Pakistanis, Money, Educated, Respect

Re: Pakistanis, Money, Educated, Respect

spoken like a true dumbass. Some village in hindia just lost its idiot. Right, all we care about is your country and how we can destroy it. (sarcasm off). But since you already admitted that your country is obsessed with movies, I could understand why you would think that. That’s all you guys make movies about nowadays.

i agree that indians on the whole are more respected than Pakistanis.

and irem, yaar kiss duniya main rehti ho? quite frankly,,, pakistan is one of the most badnaam qaums out there. get out of ur dream world where every pakistani thinks they are the best nation in this world and everyone respects them... no one does, trust me on this... it,ll take decades to change all this. and I quite agree with matsui, pakis tend to stay reserved and dont mix too much. when someone says ur adapting to the local environment to make better use of the system, they are not asking u to forget ur own culture or religion, but u can be more accepting to their customs, and hay talking to a non muslim doesnt make u a kafir...trust me.

Another big factor is religion. lets face it, muslims arent very popular with the rest of the world at the moment, and thats another factor that contributes to us having a bad name, and that again is our own fault. we preach something else, and practice something else... every do number kaam is done by muslims/pakis... frauds, dishonesty, lies, corruption etc. etc. ofcourse others do it too, but when u have so much negativity going around about pakis/muslims, ofcourse even little things are presented in such a masalaydaar way that it looks big. we need to get our acts together.. if u wana compete with others, work hard and try everything u possibly can to get urselves in a better position. around the end of dark ages, the west was busy getting their acts together, and us muslims were busy enjoying mujras and sharab and shair o shayeri, look at those later mughuls, buss shair o shayeri karwa lo, aur kissi cheez ka hosh nahin hay... now they(west) are the ones in power, and ur not, so start from scratch and build it up, which requires hard work and dedication. and why is everyone so fond of so called jehad? namaz rozay ki hosh nahin hay,,, jehad ka sab ko shouk hai! God never told u to go blow up a building strapped to ur body. or mount pick up vans carrying swords to go fight in afghanistan, when u cant even wipe ur ass properly. we need to get out of this jahalat, we first gotta bring ourselves to the level of others. education, technology and advancement. You will only be respected when u do something to be respected. adhering to ur so called culture aint gona do jack.

indians are way better than us in that regard, so ofcourse they are fast becoming a major world power. they work hard for it, and they deserve it. maybe when we can resolve our disputes regarding the length of the beard and start worrying about other things, like education and technology and development, we might get somewhere too.

ditto Kaka :k:

Someone paraphrase kaka bomb please. Too long.

MOVIES eh? so thats all you got from the thread.
anta, read around.

now now kaka sahib, no need to get testy. That wasn't the only thing that I got out of that dumbasses statement. However, i WAS amused at his pride in his countries obsession with movies so i thought I would just start with that point.

Adapting doesn’t mean changing your religion, changing your values, changing your traditions but adapting them to meet the environment you are in. You are no less amuslim if you meet your team after work to discuss the project you are working on in a bar because most of them are kaffir and drink. It makes you an idiot and place you as an outcast if you think the system is going to change for your anachronistic ways. In America we have a name for such people…LOSERS.

Indian communities boast regional cultural events, religious gatherings and collective nationalistic events…yet they have no problem joining 4th of July events, playing secret santa in the office, working in jobs that deal in Interest. Their Indianess isn’t diluted by such things and on the contrary their American experience gets enriched and they are able to cross pollinate their cultural affinities to their colleague, friends and life partners from other cultures.

Adapting doesn’t mean you have to “diss” your homeland. But you need to get your head out of your ass and realize you are not in your homeland and youare actually living in a place that allows you to be an individual instead of one of the herd.

what you said about 4 pages of discussion about going to the bar is very true matsui. It is disheartening to see so many dumbasses in this forum who acts like a paindoo still living in their little village in punjab.

I will give a stat. In a particular highschool in Queens, NY. The Pakistani population is around 30% of the 4000 total. The graduation rate of that school is around 52%. But for Pakistani kids it is aroun 25 or 28%...I forget. Bradford like ghettos are developing in the US because mentalities of teh immigrants from Pakistan are the same. (note , not teh educated and skilled labor..but that is quicly becoming a minority) SO while people like Irem who went to Stanford and have this idyllic picture of the fatherland and it's inhabitants and the diaspora in large...it needs a shot of reality and help from those who have succeeded. But even there there is little help. Most Pakistanis don;t believe in theri women working, going to school in this sector of society, their daughters are married off early back home, their sons loiter in Jackson heights in front of Kebab King.

