Pakistanis abroad are under watch 24 hours and yet they give us lectur

Pakistanis due to their association with Arabs are under watch 24 hours. Funny how many of them love to give us lectures on Freedom of speech and other slogans.

First they should fix their own house if they have any “guts”.

Pakistan army officers and Jawans zindabaad,

Pakistan Paindabaad.

Re: Pakistanis abroad are under watch 24 hours and yet they give us lectures on freed

huh?

Re: Pakistanis abroad are under watch 24 hours and yet they give us lectures on freed

no antiobl if they have "guts" then they should come back to Pakistan and support lawyers and students against Musharraf. As them whether they would like to go to Pakistan and then they would reply "Nahin jee Halaat ..............". Flooding on Gupshup is an easiest thing to do in the world.

AOBL where do you live?

Yeap.

Right here my friend. Right in my homeland Pakistan Paindabaad.

antiOBL, I agree with you that extremist needs to be wiped out fully from Pakistan and since the "clergy" have misbehaved themselves so much, they need to be under complete control by the government, and strict regulations need to be placed on mosques and madrassas.

But I disagree with spending most of your manpower on manhandling the educated class. Instead, the people of Pakistan need to turn around and beat the crap out of the very police that is beating citizens up on their own streets. Send them back to their villages and get a police force that is well trained and educated.

The fact of the matter is that we can discuss things online all we want. The only people who have the real power to make a change are those of you living in Pakistan. Those of us outside can do very little other than lobby and protest, and our governments will still do what's best for national interest, not the interest of Pakistani expats.

You guys have the real power to make a change, so...why don't you?

PCG I can't believe my eyes to read that you are suggesting anarchy to be spread in Pakistan.

95% of educated elite are not on the streets acting like hooligans. They instead are busy developing Pakistan.

Only a tiny minority is serving as the hands and feet of Shaitan aka Ben Laden.

You say "We should beat the crap" out of our law-enforcement officers. Is that right?

Do you even know what happens in your Western countries when you lay hands on a law-enforcement officer?

Our police officers are doing their job by getting rid of these nashukra, and anarchist few who are hell bent on creating hell in our beautiful country.

Our target is not Pakistan army or President Musharraf. Our worries are about the lawlessness created by Ben Laden and his chamcha Maulvis.

Too bad that Ben Laden supporters aka ba-bab-black sheep liers are not letting us deal with these wahabi terror.

I don't think GEO and the other tv channels are getting paid by OBL. I don't think Asma Jehangir and other lawyers of her league are OBL-agents. Many of these people do not want to see extremism spread in Pakistan, but what's the cost? Is the cost to limit all freedom of people having a voice in the affairs of their government? May I remind you that a government exists because of a covenant among everyone in the nation. If you are part of the nation, you agree to the covenant. If you don't - you leave and go somewhere else. Therefore, people have a right to voice their opinions, just like you are voicing your opinion on this board.

Having said that, in this particular situation in Pakistan's history, I do support the firing of CJ, and his partners. They were all kameenay chor.

I do not agree with GEO being banned and other TV channels being off air. I do agree they need to be regulated, but this was not the way to do it. The way to do it was through negotiations and by passing laws. You want to show your channel in Pakistan? Fine, but you need to agree not to allow extremists on air to talk their bakhwaas like you did for Lal Masjid. Otherwise, the channels should have full right to criticize the government's actions. Otherwise, how will the gov't act? I fully believe that part of the reason why there's been so much progress in Pakistan recently is because the media was free. People were aware of what was going on in their own cities and villages, and it gave them a voice. And many in the government were actually listening.

That's healthy. I hope we return to that.

^^^^^ over the last few months, over a hundred people have been killed in sectarian violence started by jehadis in tribal regions like tank and dera ismail khan. yet neither any of the tv channels nor human rights organisation have highlighted the killing of innocent shias by the same jehadis who bought to you the lal masjid standoff. since media largely supports jehadis and therefore is against govt crackdown of jehadis, media does not highlight atrocities committed by jehadis such as killing of shias and those leaders who oppose jehadi agenda. the strategy followed by pak media is the carbon copy of u.s. media coverage of palestinian conflict. atrocities committed by israelis are completely ignored net result being that when palestinians respond to israeli actions, u.s. public sees palestinians as villans because u.s. awam is completely unaware of the brutal nature of israeli regime. similarly in pak, since awam is unaware of brutal nature of jehadis, it views them as victims when govt launches crackdown.

as for human rights organisations, they are in the jaib of foreigners - goras or indians. goal of the human rights organisations is to weaken the pakistani state so that foreigners can gain more influence in pak. thus anytime anything bad happens in pak, hr organisations hold govt responsible to make the govt look weak and incompetent which creates the impression that pakistanis are incapable of running a country. for example, when lal masjid standoff took place, asma jehangir accused pak govt of supporting jehadis. and when army attacked lal masjid, asma jehangir accused pak army of committing war crimes and she did this in india - a country whose army has killed over a 100k kashmiris and yet asma jehangir has never raised kashmir in intl forums.

