Pakistan's new arch rivals in cricket & hockey

Who do you guys think should Pakistan’s new arch rivals be in cricket/hockey.

In both the games, our former arch rivals were India. However, we need to change that…

As for hockey, I dont know why India is our arch rival as there team is anything but good at present. It might have been good very very long ago. If anyone deserves to be our arch rival in hockey, it should be Germany. Pakistan and Germany have had some very tense matches in the past. The success rates of both the teams is also similar against each other (and against our previous arch rivals it was unbalanced). Holland might be another prospect. There were some interesting on the field competitions b/w players like Shahbaz senior and Fischer.

As for cricket, since we no longer have cricketing ties with our old arch rivals… Its time to choose new ones. This time we ought to choose a team which like I said before should have a win ratio comparable with our own. I’d vouch for Australia. Our team has a dismal record against them lately, and they are the only ones that can put our players to the real test.

Being arch rivals is not just a matter of whether the two teams are level pegging with each other. It is a whole lot more. It has history, the love hate relationship, the chemistry, the emotions involved with it. In cricket England and Australia will always be arch rivals despite the fact that Australia is a far superior team in comparison to England. Similarly Pakistan and India will always be arch rivals whenever they meet regardless of the status of their teams. Nothing can create the electric atmosphere which a Pakistan - India cricket match can generate, neither can any other clash generate such emotion and passion.

You may be right Ehsan, but remember, India has said it will not play Pakistan and backs out of tournaments that Pakistan is in. So my point is, if there will be no matches b/w the two, how can they remain arch-rivals?

Pakistan n India both gonna participate in World cup. I m sure india may not back out of it. so we may have a match

Sbaat Aik Taghaiur ko hai zamanee main

moon, they may be in different pools...

I personally liked the 92 world cup, there were 9 teams, and all of them played each other. That makes so many matches, especially when there are more than 9 teams.

Originally posted by Spock:
**moon, they may be in different pools...

I personally liked the 92 world cup, there were 9 teams, and all of them played each other. That makes so many matches, especially when there are more than 9 teams.**

well Pakistan n India are in the same pool, and as far as the way the world cup is organized its really difficult to the same way in '92 coz there are 14teams, and cricket is such a long game so they cant bare to wait do so long, but this concept the one used in South Africa is not not, almost every team plays each other except who has really has done well in the first round!!!!

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!

So there sure is a match in worldcup n pakistan again going to loose that match ( wasim akram is in the team)

In the coming worldcup hockey and in the ICC kO tournament Pak n india may meet in semi’s( If india cud make to taht, pak has a definite chance)

Moon, I didnt know the pools were finalized, would you be good enough to post the pool tables here? Thanks...

Here’s the pool tables.

POOL A

NO. TEAM BASED

1 Australia Potchefstroom
2 England Port Elizabeth
3 Pakistan Johannesburg
4 India Durban
5 Zimbabwe Harare
6 Namibia Benoni
7 Netherlands East London

POOL B
1 South Africa Cape Town
2 Sri Lanka Kimberley
3 West Indies Bloemfontein
4 New Zealand Centurion
5 Kenya Paarl
6 Bangladesh Pietermaritzburg
7 Canada Johannesburg
http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/WORLD_CUPS/WC2003/WC2003_SCHEDULE.html

[This message has been edited by Question (edited February 26, 2002).]

Afsoos keh India is not gonna make it for the semi's of world cup hockey. so wait for the other tourneys

As someone mentioned above no matter how good Pakistan is in hockey and Cricket and how pathetic India is in hockey and cricket, they will always be arch rivals forever.

But competitive wise Srilanka would be Pakistan's arch rivals just like South Africa and Australia are being compared all the time, eventhough Australia will always be England's nemesis.

In hockey, I would have to say Netherlands, because they are 2nd best team in the world after Pakistan.

What about Pakistan and Australia....we've been unable to beat aussies w/a good margin ever....as India did!!

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Originally posted by Moonstar201:
**Afsoos keh India is not gonna make it for the semi's of world cup hockey. so wait for the other tourneys

It's not good to laugh at others' misery. Your team lost to Argentina today. So better worry about Pakistan's chances of reaching Semis.

AK

Originally posted by Asif_k:
...It's not good to laugh at others' misery. Your team lost to Argentina today. So better worry about Pakistan's chances of reaching Semis...

Indeed. Pakistan now has three tough games - Netherlands, Spain and Germany.

Unless there is dramatic improvement, they may finish out of the top four, and fight for the 9th and 10th placement.

I just hope they win at least least 2 out of their last three games to give themselves a chance of reaching the Semis.

Aray bhai , how did u felt keh I m laughing over india

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

, I also like to have a match b/w India and pak.

Arch-rivals are the kinda opponent, whom you love to defeat. Sri Lanka are such a lovable team. I would feel sorry even if we beat them.

If u r talking about cricket… yeah, we have an arch-rival… the pompous Brits… I love when we rub their sorry noses in the mud. When we thrash them on the cricket field and prove to them that they may have invented the game, but we are the champions. That is why Final of '92 WC was soooooo sweet!

In hockey, I love when Pak defeats Holland. Those guys have tormented us for so long. Unfortunately we don’t ever have enough opportunities to feel happy after a match with Holland. It also feels good to defeat Germany, bcz with their physique and rough play, its such a satisfying feeling to defeat them just based on our artistic ability and skill on the hockey field.

Well - In Cricket It can be Sri Lankans and in Hockey it can be the South Koreans - Both have proved to be real pain for Pakistani teams lately.

AK

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited March 06, 2002).]

Originally posted by Asif_k:
**Well - in Hockey it can be the South Koreans - Both have proved to be real pain for Pakistani teams lately.

Agreed 100%

South Korea has been a tough adversary for Pakistan…

However, Germany and Pakistan have a history in hockey… They are like the Ali and Frasier of hockey. Korea’s dominence over Pakistan in hockey is not very old… I still prefer Germany over S. Korea…

However, Sri Lanka would be good arch rivals in cricket

Hockey....German
If we beat Germans in a Cup, we win it. Otherwise......

Cricket....Sri Lanka.

“na maiN* momin vich masiitaa*N, na maiN* muusaa, na fir'aun!”