Pakistan's culture collapsing!

“Pakistan is one of the developing countries in Asia that is facing challenge of preserving cultural heritage.”

i think that its good that pakistan is developing and becoming western…but at the same time its forgtting its culture. some people might not agree but PAKISTAN’S CULTURE IS COLLAPSING!:bummer:

Re: Pakistan's culture collapsing!

Pakistan needs to completely reinvent itself. break away from the Hindustan culture, it seems to have begun in earnest.

That's impossible, we are a part of South-Asia and share more cultural similarities (minus religion) with our eastern neighbours than with anyone else, racially we are distinct from most of India as we are an Aryo-Dravidian amalgam and they mostly pure Dravidian but race is irrelevant in this day and age and does not effect your culture or ethnic identity.

What we do need to do is to reclaim our heritage (which India is passing of as its own such as Indo-Aryan languages) and stop the use of terms such as "Indian Subcontinent" and "Indian" to describe anything South-Asian because even though we share cultural simialrities with them, Pakistan is a country in its own right and is not a shadow, piece or tag-along of India.

If someone asks me about our similarities with India I say we're religiously different as we're now Muslim and they follow an adultered version of the religion our ancestors forced upon them, racially we're distinct because we're a mixture of Aryan and Dravidian descent whilst they're pure Dravidian but we share cultural simialrities with them as the dominant Sanskritic languages of their country are of Pakistani origin and there's other cultural simialrities due to being in the same geographical location; South-Asia..

After I found out how hateful and two faced Indians can be I didn't want to be associated with them either, I can tolerate badshakal ppl but when they have a personality to match I want to stay the hell away.. but you can't help it when hey copy you..

Re: Pakistan’s culture collapsing!

It is not collapsing, it’s getting enhanced…

There’s nothing wrong with foreign influences as long as they’re positive and not just blind aping due to inferiority complex..

It happens all over the world.. Me and my white mates were talking about what it’d be like when we’re in old folks homes and he were saying how things’ll be so different, for one the food, we’d be saying “can I have a chinky”, “I’ll have a curry”, whereas the Brit generations before would have wanted sausage and mash or cottage pie and never heard of curry..

In the future the only thing which’ll determine your ethnic/national identioty will be the language you speak.. Cultures are getting mixed and so are races.

For now Pakistan is part of South Asian culture perhaps. But once Pakistan was united in the Greek Empire for a while. Whole cities were built in Pakistan that had Greek culture. Greek stupas, Greek buildings, even the people. When the Greek Empire had gone from Pakistan, the people said the same thing. We're part of Greek culture. Then came another conqueror, and Pakistanis took on the culture that was brought by the next king. And they then said the same thing. And so on. the latest one was the British uniting Pakistan with India, and so the spread of Bharat influences into Pakistan occurred. Soon this will go, not through conquerors, but through the passage of time, increased education of Pakistanis. Finally the shaking off of all things Bharati will occur.

Oh please man not you as well!! I thought you had some aqal in you.. It's Indians what are copying our culture not vice versa...

Besides like I said in the future only languages will be the different and I don't want to adopt somebody elses language which has nothing to do with any of my ancestors what so ever.. e.g. South-Americans have no honour or respect because they adopted someone elses languages like slaves, as nice as Spanish might be it's not their own, same with Black people speaking the Dutch of their masters..

The "differentest" we can possibly be to them is encourage local languages so that Punjab only has similarities with future Khalistan (East-Punjab), as for Sindh there's not a considerable amount of Sindhis in India anyway, Kashmir will be an independent country in its entirety (why is the national language of IOK Urdu instead of Kashmiri?), Urdu having no status in our western two provinces will stop their Indianisation before it happens..

It is hard to figure out why people have difficulty in accepting that before 1947 we had the same history. *

PP..you can continue to advocate this funda but there will not be any takers of such imagination.

No we did not..

British India was an Empire not a Country..

I wouldn't have the problem with the words India/Hind as they come from the River Indus which is in our country anyway but you use it and my country is no less than anyone elses to be known by anyone elses name..

Pakistan region has always been quite distinct with it's own heritage/history which you identityless culturethieves are trying to pass as your own..

Yes we have been part of the same Empires (British, Pashtun, Nepali, Arab, Mughal, Ancient-'Paki' etc.) but we were not, are not and will never be the same country...