actions of media and hr organisation have put govt in a bind. pak awam views jehadis as saints because in the eyes of awam, anyone who associates with islam cannot do anything wrong. the only way to change the perception of awam is to paint true nature of jehadi evil which wont happen when the media presents a one sided picture. govt is well within its rights to get the media to follow a code of conduct much in the same manner that govt licenses real estate companies because people die when real estate agencies are run by chors who dont care about public safety. media's actions are endangering pakistani lives and govt can do anything it wants when it comes to public safety including controlling the media.

btw on the subject of this thread, AOBL is right on the money. if pakistanis start explding bombs in the u.s. with the frequency seen in pak, u.s. will ignore all the rights of pakistani immigrants and treat pak them worse than animals.

here is the latest development on racial profiling. note that unlike in pak, there have been 0 incidents in the u.s. since 9/11 and yet we se this. imagine if pak started profiling hindus of christians this way:

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/09/us/09muslim.html?_r=2&oref=slogin&ref=us&pagewanted=print&oref=slogin

A plan by the counterterrorism bureau of the Los Angeles Police Department to create a map detailing the Muslim communities in that city, an effort described as a step toward thwarting radicalization, has angered civil rights groups, which say it is no better than racial profiling.

Racism and racial profiling aside there are many other positives about living in the West

You still enjoy more rights as a human being. For instance the NHS in Britain is an excellent example of a welfare system whereby you get treated the same way regardless of whether you are White British or an immigrant, whether you are rich or poor, whether your father is a big shot or not. Banks will give you mortgage etc. if you meet their basic requirements, have a secure job, good credit history etc. regardless of whether or not you have paawa. Schools, colleges and universities by and large operate on merit system. The state helps you if you genuinely are unable to work (I believe we had such a system under Hazrat Umar) Whereas in Pakistan you have to know someone even to get genuine and legal things done.

Pakistanis abroad enjoy much better rights than they do in Pakistan. Even if you are racially profiled, you will not be "missing" for years like it can happen to you in Pakistan.

Yeap Icono! you got a point there.

However if you grow a foot long beard, start associating with the likes of Mosawi or Padilla, you will be "missing" pronto! And you can bet your behind on it.

We in Pakistan do not catch the good citizens, only the enemies of state become the target. BTW West doesn't feed halwa to the likes of Mullah Bukri either. They are either thrown out of the country or simply disappear.

And so do most of us in Pakistan. We don't commit anti-state activities, and do not disrespect our law enforcement officers. And the result is pretty darned good.

You would be kidding me if you start comparing the financial affluence of the West with that of Pakistan.

But I tell you one thing son!.

When we go to work in the morning, no camera moves with every step we take.

Nobody checks our lunch box for "suspicious" stuff, while the likes of you do "Yes Sir", "Sorry Sir" to a gora sahib.

So my hats off to your NHS, or BHS, DHS. Get sick and get free medicine, but make sure you don't get treated by those suicider docs, they may burn your behind while burning theirs.

Bhai again you are misinformed. There is no VVIP culture here unlike in Pakistan and I have never said (or had to say) 'Yes Sir' to anyone. That is very true of life in Pakistan. Here you call people by Mr so and so and in most instances just by their first name.

And no one has ever checked my lunch box for sure.

VVIP culture? You know some Pakistanis get some starter jobs and they feel they now really really truly understand the West.

I doubt that you have reached the status of VVIP, so ask some senior Pakistani if he is a member of a premier country club. He will tell you all about the culture of VVIPs and in fact VVVVVVIPs.

So best wishes for your stay in the West, but do not look down at us. We have it pretty good as well and "in our own country". OK!

If you have a foot long beard or not as longas you have citizenship, your rights will be respected, unless you come on a boat and claim to be a gay who's rights are being violated in Pakistan, in which case you will have your behind thrown in confinement.

And keep taht crap of not catching good citizens in Pakistan. Even a Hawaldar can put antiobl in his police van and do whatever he likes.

^^ I think you didn't understand, but most of the sane Pakistani Americans do understand the price of growing foot long beard and associating with Arabs.

Anwho! you got my point hopefully otherwise ask someone who knows the truly life in the US and UK these days.

Best wishes with the foot long beard.

BhaiJaan, we have lived and practiced in UK, i know the situation very well.

Then you should know it very well that "you are under watch" because of your skin color, ethnicity, religion, and your perceived association with Arabic terror.

It doesn't matter if someone makes 50 pounds selling aloos, vs. what he made 1/50th of that in Pakistan doing the same job.

It is just that you are under "watch" and that is the whole point of this thread.

Yep, you may be under watch but no 2 bit Thanedar will walk pto you and slap you on your face if you happen to be a poor Taxi driver.