Pakistan's film industry is in collapse!

Pakistan makes some excellent tele-films.. a couple that had only 2 characters and was shot in ONE room. I really don't think finance or equipment is the issue. It's the people of the past that can't accept new writers, scripts and actors.

U don't need a 2 crore set, a 2 lakh outfit and 20 rehearsed dance sequences to make a movie.

Gina, sorry to say, most Pakistanis are so utterly lacking in taste and over-awed by bollywood, that anything other than the megamillion musical with synchronized dancing will be called a "drama" -- I even had people compaining me about that in relation to Khuda ke Liye.

The script and screenplay need to be very taut for cinema. The themes are kind of different too from television. The Pakistani audience may or may not accept these non-musicals given that the average shmuck is so awed by the glitter-wali-dancing-films of Bombay. Its a lost battle really, like it or not, the intelligentsia has a very limited capacity to support cinema, its always the masses who are the main market. And for now, they are under-educated and have a really bad taste for cinema. Excuse my condescension.

^ I know where u're coming from.. those masses can fulfill their cheap-thrills at any stage show.. PLEASE let us have some sane movies we can be proud of for a change!

Like I said, our tele-films are fabulous.. why can't we just add half an hour to them and call them a FILM!? They're as good.. no big budget, no huge cast..just an intense story and great acting. Unless new talent is brought-in and given exposure.. dhak dhak'sand laacha's shall continue to rule Lollywood.

Re: Pakistan's film industry is in collapse!

the audience never tell film makers what they need to make. the film makers decide that and they are the ones who shape its taste. KKL was a commercial success and it was totally different from the usual pakistani films.
our masses have got accustomed to watchng crappy films because thast what our film makers are giving them.

Filmmakers in pakistan are blind to people's tastes. Rickshaw drivers aside, other people want to see something different. Reema carried out market research for her forthcoming film, now thats what the rest should do....ask the masses what they want to see.

If market research is too much for the filmmakers then why not turn popular novels into films? Dramas are doing this so why not films?

Even having a read of peoples views on threads such as this would teach a lot to these deluded filmmakers who are obviously void of common sense.

Someone would have to translate the posts to them.. :halo:

What are some recent Pakistani movies?

:lifey: I know…oh well we can only hope.

Pakistan’s greatest chocolate hero

Posted by Shahrezad Samiuddin in Entertainment, Featured Articles on 11 23rd, 2009 | 44 responses

Decades after films such as Armaan and Doraha were released, the debonair Waheed Murad remains a treat to watch. An exceptional actor who had a screen presence that his leading ladies envied, Lollywood’s quintessential chocolate hero died 26 years ago today.

The early death of this educated and talented actor and producer was one of the major blows to an industry that now lies gasping for air. Murad was born on October 2, 1938, in Karachi and news of his death on November 23, 1983, left many eyes brimming with tears.

He starred in 123 feature films and earned 32 awards for his unmatchable performances.

***Whether Murad was making a smooth entry in Armaan singing Ko Ko Korina or flirting with Shabnam as he followed her (rather stylishly in a red convertible) crooning Kuch Log Rooth Kar Bhi, songs were an essential part of his image. ***

To pick from his repertoire of immortal melodies is a difficult task.

Here, Dawn.com lists its top 10 favourite Waheed Murad hits. Let us know which one is your favourite?

Ko Ko Korina from Armaan (1966)

Akele Na Jana from Armaan

Jab Pyar Main Do Dil Miltey Hain from Armaan

Kuch Loag Rooth Kar Bhi from Andaleeb (1969)

Haan Isi Mod Par from Doraha (1967)

**Bhooli Hui Hoon Dastaan from Doraha **

Mujhe Tum Nazar Se from Doraha

Tumhain Kaisay Batadoon from Doraha

Ae Abre Karam Aaj Itna Baras from Naseeb Apna Apna (1970)

Dil Ko Jalana Hum Ne Chor Diya from Mohabbat Zindagi Hai (1975)

The following reader comments do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Dawn Media Group.

Dawn.com Forum Blog Archive Pakistan’s greatest chocolate hero

There are probably still many potential Waheed Murads around, only if the Lahore industry would open its eyes and actually make films which audiences with decent taste would like to see (I'm not sure if that audience actually exists in Pakistan, but for the sake of making this hypothesis, lets assume it does). Many have already demonstrated their talents at various levels -- fashion, television etc. But the Lahore industry and Pakistani audiences require melodrama, shouting and skills you would think are required for strippers e.g. dancing from actors which a lot of these guys are incapable of.

Waheed Murad was an example of controlled melodrama, his acting was great in its day but cinema has moved on and actors today atleast in world cinema focus on giving a sense of realism to their characters and melodrama and formula-perfected takes on dialogue do not work anymore -- unless you're a Shaan doing a Gujjar flick.

Pakistani cinema can unearth lots of superstars but for that to happen, you need decent films from decent directors with good storylines. Fawad Khan, Ali Zafar have all proven their mettle and we need to see these guys in films. They can bloom into superstars given the platform which the Lahore industry cannot give them -- atleast for now.

^The faces and talent would emerge when the oldie's take a backseat..unless and untill that happens we're stuck with:

Shaan : Saima
Babrak : Veena
Shamyl : Saima

There is an audience.. the very same audience that enjoys quality telefilms, single episode drama's. Normal people in Pakistan know more about Bollywood than they know about Lollywood and it's actors. That only shows that they too are sick and tired of the monotonous chanay ke khaith, fake blood and loud dialogues!

according to the news

LAHORE: Four Pakistani movies are being displayed during Eid-ul-Azha.

One of these movies is Urdu (Husn Parast) while three are Punjabi (Vehshi Badmash, Gujar Badshah and Madam X).

Film star Shan is playing hero in three movies while Moamar Rana is starring one movie.

i am not sure whether i should laugh at this or feel sad!

Lol at the title...aap aaj jagay ho :p

JIYE LOHORE FILAMM ENDUSTRY !

and what was so great about Waheed Murad? the guy was a hero - not an actor. there's a difference. sure he was good looking and sounded sophisticated compared to his film peers. but his peers on TV were far superior actors.

I've watched his films... and barely managed to sit through them. some of them had fantastic songs... loved the songs of Surayya Bhopali (that Naheed Akhtar and her voice were both beautiful). but as far as the movie was concerned, jesus... one would have to be retarded to enjoy that stuff. though the late Rani looked divine. another beautiful woman...

fk... I wrote this long post... and it's lost... fk...

anyway. Pak film in its current form does need to die. die falam die...

happy eid to all

Marray huwon ko KIYA maaro gaye? :smack2:

If people wanted that, the industry would not be in such bad shape. I guess the producers are not aware of what people want.

Please name "WAHEED MURAD's" peers on TV ???????