Pakistan's Military

Ever visit *Political and Religious Images *? Its like a safari through a Military Brat’s room. Hip Hip Horays for million dollar aircrafts everywhere.

Yayyy!!! Another billion devoted on killing people. Who needs food, education and health care when we can fly in loops faster. Flying planes sure is cooler than feeding a malnourished baby, educating a victim of child labour, or providing basic health care to the elderly that daily die alone on the roads.

It’s all about the fighter jets, firearms, and helicopters! I like Pakistan. :smiley:

Re: Pakistan's Military

*Originally posted by hskhan: *
Ever visit *Political and Religious Images *? Its like a safari through a Military Brat's room. Hip Hip Horays for million dollar aircrafts everywhere.

Yayyy!!!!!!!! Another billion devoted on killing people. Who needs food, education and health care when we can fly in loops faster. Flying planes sure is cooler than feeding a malnourished baby, educating a victim of child labour, or providing basic health care to the elderly that daily die alone on the roads.

It's all about the fighter jets, firearms, and helicopters! I like Pakistan. :D

first drag ur sorry-ass to pakistan, live there, feel very-secure from ur stupid neighbors [india ofcourse] and then come here and do all this ranting and chanting :~)

yeah I agree hskhan. Down with military spending. We need to spend more on healthcare, education and building our basic infrastructure.

Conventional martial warfare is outdated now, in the new world order. The new battles must be won on the economic front.

The value of life is already so low in poor nations that the governments sadly don't even seem to care much about the lives of people there.

Remember how during the late 90's, in one day, Malaysia's currency sufferred a huge devaluation? Now that was a mean blow and it took Malaysia a long time to recover.

Those billions of dollars of airplanes are to make sure there is a country left which can develop food, education and healthcare...

*Originally posted by irem: *
yeah I agree hskhan. Down with military spending. We need to spend more on healthcare, education and building our basic infrastructure.

Conventional martial warfare is outdated now, in the new world order. The new battles must be won on the economic front.

The value of life is already so low in poor nations that the governments sadly don't even seem to care much about the lives of people there.

Remember how during the late 90's, in one day, Malaysia's currency sufferred a huge devaluation? Now that was a mean blow and it took Malaysia a long time to recover.

if india decide to attack pakistan tomorrow? where will you end up? i'm 200% sure your family will leave to some foreign country, leaving the then badly financed military to face the wrath of indian army.

i agree with lajawab 100%. but remember lajawab, these ppl who are criticizing the spendings of military have all their escape routes set for them. idher thori se bhi chon chan hui aur yeh gaye mulak se bahir. peechay ager koi mere to mere. yeh to mehfooz rahein ge na :~)

EP sir jee why r u mentioning my family? Anyway, FYI my family does not have any escape routes set for them. Abhee recently jab India se war ka khatra tha, my family was in Pakistan aur agar war ho jati to it would have remained there. Zindagi ka Allah Maalik hota hae. My family has already been through several wars.

jung ka khatra hona aik baat hai, jung ka hona dosri baat. sari duniya ko pata tha ke jung honi nahin hai.

we are talking about in case of a war with india, how will we defend our country with out proper financing of the army. we live in a very hostile world. ever country is spending billions on its army. in any given situation, survival is the very first thing you'll think of. we an untrusting and hostile neighbor like india, anything is possible at any time. we have to be on our toes to make sure our army is upto the challenge. :~)

hmmm....actually i was in pakistan during that time aur jang ka khatra BOHOT real tha....har koi keh raha tha k jang ho sakti hae...trucks were already moving towards the border with soldiers and food....and there was a collection of armies at the border than was unprecedented in recent years...

khayr, i was just stating my opinion that the best way to defend the country is through economic and social prosperity, not through conventional arms...

aap kee opinion is different than mine, and thats cool too :~)

wasalam

hahahahahahhahahah reduce the budget for pak forces for an hour india will attack, its all very easy to talk about economic development, the 1st thing u need for that is security, if u have an enemy like india only an army can garuntee your very existence. So please next time you start to assume make sure u have had a closer look at the facts!!!!!!! Macro economics relies on security, If there is no security there is no room for anything else.

As for currency devaluation if inda was to attack pakistan paki currency would go down in seconds no matter what the econmic development has been achieved. TO ACHIEVE ECONOMIC STABILITY THE BASE HAS TO BE SECURITY, WITHOUT SECURITY ITS ALL A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY, CUZ ULL BUILD IT TODAY, INDIA WOULD DESTROY IT THE NEXT DAY IF UR NOT PREPARED TO PROTECT YOUR SELF.

^^

Thanks for using the caps..otherwise we might have missed the point you were trying to make :rolleyes:

j/k :smiley:

*Originally posted by robby: *

hahahahahahhahahah reduce the budget for pak forces for an hour india will attack, its all very easy to talk about economic development, the 1st thing u need for that is security, if u have an enemy like india only an army can garuntee your very existence. So please next time you start to assume make sure u have had a closer look at the facts!!!!!!! Macro economics relies on security, If there is no security there is no room for anything else.

As for currency devaluation if inda was to attack pakistan paki currency would go down in seconds no matter what the econmic development has been achieved. TO ACHIEVE ECONOMIC STABILITY THE BASE HAS TO BE SECURITY, WITHOUT SECURITY ITS ALL A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY, CUZ ULL BUILD IT TODAY, INDIA WOULD DESTROY IT THE NEXT DAY IF UR NOT PREPARED TO PROTECT YOUR SELF.

I understand what you are saying but how much more security do we need? We already have a nuclear bomb! How much are we going to keep spending on defence when people are dying with hunger and people are ditching the country because of lack of resources?

Are we going to compromise our nation's welfare because of fear of India? Thinking rationally, I fail to see what India going to gain by just attacking us. They have their own problems to deal with.

If we had spent the money that we keep spending on defence on our education and healthcare, we'd be in a much better state today. We wouldn't have the brain drain that we are having. Our country would have a better standing internationally.

Despite all our military power, when the US asked us to side with it at the time of Afghanistan, we had to bow down to the US, we had no choice, even though we had the atomic bomb. Did it serve us then? If we had been a more powerful nation economically and socially, things would have been different. And look at Japan. It doesn't spend on military.

Khayr, just my two cents.

salams...

hskkhan, irem... shouldn't that be eye-opener for us? why does our military keep up the "Kashmir" issue so hot and alive? if we were to settle issue with India, would we need army so big? they have to keep the issue unsolved just like US needs an enemy be it Russia, OBL or aliens from some far far planet. same is with India and every government in world.

its just a matter of "rozi" :) at the expense of other's rozi/lives though :(

^^

couldn’t agree more

jee, exactly bro :k:

I understand what you are saying but how much more security do we need? We already have a nuclear bomb! How much are we going to keep spending on defence when people are dying with hunger and people are ditching the country because of lack of resources?

Are we going to compromise our nation's welfare because of fear of India? Thinking rationally, I fail to see what India going to gain by just attacking us. They have their own problems to deal with.

If we had spent the money that we keep spending on defence on our education and healthcare, we'd be in a much better state today. We wouldn't have the brain drain that we are having. Our country would have a better standing internationally.

Despite all our military power, when the US asked us to side with it at the time of Afghanistan, we had to bow down to the US, we had no choice, even though we had the atomic bomb. Did it serve us then? If we had been a more powerful nation economically and socially, things would have been different. And look at Japan. It doesn't spend on military.

Khayr, just my two cents.

salams...

Let me simplyfy for you

think of pakistan as your house, now say for example your house has no locks and no windows, would u decorate it??????? would you keep your valuables there?????? Would you feel safe there???? nope the 1st thing you would spend on will be on windows and locks to secure your property, so u can feel safe and your goods can be safe and secure. You would not think how much it would take you would want to feel as safe as possible.

Another thing if you try to insure a house without locks or windows u will find out no insurence compnay would be willing to do so, so how do you think investers,and companies would invest there capital in an insecure country????????

It is not a matter of opinon as you said before it is human nature and common sence to secure it self b4 doing anything else. Infact even a plant strengthens its roots before it grows only to make sure its secure!!!!!!!

as for bowing down to usa thats whole different topic, the direct and most realistic threat is from india and india would not let go of chance to cut pakistan's throat if it was avaiable.

robby jee I do think of Pakistan as my house :slight_smile:

anyways, I understand your points too and agree with them as well… :k:

salams

to understand things a bit more clearly. go and watch the documentary DA JINS by BBC. you'll know how eager indians are to realize their decades old dream of AKHANDBHARAT which includes pakistan aswell. :~)

Exactly. And if you look at the current Indian leadership, would it be able to survive if Pakistan was annexed by India...effectively strengthening the vote of it's muslim minority which would be the death knell of the Hindutva political entity.The scale of the military spending in Pakistan is unjustifiable. I'm not saying that it isn't important but it's the SCALE I object to. We have military noses in every affair, from what gets broadcast on tv to who picks the damn cricket team. It's ridiculous.

I do agree that budget should be evenly balanced to provide adequate resources for health care, education, food and other basic resources. However, I do believe that Pakistan is what is is now largely due to the accomplishments of the military and all the bright men (and women) who serve it at various military and psuedo-military levels.
On the day of Sept 6 2003, we should pay homage to those that gave their lives so we can all gather here on GS and call outselves Pakistani even tho we are far far away, sitting comfortably in our living rooms and contemplating on the over blown threat from India and why so much is spent on Pakistan's defence needs. We should also show some respect to those that served in various wars and are still alive. I find threads like these a bit disrespectful especially when Defence Day is nearby.

:k: :jhanda: