Pakistan's Tour of Zimbabwe

Lets all discuss the upcoming tour of Zimbabwe. Pakistan is going to have to start from square 1 to the top.
What to do you think the changes should be made to the test and one day side for this tour ?
We know Youhana, Anwar and Akram have connfirmed their participation.
Pakistan is due to announce their squad for the upcoming in a day or two and the Pakistani team will be leaving for the African tour in just a week.
So big decisions have to be made by Tauqir Zia.
Who do you think should lead the side ?

Well Waqar is gonna lead the side...thats pretty much understood...I would like to see Moin Khan come back in place of Rashid Latif, also, Shahid Afridi needs to be back in the team. This is the team I think will start the first test macth :

Saeed Anwar
Faisal Iqbal
Yousef Youhana
Younis Khan
Abdul Razzaq / Taufeeq Umer
Shahid Afridi
Rashid Latif/Moin Khan
Wasim Akram
Saqlain Mushtaq
Waqar Younis (Captain)
Shoaib Akthar

Razzaq will play in place of Taufeeq Umer if he has fully recovred from his injury.

I think Pakistan won't have a hard time beating Zimbabve, but you never know, you cannot underestimate the Zimbabve side, they are a talented side, but with Heath Streak out of the side, it will be very difficult for Zimbabve to beat Pakistan.

yasir where’z Hassan Raza:confused:

Yaar I think he is a inexperienced at the moment…lets see how he does in the tours of Zimbabve and South Africa. If he performs well, then of course, he will be a part of the team…I would replace Faisal Iqbal by Hasan Raza, if he Faisal doesn’t perform…but I think rest of the team looks good :hula: :k:

Pakistan teams misfortune in having a captain who cannot make right decisions will continue through the Zimbabwe and SA tour. We just have to live with it.

My choice of the team is as follows:

1. Saeed Anwar
  2. Younis Khan
  3. Youhanna
  4. Faisal
  5. Hassan Raza
  6. Razzaq
  7. Moin
  8. Akram
  9. Saqlain 10 Waqar 11 Shoaib.

7 batsmen and 5 bowlers.

http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/OCT/079063_PAK_23OCT2002.html

Ijaz Ahmed and Azhar Mahmood out of trial match
Pakistan Cricket Board - 23 October 2002

Ijaz Ahmed and Azhar Mahmood have pulled out of Friday’s trial match to be played at the Gaddafi Stadium. Ijaz informed the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Wednesday that he was not match fit and needed some more time before he can take the field. Azhar is still under treatment for shoulder injury.

The two players have been replaced by Yousuf Youhana and Saleem Elahi in the Greens team.

The trial match is being staged to judge the fitness and form of some senior players who missed the Test series against Australia.

http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/OCT/079083_PAK_23OCT2002.html

Waqar Younis and Richard Pybus brief PCB Chairman
Pakistan Cricket Board - 23 October 2002

Pakistan captain Waqar Younis and coach Richard Pybus Wednesday morning met the Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board Lt Gen Tauqir Zia in Rawalpindi and discussed the team’s performance against Australia.

The Pakistan captain and coach briefed the PCB Chairman the reasons for the team’s defeat against Australia in the three-Test series. The two team officials also informed the PCB Chairman about the individual capacity of every player and stressed that some of the boys deserved to be playing at the highest level.

Waqar and Pybus told the PCB Chairman that the difference between the two teams was experience. “Australia had the top seven batsmen averaging in 40s while two of their four bowlers shared nearly 870 wickets between them. In contrast, the Pakistan team was young and still in learning stages. Pakistan boys had the talent and potential but it was their inexperience to handle the pressure that let them down”, Pybus told Lt Gen Tauqir Zia.

The PCB Chairman gave them a patient hearing but also conveyed to them that the team needs to improve its performance drastically and quickly on the tours to Zimbabwe and South Africa.

**The PCB Chairman also discussed the Zimbabwe and South African tours with Waqar and Pybus and sought their views on the composition of the team. Their opinions will be forwarded to the selection committee. The selection committee will meet in Lahore on Saturday and the will announce the team later in the day. **

The Chairman once again assured Waqar and Pybus of his full support and hoped that the youngsters would benefit from their experience and commitment to the game.

I think Waqar will be captain in both one dayers and in tests!
Zimbabwe tour can be the exact morale-bosster Pakistan needs.. If they win it comprehensively, they will approach suoth africns more assured and if they go down in zimbabwe too then we can forget the worldcup :hehe:

If Waqar is the captain we can say goodbye to the world cup as well. We will be out in the first round.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

If Waqar is the captain we can say goodbye to the world cup as well. We will be out in the first round.

We might not :) !!
Lets see how they perform against Zimbabwe and meanwhile Board should let a sub. captain know of it!

My choice of the team is as follows:

1. Saeed Anwar
  2. Faisal Iqbal
  3. Younis Khan/Hasan Raza
  4. Youhana
  5. Inzimam ul Haq (last chance buddy)
  6. Razzaq/Afridi
  7. Moin/Rashid Latif
  8. Akram
  9. Saqlain 10 Waqar 11 Shoaib.

My Predictions for Pakistan's performance :

Zimbabwe :

Tests : Pakistan 2 - 0. If Zimbabwe lucky then Pakistan 1 - 0

ODI : Pakistan 5 - 0. If Zimbabwe Lucky then pakistan 4 - 1

South Africa :

Tests : Pakistan 1 - 0. If South Africa Lucky then 1 - 1

ODI : pakistan 4 - 1. If South Africa Lucky then 3 - 2

World Cup :

Pakistan definitely Semi-Finalist. If Pakistan Lucky then Finalists.

Pakistan does have the Most Telented Team.

Let us see

Have a Nice Day

*Originally posted by bdsurti: *

Zimbabwe :

South Africa :

World Cup :

Let us see

Have a Nice Day

You must be dreaming.

Pak will win a couple of games against ZIM. Then our captain and coach will get cocky and give us the lecture on how talented we are.

Then SA will punish us and bring us to ground.

As for the WC, I am pretty sure that we will be knocked out b4 getting to the super 6.

Aus, SA, SL, and India should win the WC.

Btw, why do we keep saying that our team is so talented ? What do they have which I cannot see that makes them talented.

Talented at making world record losses is all that I see.

*Originally posted by bdsurti: *

Zimbabwe :

South Africa :

World Cup :

Let us see

Have a Nice Day

bdsurti--- You are my hero!

Yaar Khush Kaar deya..Inshallah your predictions will be right

Reading this msg feel like eating Gulabjaman

Allah khush rakhay

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *

Allah khush rakhay

inn gulabjamnon mein jalab roknay wali golian bhi hein ta ke jab pakistan ko phainti lug rahi ho to apke jalab rukay rahaein :p

waise maza aye ga jab seriez shru ho gi...sheikh-chillion ki line lug jati hai har seriez mein...yeh thaktay hein pakistan ki jeet ki hanktay hamktay...aur pakistan thakta nahin hartay hartay :p

Rab Rakha

DerVaisH

1. Saeed Anwar
  2. Hasan Raza
  3. Younis Khan
  4. Yousef Youhana
  5. Abdul Razzaq
  6. Shahid Afridi
  7. Rashid Latif
  8. Wasim Akram
  9. Saqlain Mushtaq
    10 Waqar Younis
    11 Shoaib Akhtar

With this team…we will rock Zimbabve’s A$$ Down !!
:kaboom:

4 now every1 knowz wasim n waqar can’t play together n shaib has injury
so we to make sum changez
like bring in mizbah n tauqeer umer

well if they can’t play together then Waqar needs to be kiked out !! which I doubt the PCB will do:mad3: :mad2:

Gandalf Ji

Let us wait and see. I am an Optimist

Jerablade Ji

These are just my views. Neither it is flattery nor it is to cheer you up. Either I am right or wrong. Time will Tell. Let us hope for the Best.

DerVaisH Ji

Let us wait for God's Grace. Mysterious are the ways of the Lord.

Have A Nice Day

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *

Allah khush rakhay

:) Jeray I think we both are same we both see PAK on the top and when someone puts it in words we get so happy and when the time comes, if PAK performs well our days go nicer otherwise it feels like just stay in bed and try to sleep.

not waqar:nono: wasim needz to kik out cuz da mtach between PCB red n green just luk at hiz bowling n check the bowling in international few matchez back u can c difference
i dunno y he’z jelous, he got the highest wicketz in 1dayz n just need 21 more to get 500. i think he should care about the bowlin more than becomin the captain