If you are an Indian Muslim I respect you but after seeing the two faced nature of Non-Muslim Indians I can't say the same about them, I know Indian Muslims are hateful to us aswell but I guess they have to wag their tails to keep their Hindu masters satisfied, I can overlook their attitude but I've no reason to want to have anything to do with other Indians..

If I was Indian I'd do the world a favour and shoot myself in the head, khas kam jahan pak.

Where did I say Indians were not copying Pakistani culture and history. But this sort of head shaking bud budding thing is purely Indian. I dont believe Urdu is a Pakistani language. It's derived from Sanskrit, true, which is a fascinating language, highly complex. But Urdu was simplified in India (was it from Bihar?), and then Turkified and Arabified. These minor simplifications (in fact devolved things) came from India. I do not mind Urdu being a national language, but it did originate in modern day Bharat. It's a neutral national language, so until Pakistan develops another simplification of Sanskrit, I dont mind it being used.

Besides like I said in the future only languages will be the different and I don't want to adopt somebody elses language which has nothing to do with any of my ancestors what so ever.. e.g. South-Americans have no honour or respect because they adopted someone elses languages like slaves, as nice as Spanish might be it's not their own, same with Black people speaking the Dutch of their masters..

The "differentest" we can possibly be to them is encourage local languages so that Punjab only has similarities with future Khalistan (East-Punjab), as for Sindh there's not a considerable amount of Sindhis in India anyway, Kashmir will be an independent country in its entirety (why is the national language of IOK Urdu instead of Kashmiri?), Urdu having no status in our western two provinces will stop their indianisation before it happens..

I dont think Pakistan should speak its own languages. There should be one unifying language. For now Urdu will do. But someone needs to develop some modifications and come up with a new one. Something even simpler would be fine. Just not Urdu. A uniquely Pakistan language. None of this head shake or whatever.

Hahahaha.. lolzz.. I know what you mean man.. But I don't know how practical or possible your version of Sanskrit will be..

It is embarassing having to be associated with the bud-bud-ding pendulum head culture, they have such ugly and weird ways, only illiterate/uneducated aunties who watch Zee TV are impressed by those gay ways..

When I thought Indians were decent ppl I didn't mind the association because I thought who cares what Goray think but after finding out that these kameenay who I don't think siht of say such things about my country I don't want to be embarassed by them anymore..

PP I can't follow why your posts are full of hatred towards Hindus or towards Indian muslims;
Please answer following questions ?
1. Which is the oldest religion in the world and which one is the newest?
2. Tell me about the frontiers on Bharatvarsham or Ancient India?
3. What was the need for creating Pakistan in 1947?
4. Who has been calling the shots in Pakistan after 1947?
5. How do you define the culture of Pakistan..by a handful of Punjabis. How do you like the ideas that pakistan is nothing but Sindhis or Gujaratis. You can't pick one thread of an influential community and start harping this is what should be known as Pakistan.
Backwardness of Indian muslims has been debated at length and I am not going to reproduce all that stuff once again. But at the same time they don't face situation like chopping of hands, stoning to death, honour killings etc. which happen in Pakistan or Afghanistan or middle east. But they remain a victim of votebank politics. There is no denying of this fact.
Majority of Muslims whether in India or present day pakistan are converts either from Hindus or from Budhhism. So when you want to lay claim to heritage which is common to us all then openly accept what your religion was before Islam. *

When you find something which is important or valuable in Hinduism..you start making claims for it but an evil practice is always discounted...strange. Chit bhi meri pat bhi meri aur sikka mere baap ka. (heads I win, tails you loose and coin is mine).

Just a question...
What is Pakistani culture?...
Cos when you say we are losing it what is it exactly?..

I wish our current culture changes and we adapt to modern Islam. Reason? Simple--our culture in my opinion promotes confusion, confusion and more confusion... basically because some of us try to mix in Indian (desi) cultural values and Islamic beliefs--religion is best, Urdu is good, but Indianism in Pakistani society is downright pathetic. The addition of Westernism to it adds to all the confusion. We should establish our own identity rather than following in the vein of Indians or goras; but we should learn the positives of every society no matter what.

If we adopt to a full-fleshed Islamic system or an Islamic Western system (where everyone has the right to their own opinion, but they should respect others opinions too), and add a touch of Urdu to it... we will get a beautiful culture and avoid a lot of confusion. But... we should allow everyone to do whatever they want as long as they aren't harming anyone (take "modernism" for an example). Our religion is Islam and our cultural heritage is currently Indian-orientated. Religion is better, more important, and definitely easier to follow.