The rich pakistanis turn a blind eye to this..they give monies to projects in Pakistan (which is noble) but unfortunately for this bravado around nationalism and Paki pride and all this bullsiht...there aer thousands who are on state assistance, who have brought the "punjab" moindset into places like Queens and brooklyn and the bronx. The community is too busy worrying about whether Bush in anti muslim but could care less that 90% of pakistani recent immigrant kids will fail the NYC regents examination because neither their parents nor the schools can deal with their limitations. The result...an underclass of Pakistanis in the US like the UK because "humari ghar ki auratein bachchey paalti hain..kids are a blessing form Allah..so let's have more...etc..etc.."

Sorry for being harsh..but I am too close to it.

matsui i am issuing a fitwa on you. I hereby charge matsui of slandering pakistan's name. who ever kills him gets a dozen gujrati kathi rolls. damn i love kathi rolls

LMAO!!! Irem come out of your dream world buddy. Even Saudis dont respect Pakistanis; what are you talking about yar. And kaka atom bomb I 100% agree with you.

I think Irem is just sheltered and naiive..while thos are good traits when you ae 12 or 13...after 18 it is a liability.

^ Her parents must have some good coverage, and I hope they are in good hands. This girl is so reckless. I would never wana ride a Vespa with her in the driving seat.

:jhanda:

While i agree with the fact that the pak community has a lot of bridges to build, it is interesting that the low educational level of places like bradford are cited. Paks were invited to the UK to work in mills and factories as cheap labour to do jobs that the english folk refused to do, subesquently their families came over. Their low educational acheivement is not an indictment of the communities but a national disgrace and calls into question an educational system that allows it to happen.

Many many reports have been published both in the UK and US that question the systems and structures that allow such inequity to exist.

Girls get married great, y not, better than high rates of single teenage mothers but how does that stop them from getting diplomas?

As for valuing the individual, surely that meants valuing their values and ideals, or is democracy and inclusion about 'we' will only accept 'them' or promote 'them' IF they do exactly what 'we' do? I would suggest revisiting ur diversity policy.

Atlanta - simmer down. If you can't handle the itch go scratch. Even idiots like you should know how big an industry movies are and how big a social influence they have in countries like India. But it's no surprise people like you don't get it.

You'll be quite surprised in that case if you look up how much Pakistani's spend on Indian movies, how much they respect Indian stars.

If ogling at dancing half naked Indian women is your idea of gaining respect then yep, the Indian stars won’t find more respect than they will in Pakistan.

Oh i get it allright. I know the social influence it has on your bharat mata. Who wouldn’t be influenced by spontaneous dance routine where the heroine changes her costume 5 times during one song. That is the primo grade one influence that a country’s youth should have. :hehe:

And why would I be surprised at your movie industries hand that has seemed to grab the pakistani populaces nuts and swinging it around. One just needs to look at “shor sharaba” to see topic after topics like these one, “shahrukh is cute.” “who would win in a fight between hrithik and salman.” “I just saw aishwariya at the mall, I think i can die happy now.” Ain’t no denying it, the mental rut that has spoiled indian minds have made it across the border. And lord knows, our country might lack a lot of things, but dumb a s s es isn’t one of them. So you need not worry. There are plenty of numbnuts in pakiland who dance to the tune of bollywood. But I would say this though, porn is a HUUUGGGEEE industry around the world, but that doesn’t make it art, just like the enormity of your movie industry doesn’t make it art either.

ahmadjee thats not culture, thats law of the country. culture is something else. ummm. like pakistani culture is Muslim culture, of hospitality, respecting elders, family values. things like that.
and also included are things like language, food and dress. music. art. things like that.

