Pakistanis living Abroad: Do you tell people you're Indian?

Re: Pakistanis living Abroad: Do you tell people you're Indian?

Ermm.. why would I do that? I'm sorry, but whats the greatness in being Indian which you cant have when you're Pakistani? No offense to anyone!

Re: Pakistanis living Abroad: Do you tell people you’re Indian?

Not really :(… BUt MeXican lookin Pakistani :blush: Oh yea Baby !

Disclaimer : never met one bfr

I have been mistaken for an Arab, Greek, Italian and even Spanish so even If I claim that I am an Indian, it would not work.

^^ Really? Is it your colorings or the hair texture? Perhaps the accent or the walk? :hmmm:

Nither i will say nor i am look like indian. mostly people have been mistaken me for Irianian

No, I tell them I'm Arab. Or South African. Or Chinese. Whatever mood I'm in. But never Indian.

I don’t know the reason. It all depends on the what perception that person has on what a particular ethnic group looks like. We, as Pakistanis have also on many occasions mades the same mistake. I remember trying to speak urdu to a persian person, only to realize he is not Pakistani and retreat in embarrassment.

To the OP, why did you delete your question? It's OK.

Anyway, we all know what you asked so just to give you my side of the story...given that I'm maried to a Pakistani, when we go to large Pakistani gatherings where you meet random people, people usually ask me where I am from in Pakistan...and I say Karachi [that's where the husband is from] unless of course I think I'm going to be spending some time with that person, because the next question they ask is "are you and bhai related?" to which my answer is no, after which a new color comes on their faces and questions such as "oh aap ki love marriage hui hai...kahan milay thay...yeh shaadi kaisey hui?" Which is understandable but you don't feel like going into details every time.

haha. sometimes i actually do. but then my dad was born in india, and i was born in the US. only my mom's was born in Pak so i do when i think it's convenient. hee hee!

Sometimes I can pull off being an eygptian too.

I have been mistaken as a mexican (so hilarious when pandra bachchay walay would come and start talking to me in spanish :hehe: ) and italian back in my slick hair days. I guess my accent could give it away, but never an indian. In fact, back in the good ole days, this interviewer won’t believe me that I was pakistani saying that aren’t pakistanis short and darker? :rotfl:

well i live in Canada.....i never told tht im indian......but in my fimly my mother side is half indian....so ya....but even my mom sayz tht we are pakistani so i stand on tht.....bcoz if we feel less in saying tht i am pakistani than.....inn my case i wont have tht much self respect to myself even so ya......

Never
Pagal houn Bawakoof nahen :hoonh:
:sunnyboy:

please stomp on the troll.

If people ask where I am from, I say Pakistan. But if they ask if I am from India, I say "Yes. Well, Pakistan."

I don't see much of a difference between the two. There is a political difference and well, I am a Pakistani citizen. But other than that, the culture is the same, so it doesn't matter.

Mostly non-desis ask to get an idea of the culture. Actually, when desis ask, I tell them it's Pakistan.

:rotfl: , and someone’s actually bought that?!

everytime I am doing something lame and someone asks me about my background I tell them I am indian. I mean why spoil pakistan's image.

like that time we had strippers over for a bachelor party at one dude's apartment, and then we did not really tip them, to a point they had to explain we had to tip them and we gave barely any, and they asked where we were from, we were all indian.

also in college days when trying to use expired coupons at some fastfood joint, and they asked where we were from....you guessed it, India.

khi khi khi khi

^Reminds me of a Sikh being upset with Pakistani in movie "Khuda Ke Liye" :D

I always tell people we are Pakistani. Ammi was born in Pakistan. Abbu was born in India but grew up in Pakistan. Most relatives are/were settled in Pakistan. Some people have said "oh same thing, India Pakistan" but I correct them.

It bothers me because MIL actually told me she intentionally DOESN'T say Pakistan because of it's bad rep in the news and stuff. I actually found that very upsetting. But they lived in England mostly and only recently came to the US (and the experience of desis in the UK is very different). My inlaws are more the type to try to blend in with the Western style as well as refer to their own activities as "ethnic." FIL was born and raised in Bombay. MIL was born in India but grew up in Pakistan.

no i never tell them i am an Indian. and when they (goras and indians) do say "oh you are from India, or when do u go back to ur country India for holidays?" so i just simply tell them saying that i am from Pakistan.

:biggthumb: