Pakistan's top judge is suspended (Merged)

Re: Pakistan’s top judge is suspended (Merged)

On a side note, apparently another case Chief justice Iftikhar was planning on hearing was of the validity of dual nationals or greencard holders in holding public office.

**More than 20 lawyers were hurt after policemen wielding batons tried to break up the protest in Lahore. **

Re: Pakistan's top judge is suspended (Merged)

Spock,

" am not saying its right or wrong, I just find the responses by people like Pir Farid and Kehkashan very hypocritical my friend."

I was trying to see your name but found none till my post. I am still stuck to my statement as long as it is true. But later revelation indicated that CJ has been victimized for opposing dictator's actions. In that case what I said about dictator is correct. PPP regime was far superior than this ...era. His rule is the darkest of all rules would lead to further disintegration of the country . According to one of your post, you were either not born or ...during ZAB’s regime....

FARID

tsk tsk

Maybe your love for Benazir made you blind, go and read again, u'll find my name more than once before your dumb post.

I am still stuck to my statement as long as it is true. But later revelation indicated that CJ has been victimized for opposing dictator's actions. In that case what I said about dictator is correct. PPP regime was far superior than this a$$ hole’s era.

Yeah right, atleast this guy removes people he doesnt like from office, what do Bhatto and Badnazar do, 'off em' if u dont like 'em, using their jiyalaz (which includes ppl like urself).

Mr. Saleem is trying his best to save his face here. :)

About disappearances of people, he says:
Saleem:

that is nothing to do with Person of Musharraf or his own grievances with victim but it is to do with war against terrorism

Well, "war on terror" does not mean summary disappearances of people WITHOUT any charge, and WITHOUT there whereabouts known to anyone. These disappearances are not just for interrogation but they have also resulted in killings by security agencies.
No matter how justifiable the cause may be, is this the kind of country you want to live in?
Hell, no. As much as I support Musharraf's war on terror, I can not approve his illegal (read "criminal") activities.

And these disappearances are caused by Musharraf HIMSELF, and he should be the one answerable to them. But he knows this is illegal, this is why he took out the CJ.

^^ I would rather have terrorist nuts who want to explode themselves in Pakistan disappear than have them on the streets. Taking in people who are deemed a security risk happens in all countries over the world, why should it not happen in Pakistan?

In every other country, citizens who are arrested have to be produced before court after some time be it 72 hours in the US or a few days in the UK. Nowhere it is okay to keep people under wraps for months and years. It is called habeas corpus rights - latin translation literally to "produce the body" before court or explain why.

If these people are terrorists, then let the govt say so in court. The reals reason is probably because many of these guys are innocents. I read reports by international and Pakistan groups that said that ISI picked up people just to keep the US happy and got paid hundreds of millions of dollars for it.

This is the most shameful thing ever. Pakistani govt agencies selling our own citizens to the US for money.

Ehsan Bhai

You are write about the dangers for those daring to question Musharraf's authority. Anyone remember the case of Makhdoom Javed Hashmi who was tried in secret and put in jail without due process?

So the only name you can give me is Makhdoom Hashmi. Wasnt he found guilty of his crimes by a court judge and sentenced?

“*From the reproduction of incriminating material available on record, discussion and findings, I am of the irresistible conclusion that the prosecution has been able to establish its case against the accused beyond any reasonable shadow of doubt,” said Judge Asad Raza of the District and Sessions Court, Islamabad, while announcing the verdict. *
http://www.dawn.com/2004/04/13/top2.htm

Are you accusing Judge Asad Raza of corruption now? Isnt a trial before a judge known as due process? Very weak case you have with only 1 name, and that one was sentenced by an official.

How can you tell the difference - Mr. "I'm so clueless I think Governors are elected in Pakistan". Please do your thing with Wiley A and leave this to adults. Off to my ignore list you go. :)

^^if you could write in understandable English, I would be able to answer the question you pose. At it stands "How can you tell the difference" could just be referring to how can I tell the difference between a person who is lacking a whole brain and you, the answer is I cannot. Better still, stay on topic and answer the question. How many people have disappeared in Pakistan on charges not related to terrorism such as plotting to blow themselves up and in the process kill a lot of innocent Pakistanis? Why would anyone want these people roaming the streets?

. How do you know that all those who were "disappeared" were terrorists?
. Do you want to live in a country where rule of law is followed or not? (Are you even a Pakistani?)
. Who can guarantee that only terrorists will be detained and not political activists?

You are playing with fire.

Also,
Anyone remember the case of Journalist Hayatullah, who was murdered by these holier-than-thou intelligence agencies for publishing a story which proved that American missiles attacked Pakistan?

These intelligence agencies of army act as state within the state, and need to be taught a lesson.

although hayatullah was kinda dumb to even do that. If the govt was trying to keep lids on it because teh truth would get all kinds of ppl jumping up and down, then why do an expose. ppl get knocled off in every country for dickin around with national security, our intelligence is not unique in that respect.

