Pakistan's Likely Prospects...

A lot of people are wondering and making calculations…

I read on BBC the summarized prospects…

I m posting it here for everyones knowledge.

**Pakistan’s likely prospects

–>Out if England beat India and they lose to India

→ Out if India beat England, they lose to India and England beat Australia

–>Through if England beat India and they beat India

–>Through if India beat England, they beat India and Australia beat England

–>Reliant on run rate if India beat England, they lose to India and Australia beat England

–>Reliant on run rate if India beat England, they beat India and England beat Australia**

‘Do or die’ for Pakistan

Pybus has told his players it is time to stand up and be counted
Pakistan coach Richard Pybus has lashed out at his under-performing players after their heavy loss to England in the World Cup.
The 1992 winners’ hopes of reaching the next round were dealt a blow by Nasser Hussain’s men in Cape Town.

“It’s do or die from here,” Pybus said in his exclusive column for BBC Sport.

**"There are no excuses for our performance against England.

“Quite simply, our batsmen did not produce when it mattered, as was the case against Australia.”

England benefitted from bowling under lights as Pakistan crumbled to 130 all out, but Pybus refused to blame the conditions.

“I think you have to look at our lack of application rather than England’s bowling,” he said. **

Pybus also criticised fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar, who broke the 100mph barrier in the match.

“I was disappointed that Shoaib, after two lightning overs, tailed off so markedly,” Pybus added.

Pakistan’s next game is against minnows Holland on Tuesday.

Fair enough the bastmen need to show more application, but whoever's decision it was to open with Afridi needs to takle part of the blame if the team management were looking for 'application'.

Anyway, time to put it behind us and put things right tomorrow.

Re: Pakistan's Likely Prospects...

*Originally posted by saby: *

-->Through if England beat India and they beat India

-->Through if India beat England, they beat India and Australia beat England

26 February's match between England and India has become cruical for us as well.

No need to rely on anything. If pakistan can't beat india then I think we should all work on finding other teams to support.

Re: Pakistan's Likely Prospects...

*-->Through if India beat England, they beat India and Australia beat England

this is the best scenario as in this case we will carry some 7 points with us if we qualify for super sixes. Far fetched But possible.

Re: Pakistan’s Likely Prospects…

this scenario is not bad either. It will leave us 4 points to carry with us t super sixes…

Bottom Line is -->** we Have to beat India to be in the recokoning. it may be the Most important match Pakistan will ever play :jhanda:**

Re: Re: Pakistan's Likely Prospects...

this is the best scenario as in this case we will carry some 7 points with us if we qualify for super sixes. Far fetched But possible.

I dont think its far fetched.Infect its the most probable scenario.

Re: Re: Re: Pakistan’s Likely Prospects…

baat yeh hai AQ bhai ke with this Pakistani team Nothing is Impossible but nothing is Possible either :smiley: :hehe: They are such inredibly unpredictable team.

Through if India beat England, they beat India and Australia beat England

This is the most likely scenario, and more realistic.

Lets hope, it doesn't come down to the run rate scenario, or we will be doomed.

This is the only time ever I will be cheering for India.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

This is the only time ever I will be cheering for India.

Traitor. :)

Kyon aap abhi bhi england ko hi support karenge ? :hehe:

I think I will change my mind on who should I support, I want to see an India vs Pakistan match to be the most important of them all and with everything on the line. Both sides will be under pressure and it would be very entertaining to watch.

So just like always I will be rooting for the opposition against India! :)

Go Poms!!
Go Poms!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Pakistan’s Likely Prospects…

Mon 24 Zimbabwe v Australia Aussies beats Zimbabwe
Tues 25 Pakistan v Holland * Pakistan beats Holland*
Wed 26 England v India India beats England
Thu 27 Australia v Namibia * Aussies beats Namibia*
Fri 28 Zimbabwe v Holland Zimbabwe beats Holland ( being realistic, it is more likely we want it or not)
Sat 01 Pakistan v India Pakistan beats India * :-p
Sun 02 Australia v England * again Aussies beats England

Tues 04 Zimbabwe v Pakistan Pakistan beats Zimbabwe

** winning points**

Australia 24
England 12
India 16
Zimbabwe 12
Pakistan 16

selected teams
Pakistan
Australia
India

its giving me a headache.. i am still unsure if England should lose or win against India, and what if Aussies loose their match against England :smack:

lets hope for the best :slight_smile: hands off till super sixes I am just gonna close my eyes from now on and watch the show sigh

Logically, if PAK makes it to Super Sixes, it would rather have India along with and NOT England as we will get to carry 4 points to the Super Sixes after beating India. ( All this if Pak beats India and India beats England). Also, in this scenario, India will be going in with 4 less points than Pakistan. :hehe:

I am routing for India on Wednesday.

The other teams would rather have England in Super Six then Pakistan. No matter how bad we are playing right now, but we have the capability to turn tables on any given time. Compared to that England is a team with limited talent. I think India will beat England easily. All we have to do is win all the remaining matches and win it in a convincing style. We should thrash Holland tomorrow. Agaisnt India any kinda win will do and again win by big margin agaisnt Zimbabwe.

If this happens our run rate will be high enough to qualify for super six. Ek dafa wahan pohanch jayain phir dekhain gay.

I don't know why everyone is counting on us beating Zimbabwe by a big margin. They can be an awkward team as they showed yesterday against Australia. I think just take it one game at a time and see where we are after Saturday.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
I don't know why everyone is counting on us beating Zimbabwe by a big margin. They can be an awkward team as they showed yesterday against Australia. I think just take it one game at a time and see where we are after Saturday.

Xtreme, I firmly believe that if Pakistan beats India on Saturday, they would NOT lose to Zim coz confidence level will shoot up.

looking at how well our batsmen have done against netherlands, i am now in very much doubt that we'll be able to defeat zimbabwe....
and i almost have 0 hope for winning against india....

imagine inzamam playing at an avergae of 2.5 in this world cup....
and we needed him to be playing at atleast 50 (thats 200 times better than what he is doing now)....

I think a touch of reality is needed by us all. Pakistan have gone into this world cup as a very weak team. The only match we looked pumped up in was against the Aussies, and after a great start, we gave it to them in a plate.
After having a tremendous bowling attack, the batting is sadly very weak, and does not look like improving. Unlike India, they also started the tournament weak, however, they have improved as the tournament has gone on, and pakstan have got worse.... so even if we do make it into the super sixes, we definately don't deserve to.
If India make it through, I think we should lend them our support, it would be nice for a South Asian team to bring the cup back.