**nikhil25 **by most people who have ever dealt with indians and pakistanis at a personal level** :p

Atlantis** Pakistanis r NOT obsessed with India...more like the other way around :p

**Kaka** kis ne bhara ye sab tumharay damaagh mein? 
aisi koi baat nai hae. 
u r right we have faults. we do. but i dont agree with ur viewpoint.
Muslims R working hard. Muslims ARE also advancing.
aik baat bataaon. is wakt aap dekh lo America kee top universities mein KITNAY musalmaan haen. aur UK mein bhee.
being concerned about ur religion is a good thing. religion is everything. its our guide in life.

and as for adapting, geedar chala hans ki chaal apni bhi bhool gya. one should maintain their identity, warna insaan apni self respect kho deta hae.
Muslims are reserved but they are not unfriendly. In fact, they are very welcoming.
khair…maybe we have had different experiences…which have led to different viewpoints :slight_smile:

**Matsui** if i dont want to meet my team members in a bar to discuss a project coz i think its against my values, its not rude to put my foot down and its NOT part of adapting to give up your values and change to the point where you feel uncomfortable. 
maybe you think differently but I dont think there is anything loserish about this at all. 
to what extent can one go to "adapt" is a personal choice.

Pakistanis in America also participate in American life. this year we had many ppl run in the elections. we have doctors, lawyers, engineers, academics, politicians, businesspersons, artists, everyone…all sorts of Pakistanis in America…and they are indeed respected.
i personally don’t believe in the type of multiculturalism where a Muslim family needs to celebrate christmas or eat turkery on thanksgiving jus coz they are in america.
there is a difference between being part of a society as you are or changing yourself to fit the society where you lose who you are and i think the former approach is a more respectable one.
your second post: you can’t put all Pakistanis under one category. there are MANY types of pakistanis.
your third post: jus coz i might not agree with u, u dont have to call me “sheltered and naiive”…but if it makes u happy, u can go ahead :halo:

**Mindless** my experience tells me otherwise..,

**Madhanee** uncle lolz its OK firstly i don't ride a Vespa and secondly even if i did i wouldn't be offerring u a ride :p

o maasi ji, jao ja kay dobara parho meri post.

aap ko kissi nay nahin kaha k aap hans ki chaal challain. But dont cut urself from the society. no ones asking u to forget ur religion, ofcourse its a guide for u. laikin daarhi ki lambaayee pe larrnay kay bajaye koi kaam kioon nahin kartay? jo 3 banday aap nay top universities main parrhtay dekh liye uss ka ye matlab nahin ke they are progressing and u forget everything, thinking, oh jee sab set hay, muslims are doing really well and blah blah... dont be so naive... bahir ki duniya main niklo aur musalmaanon ki haalat dekho.. look at how badnaam they are,,, koi wajah hay to badnaam hain na??

u hang around 4 insaan kay bachay muslims and u think everythings good... trust me, its not. and unless we all learn frmo our mistakes, theres no way we are gona advance and move forward.

aap ko ye kiss nay keh diya ke aap hans ki chaalain challain? aur apna deen imaan bhool jayen? no one asked u to forget ur religion and faith... but as the more educated out of this qaum, its our responsibility to work hard and try and change the stone age thinking of the majority of people... What reasons are u giving God to help u when u urself arent willing to improve urselves? aik taraf musalmaan musalmaan , doosri taraf, chori chakari, corruption, baighairti, baihayayi.... ooper say sab safaid posh banay phirtay hain, aur under say utnay he kalay.

and dont get me wrong irem,, tumharay khayal main buss main bahir ja kay bahir ka ho ke reh gaya hoon, and my damagh is kharab and influenced by a gora mentality.. its totally not that,, if anything, when ur abroad,,, u know where ur country and religion stands and what people think about it... and u see so many faults that people living in the society cant see , cos its a norm for them... and it takes a lot of caring to be pointing out the mistakes and wanting to try n change things for the better. (and that doesnt mean forgetting religion). cos afterall, i,m pakistani and a muslim, and anything bad about my country or religion hurts me,, and when u analyze things,,, trust me,,, u see a lot of wrongs.

muslims are advancing? right... let the so called 'real' muslims take over pakistan, and i,ll see how much progress they make. why would they send their kids to the land of kufaar? hay,, even TV is haram,,, and internet,, tauba istaghfaar! and english is the language of the kufaar, no point learning it (my own cousin who is a teacher and a couble MA in islamiyat and history).

thats what i,m talking about,,, we need a change in the thinking...

talwaron say jangain nahin jeeti jaateen, akal say jeeti jaati hain, and that lacks in us.. totally.

Irem jee, maiN tou app ka madaah hooN, app meri Ustani.

You are right. The reason why Saudi women cover themselves from head to toe is also the law, not their culture. Maybe religion? Should they do exactly the same while studying in Stanford? YES!