We did not create Pakistan to be every country. It was created to be better, but right now, it is worse then most countries of the world. Revealing truth should not get people killed. I think we all would be happy if you could get a justice system even quarter as good as US right now, despite their patriot act nonsense.

Spock, tell me again how I am a hypocrite?

roadrunner: “How many people have disappeared in Pakistan on charges not related to terrorism such as plotting to blow themselves up and in the process kill a lot of innocent Pakistanis?”

How many of those who have disappeared have been charged with ANYTHING? Charges are meaningless when so many of them are never bought in a court of law and those that are, usually get dismissed, but that still does not get freedom for victims. ISI is above the law and can pick up anyone it wants, whenever it wants to. Except Taliban of course, god forbid they touch Taliban unless Cheney tells them to.

If the following events do not shame you, then you are a person without shame or morality. How many of these people were terrorists or just opponents of the plunder of Balochistan? When the government itself lies about everything, why should anyone trust it if it claims someone is a terrorist and provides no proof for it? Why are you army lotas so opposed to the rule of law? It sad to see how much you hate Pakistan and Pakistanis that you continue to support the brutality of the government against the people.

And why this discussion on Bhutto and Hitler when the topic should be the illegal act of the current dictator and how Pakistanis should counter it. I implore overseas Pakistanis to register their protest against the dictator's actions. The time for being silent with the "chalta hai" attitude is long over. How long can the country be abused like this before the burden becomes to hard to bear?

I don’t care if ZAB was hanged, he probably deserved it for his role in splitting the country, was there enough evidence to hang him? most law experts say, there wasn’t.

But Funny thing is that children of Kala Bhajang, Rajni Kant, Altaf Hussain are comparing him with Bhutto. Bhutto is no match for Rajni Kant. he has blood of thousands of innocents on his hands. More that of Muahjirs than any other community.

That is the ferocity of his anti-human actions that he did not even spare noble people like Hakim Saeed.

Yearwise details of MQM atrocities.
http://www.fas.org/irp/world/para/docs/yearwise_detail_mqm.htm**

Two statements from PML (Q) leaders have been very interesting on this issue.

Minister for Law, Wasi Zafar said, CJ was not called in army house and was not asked for resignation, had he been asked for resignation by army chief, he would have to resign, like the previous prime ministers, who HAD to resign, when asked by army to do so.

Chaudhary Shujaat Hussain said, "this is an internal matter between army and judiciary". Referring to previously good relations between the two institutions. Judiciary had always sided with military previously and had provided judicial cover for all military take overs. Now judiciary is at the receiving end.

Is ko angraizi maiN kehtey haiN

As you sow, so shall you reap

Aur Punjabi maiN kehtey haiN

Hor chupoo

The only problem i see in this case is that its a simple case of a stupid faugi bheja who cant see beyond his vision of whole Pakistan army capturing Pakistan by force and see his actions as his birth right.. if some one had a problem with CJ - a case could hasd simply sent to judicial council as in past.

But, stupidity par excellence - as was in the case of Bugti when he declared his lakshar (army) was greater that Sardars of Balauchistan! he commanded CJ of Pakistan at his home and demanded his resignation and when it didnt appeared - had no clue what to do.. The following actions were bemusing - taking CJ name and bio out of Supreme Courts website (only to put is back next day after public protest), taking Pakistans flag down from his house, house arresting him with no world contact, family too restrained at home, other family members houses raided.

No one is stupid not to know how much govt fumed when billions of rupees commission disappeared with CJ action against sale of Steel Mill, or 2005 stock crises case, and other cases.. the way they handles the case is pathetic - as expected from a dumb faji and naib-zaida govt..

and now this
http://dawn.com/2007/03/13/top3.htm
ISLAMABAD, March 12: Two private TV channels remained off air for some time on Monday after getting a warning from the government’s media regularity authority for showing pictures of police baton-charge on protesting lawyers in Lahore against the suspension of Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry.

It was the Aaj TV which first showed the footage of police chasing and beating the protesting lawyers on the streets of Lahore at around 1pm. The TV channel showed senior Supreme Court lawyer Sardar Latif Khosa with a bleeding head being taken by colleagues for medical treatment.

After a while, another private TV channel, Geo News, aired the footage of the same incident.

After some time, the two channels went off the air simultaneously. The transmission of the two channels resumed after several minutes with a different footage of the Lahore incident.

Sources told Dawn that an official of the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) in Sindh contacted the managements of the channels on telephone and told them not to telecast the scenes of police action against lawyers.

They said the Pemra official was particularly angry over the scenes in which Latif Khosa was shown bleeding from a cut on his head. The managements of both the channels replied that they were telecasting the news report because their competitor was also showing it, they said.

The sources said the managements of all private TV channels were under pressure and issued ‘verbal orders’ not to give too much coverage to the ongoing judicial crisis.

Despite several attempts, Dawn failed to contact Information Minister Mohammad Ali Durrani and State Minister Tariq Azeem to seek the government’s version.

hor chupoo