germany is one of the places i am considering applying to for masters…germany and uk and maybe canada…i dont think i will apply to the usa for masters but i mightttttt…havent decided yet…got
relatives in uk n canada and brother is in germany…so thas y…
dont think i will apply to usa coz they r becoming too @#%$#^&@#$#@%$^%& strict with muslims… Allah janta hae agay kya ho…but usa unis R good so thats why havent decided yet…
ANyyyYWAYssssS…the thing is…
my number one choice [right now..] is germany coz my brother is there…but theres one
prob w/ germany tho…where bhai is, the pakistani community is just all
guy students…there aren’t any pakistani or muslim girls there…maybe
like one or two but thats abt it…so i have a feeling i’ma get really
lonely there as although my brother will be there i won’t have any friends
to hang out with…
so i’ll still apply to germany but maybe in another city where there is
somewhat of a pakistani female community…
if anyone has any experience in germany would you happen to know which
places have some kind of pakistani or even muslim female population in their
colleges…??
ummm btw mods i thought this was the most appropriate forum for it but i might be wrong so if u think this post is more suited to some other forum like general etc plz move it :)
seeker i can't but i'll take some quick courses before i go if i go there...waisay my brother can't speak german either and he's doing okay alhamdulillah so its not that big of a factor i guess..
*Originally posted by irem: *
seeker i can't but i'll take some quick courses before i go if i go there...waisay my brother can't speak german either and he's doing okay alhamdulillah so its not that big of a factor i guess..
y tho?
I think, that if so far you have done your studies in america, in the english language then you should stick to that. There is no point in starting over in a new language if not really necessary for you, coz then you would need more than just 2 years to get your masters done in germany considering that you will have to learn german first. I think your goal should be completing studies as quick as possible, and joining the field of your profession, BUT you can allways go to germany for further studies after having your masters done in us or canada, to be on the save side.
Depends, if you want to work abroad,america is most probably the best for you. As they have more "brand name" univs. Canada also has a few, but admission is hard. From the perspective of living, Canada is a better choice hands down. If you've visited America and Canada from another country, you'll feel the difference the moment you cross the border. Canadians are kinder and more tolerant than Americans.
getting a degree from germany will isolate you from rest of the world. the only place where it would be recognized or appreciated would be germany.
its better to get done with ur education in the u.s as they tend to enjoy a good repute all over the world. germany would be a good place to work after u are finished with ur education.
b/w there are several uni's in germany which offer instruction in english. but there is no harm in learning another which ofcourse would be time consuming and would require a lot of effort.
if you r looking for female community then move to berlin/frankfurt /dusseldorf
but if you want femaleswho r student then its quite rare
i live in berlin.......somebody told me that here r more than thousand pakistanis......but i have no friend until now ....(after 3 yrs)
there r some reasons
i'm living in the area where there is no pakistani family around me......
i attended a meelad here so had a chance to meet many but unfortunately i found out that they r not the type of company i want ...(no offence........its a fact that you can't always get a long with everybody)
i'm a shy n reserve type of person
i have a really busy routine most of the times so can't afford to have a social circle
plus......as far asa i remember u r related to IT......n right now IT students r in crisis..........there are NO jobs
but if you wanna come let me know........i have a feeling that you can be a friend(but if you stop watching movies:) )
After attending your current school, going to any other country would be a waste. Stick around in Amreeka if you want to do a Masters. If you really want to leave then go to Britain.
You should continue your masters at your current school just because that is where real science in your field is happening these days. Or go to MIT! dont throw away the potential of getting a great degree with world repute for the chance to be outside of america. It is a hard balance but you should realize that no one quite does it like its done here.
if there is no way you would stay in the US then you should think about Waterloo or Calgary in Canada or Imperial College in London.
It all really depends on what you want to do with your degree but realize that if you are going to go back to Pakistan to work, degrees from your current school would help you move Pakistan's ecomony forward much more then would a degree in German.
however if the plan is to go back and get married then you can probably go to any school and have a great time as well as learn a bit more.
*Originally posted by hskhan: *
Depends, if you want to work abroad,america is most probably the best for you. As they have more "brand name" univs. Canada also has a few, but admission is hard. From the perspective of living, Canada is a better choice hands down. If you've visited America and Canada from another country, you'll feel the difference the moment you cross the border. Canadians are kinder and more tolerant than Americans.
I second that. I've spent a few weeks in the US and 3 days in Canada. Those 3 days were simply wonderful. People in Canada really are much nicer and down to earth, while in the US everything seemed just too hectic for me.
everyone is telling me to stay in america…hmmmm…apart from the fact that i did my undergrad away from family and thats was heckaaa toughhh so now it would be nice to do grad school near somewhere where i have family before heading back to pak…frankly tho i really don’t think its wise to stay in america and i’ve talked to lots of ppl and the idea i get is that the ins is gonna get stricter and stricter and aagay pata naheen kya ho…ghulaamon kee zindagi hoti ja rhi hae musalamaanon kee and they don’t have any rights in this country anymore its really sickening…i don’t wana be half done with my grad degree and then the usa decides to make some new rules aur meri degree beech mein hi reh jayay…i know its unlikely but its very possible…not even exaggerrating…the govt really has gone crazy in this country…
Sadia baji - bhai ne bhee german naheen seekhi thee and he’s studying in germany now, doing his masters, personally language issue kee mere lyay khayr hae…coz the advantages r higher k i’ll be near my brother toh for that i’ll try to learn german agar zaroorar paree toh inshallah
hskhan - hmmmm never been to canada lekin inshallah will visit if i decide to go to grad school there coz i’ve got relatives there waisay frankly speaking, i have found americans to be very nice, but then again my experience is limited to the americans in my uni and around here and the area i’m at is known to be very open and tolerant and nice is lyay Allah ka ehsaan raha hae…
heart beat - long time no see…sprinkles jaadoo ka powder anyways, hmmmm…i’ve discussed this with some ppl and i don’t think that getting a degree from germany is going to isolate me from the rest of the world…why do u think so tho? it really depends on how i go abt doing things is what i have gathered after speaking to ppl…
Afia - wow nice to meet you inshallah agar kabhee germany ka chakkar laga i will definitely contact u btw mein toh koi khaas movies naheen dekhti…ab toh bohot hi kam koi ikka dukka indian…y did u get that impression that i do?
hmcq - chaar saal mushkil se nikalay hein undergrad ke CS mein ab MIT mein ja ke mujhay marna naheen hae :biggrin: waisay bhee i decided i am not going to get my masters in CS but something more humanities or social sciences based…
as for what i plan to do…sighz…i wishhhhhhhhhhhhhh i knewwwww
Umer bhai - u shud visit the bay area in california next time the ppl here are nice mere experience ke mutabik toh atleast
mad-scientist - thanks so much btw kahin aisa toh naheen k u will convince me to forget about college and start working for pantene and pringles wali company
HMCQ: Why is it that you brandish MIT and like as it is a piece of cake for any avg. student to get into? I am saying this because it sets false expectations for kids who come here for advice and are bombarded with Tier-1 school info as the only resort regardless of their pedigree.
Irem, stay in the US as Saadia said. Even if you go to Okalooka engineering college, your life would be better here than in Germany. Just ask the many german students who come here to study.
I would like to know what the german students say when they come to study in the US ? As far as I know that universities in USA are great but the ones in Germany are not bad either. Maybe different.
Irem, I still believe that you should complete your studies in US. Ask someone who did hers first in english and 'had' to do it in German language, it ain't a piece of cake to learn another language from the beginning and completing education in that language dear. Is your brother learning in german or english ?
Chaltahai uncle, welcome back from india
i feel like i got a good degree in my undergrad [am graduating this yr inshallah] and now for grad school i don’t need to run after a great degree and a big name. want to take it easy and relax a little bit maybe now. undergrad was great Allah ka shukar hae but staying away from family was very tough for me and can’t imagine putting myself in another two yrs of rigorous work. khayr these r just my thoughts now, might change my mind, coz then i also feel like i am not utilizing myself to the max
lekin i dont want to blindly continue on some path just because i have taken it till now..want to stop and think carefully abt what i really want next in life and what i shud do to achieve that…
but i know that i want to be close to family for grad school, and my brother lives in germany. so i’m sure my life there will be better even if its cold and the material facilities aren’t as great as America. Besides, the way America is treating Muslims now, like second class citizens with no rights, and mein toh international student from Pakistan hoon oopar se, i am thinking do i really want to stay in this country for grad school…even if the schools r great…