^^Pakistan's cultural heritage is not Indian orientated. This wont get through your head at the first attempt. I suggest reading your history. Pakistan's cultural heritage is very unique, a culture all of its own. The Indus Valley Culture, the Vedic Culture. These things were taken and copied by the state of modern day India. Please do some research before spouting your mouth off with nonsense again.

^^ Then our culture might be good, but we are contaminating it ourselves simply because we don't know how to mix it with modern dynamics. I think we're still promoting confusion for our youth that is supposed to be modeled for today's dynamics. Mold yourself for time, don't expect time to mold for you. Whether be it our own or be it from Indians, a confused society is unacceptable. You should have a clear straightforward image of everything you can. All that Westernism sh!t and stuff, get over it. I mean come on man, I've seen these kids on Geo who are speaking accented American English on one program and the next they are saying classic Urdu shair-o-shairi. Plus, the media has been promoting lots of Indianism which is readily accepted by our people, including my relatives :(. So we either don't have people who can promote a modern-yet-balanced culture or those people are being held back. Which in either cases suggests that we don't like our culture whereas we claim that we "LOVE OUR CULTURE".

On the other hand, I've known people here in N. America who claim to goras etc. that they love their country, while at home they discuss political arguments at home and how horrible our society is. Okay even if you have high regards for your identity at least be open to admit what's wrong with it; don't be two-faced, just say what you feel is right and have a clear image. If that same gora goes to Pakistan he'll prob'ly think of you as an ape or something from a jungle judging by what you told him you think about your country. And here in either cases we are simply damn CONFUSED.

Even though my own family might be promoting that same confusion within me, I try to abstain from it as much as possible... in fact, my parents admitted that they and I have different brought-ups in different eras, and have made me understand the balance between time (modernism), religion and culture, and how to maintain it. My bottomline is: We HAD a good culture, but we are now devoid of it simply because we can't blend it with modernism. Not to mention all the confusion that media has added to.

Re: Pakistan’s culture collapsing!

absolutely true.

social injustice
immorality
political and economic lawlessnss
lack of the abilities to preseve the country and its heritage - historic buildings, & cultural values.
so how can we correct this?
each one of us will have to be liable for this task.
no one can expect others to bring a social change in a society, a nation, when each and every aspect of its life.

so where do we stand?
only we know it.
who can improve that?
only we can, depending on how comitted we are or even have the ability to be.

sometimes, when there is so much going amuck, eventually things have to get better by a positive revolt.

in case of Pakistan, only youth and young professionals will have to come forward and be the CHANGE themselves.

There needs to be a Pakistani culture before it collapses. What would you identify it as? Because as far as I can see, Pakistanis spend more time on arguing over Punjabis, Sindhis, Mohajjirs, Urdu-speaking or non-, Shia, Sunni, Ahmedi, etc than on developing or maintaining a rich culture. A country that is so young only pretends to have some sort of unifying force. It should be Islam, but that ends up being used as a source of division.

The "Westernization" of the country is the least of our problems.

^^ Pretty much true. Where should the Islam be, where should the traditions be, and where should the modernism or Westernization be in our culture still remains to be solved.

Look at the West, look at the Arabs, look at the Chinese... heck, even look at the Indians. All of them have full-fleshed cultures, whether they be fair or unfair, realistic or unrealistic--at least their cultures are clear and straightforward. I'm not sure how Malaysia, Bosnia etc. these kinds of countries dealt with the big three (religion, culture, modernization; but look at Malaysia, how beautifully it combined all three elements and where it is now... another factor is that they knew which person should be leading them, which we are apparently unaware of, or we just are stripped of our rights and thus leading to a distorted country and culture.

On the other hand we are trying to blend Islam, traditional values (remember we were Hindus before Islam came), and modernization (i.e. - in some ways - Westernization)... it is not really that difficult; Islam is simple and clear (even if you take in the "Arabism" factor, most of our languages are pretty much related to Arabic), our traditional values can still be followed without the Indian/Hindu elements, and I think modernization is the only way we can move ahead in today's world. The only thing we need to know is how to blend them.

Pakistan should promote itself as a modern forward looking multicultural society without rewriting/ignoring history as is being advocated by MMA.