviously worked hard for this day, he wants to give his kid a wedding at an oohlala chateau built during Louis's time, in France, put up guests at a 5 star hotel, theek hai

Yes, Faisal Bhai, this is how a capitalist society works.

Jony, yes i agree that the father deserves to spend the money in the manner that he wishes. No i don't know how much he spends on charity. i'm sure he must spend something, that's between him and Allah and i hope he gets the sawaabs for that.

AhmadJee, yes you are right, there shouldn't be any such laws.

Guys, but what i still don't understand... okay, fine, i understand dude worked hard his whole life. Okay fine he gets to spend his $$ the way he wants to.

But someone has to acknowledge it's just not "fair" - and how we define 'fair' may be very subjective. i mean - you guys have all been to poor countries, i'm sure. You KNOW how people live. We've heard stories from relatives, we've read articles, we're educated adults here. We know what societies around the world are like. We debate these issues every day in the forums. i know how capitalism works, i know this is the way that our society operates. But it's not "fair". That's the bottom line. Don't divorce yourself from that 13 year old girl who will sleep with guy#234 tonight because there is no other way she can earn the money for her siblings' stomachs to be filled. When you think of that, and you juxtapose it with Mr and Mrs. Mittal swanking it up at Louis's palace, then THAT is where my problems with this entire issue lie.

That's the bottom line.