Is it just me or do Pakistani get little or no History lessons regarding anything outside of Pakistan, Islam and South Asia. Even the stuff Pakistani kids do learn is tinged with bias.
Do any schools teach Roman, Greek, Egyptian, Meso-American, Asian, or European history? Do people know anything of the Crusades, the spread of Islam??? I think they save this stuff for those that take history as a major. But I fail to see the logic here, this stuff is important, I mean how can we overlook Rome? Pakistan is important but its not all encompasing, there is thousands of years of history outside of our meager 50 years, and yet so many people are ignorant of it…
Any comments?
Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
*Originally posted by Adnan Ahmed: *
Is it just me or do Pakistani get little or no History lessons regarding anything outside of Pakistan, Islam and South Asia. Even the stuff Pakistani kids do learn is tinged with bias.
Do any schools teach Roman, Greek, Egyptian, Meso-American, Asian, or European history? Do people know anything of the Crusades, the spread of Islam??? I think they save this stuff for those that take history as a major. But I fail to see the logic here, this stuff is important, I mean how can we overlook Rome? Pakistan is important but its not all encompasing, there is thousands of years of history outside of our meager 50 years, and yet so many people are ignorant of it...
Any comments?
Teach history to kids and not computers.. yaar get a life !!! I guess we need modernization more than anything else at the moment which wud be benefiting to kids in life and history serves to bring back nothin..
Re: Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
*Originally posted by mulz: *
Teach history to kids and not computers.. yaar get a life !!! I guess we need modernization more than anything else at the moment which wud be benefiting to kids in life and history serves to bring back nothin..
\
Whats the problem with histroy? Its important.. Its that sorta thinking that keeps Pakistanis back. Why cant kids learn History as a supplement to their overall education? If u are going to school, then you should get the most out of it, and History is a part of that learning.
I learned computers and History at the same time smart a$$. So loser, perhaps its you who need a life.
They should really screen the idiots that join this forum...
Btw, History is very important, because who we are today, is a result of where we were years ago. If that logic doesnt make any sense to you, then you need to go back to school.
Re: Re: Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
\
Whats the problem with histroy... Its important.. Its that sorta thinking that kees Pakistanis back. I learned computers and History at the same time smart a$$. So perhaps its you who need a life.
Wat do u mean ?? Yaar bakwaas tu karega aur blame mere ko karega.. yaar ab badaa ho jaa.. Horlicks pee.. dimaag ki garmi thandi karney de waastey.. History comes secondary to basic sensible education that can lead to employment more than anything else.. I even don't know Punjab's history but I am okay..
Re: Re: Re: Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
Wat do u mean ?? Yaar bakwaas tu karega aur blame mere ko karega.. yaar ab badaa ho jaa.. Horlicks pee.. dimaag ki garmi thandi karney de waastey.. History comes secondary to basic sensible education that can lead to employment more than anything else.. I even don't know Punjab's history but I am okay..
Its not Bakwas, its a question, and your the one getting so completely defensive. If you dont like what im saying, then dont respond. I didnt say you were going to die without knowledge of history, but I think you have to know history to be a well rounded person. Im pretty sure this is encouraged by Islam even.
Like I said before, if you are going to spend your time in getting an education, then you might aswell get all you can out of it.
I for one have taken many history, art and social sciences classes despite the fact that im a Science major.
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
Its not Bakwas, its a question, and your the one getting so completely defensive. If you dont like what im saying, then dont respond. I didnt say you were going to die without knowledge of history, but I think you have to know history to be a well rounded person. Im pretty sure this is encouraged by Islam even.
Like I said before, if you are going to spend your time in getting an education, then you might aswell get all you can out of it.
I for one have taken many history, art and social sciences classes despite the fact that im a Science major.
I have seen ppl in Pak bothered too much about their origins etc. rather than anything else which is not good. I think we need to concentrates more on education and modern life rather than anything else.. I myself intially got educated from a madarsa but later earned a BS in Engg.. and know the differences.. history just creates conflicts cuz it is far more conflicting rather than convincing.. yaar tu inni jaldi naaraz ho jaanda hai... punjabi sher bann, putter.. relax and give urself time to react and learn....
Everybody needs to read balanced history. It doesn't help when we read East Pakistan left us because of conniving Hindus. Or when they don't know about positive issues like the womens movement or trade Unions or about famous people like Edhi and Abdus Salam. After all those who don't learn from history are condemned to repeat it...btw Mul not everybody on this board is neccessarily Punjabi and you don't want to be accused of being provincial do you;)
Re: Re: Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
\
Whats the problem with histroy? Its important.. Its that sorta thinking that keeps Pakistanis back. Why cant kids learn History as a supplement to their overall education? If u are going to school, then you should get the most out of it, and History is a part of that learning.
I learned computers and History at the same time smart a$$. So loser, perhaps its you who need a life.
"idiots that" - ask anyone thats correct english or not.. a plural and that don't go together, it should be idiots those.. - maybe u need to go back to school and brush your zeal on her majesty's lingua frana !! FYI, I did not study in school, I studied in a madarsa !! yaar tu tay inni jaldi naraaz ho jaandaa ai.. lassi piyaa kar !!
*Originally posted by Zakk: *
Everybody needs to read balanced history. It doesn't help when we read East Pakistan left us because of conniving Hindus. Or when they don't know about positive issues like the womens movement or trade Unions or about famous people like Edhi and Abdus Salam. After all those who don't learn from history are condemned to repeat it...btw Mul not everybody on this board is neccessarily Punjabi and you don't want to be accused of being provincial do you;)
O yaar ki karaan, mein tay punjabi dassdaan hi nahin ai mitraa tay naal dilaan di zubaan tay gallan kaarnaa padtaa ai wei.. zakk janab, hor dasso hun kithey rehndey ho ji ??
What is with you people?
NOT EVERYONE UNDERSTANDS PUNJABI!!!
Anyway, I hope every army general is made to read the real history of 1971.
Re: Re: Re: Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
"idiots that" - ask anyone thats correct english or not.. a plural and that don't go together, it should be idiots those.. - maybe u need to go back to school and brush your zeal on her majesty's lingua frana !! FYI, I did not study in school, I studied in a madarsa !! yaar tu tay inni jaldi naraaz ho jaandaa ai.. lassi piyaa kar !!
Tik hai Hazoor, Maaf kur dee Jiyai.
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
Tik hai Hazoor, Maaf kur dee Jiyai.
Na O kakey, aindi gallan nahin kaardey puter..tu tay mera praa ai wei !! saadey pind di shaan ai tu.. tere naal saadi jindree howegi.
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Pakistanis neglecting World History?
Na O kakey, aindi gallan nahin kaardey puter..tu tay mera praa ai wei !! saadey pind di shaan ai tu.. tere naal saadi jindree howegi.
lol :)
AA, few points:
It's not like the US and other western countries are going around teaching Islamic, Oriental, or African history to its youth, mind you. I pesonally have always been taught only US and western history right from elementary school all the way to high school. It's a very ethnocentric concept that these Americans portray rather than aiming at a geocentric one that takes into consideration the study of ALL cultures and histories regardless of how detailed or brief they might be.
Also, I think it would be awesome for Islamic countries such as Pakistan to teach its youth Pakistani, Islamic, AND western (and other) histories even if the intention is to give students an all-encompassing worldview which may not even perhaps benefit them in any way in the future. It can give the youth an incentive to expand their intellectual horizons over and beyond the narrow scope of what they're already more or less familiar with.
*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *
What is with you people?
NOT EVERYONE UNDERSTANDS PUNJABI!!!
Anyway, I hope every army general is made to read the real history of 1971.
Then better learn Punjabi.. I never showed disrespect towards your Urdu or whatever !!!
Mulz please explain why non Punjabis have to learn Punjabi?
you talking about History?! did you know that the books being taught at over seas Pakistani schools are themselves history. the urdu books haven't changed for over 20 years!
*Originally posted by Zakk: *
Mulz please explain why non Punjabis have to learn Punjabi?
I am not sayin every 1 has to.. but this gentleman - Imdad Ali doesnt seem to have liking for punjabi and punjabis.. what I am sayin' is that if some ppl can learn Spanish in the US to talk to the mexicans, why can't they learn Punjabis to talk and mix with more than 50% population of PAkistan ?? Personally, I never said anything bad to Urdu..
Then better learn Punjabi.. I never showed disrespect towards your Urdu or whatever !!!
Well, I never talked to you in Urdu, did I?
But lat time I checked, Punjabi is not a national language of Pakistan, so not everyone is supposed to know it!