Since my childhood, I’ve always loved travelling on trains. It’s my favorite mode of travelling from city to city and prefers it over plane or car journey. Even if the train gets late several hours, I never get bored. Once I traveled from Karachi to Havelian on Chenab Express which took about 40 hours and it was longest and very exciting journey I ever had.
Here I’m sharing several pictures of Pakistani trains which I’ve taken myself on different journeys in the last few years.
No.. But if you plan to go Gilgit then you can do Lahore to Rawalpindi on train.. Thats what I did last year when I was going to Gilgit. Or if going to Naran, you can go to Havelian by train. Havelian is very near to Abbottabad.
ya i know about havelain .......but that route is very far .......v came back from nathia gali thorugh abbotabad than havelian than motor way n it was very long distance
from the early 80's and till about mid 90's, every summer i went for a few weeks to either Lahore or Rawalpindi, and then onwards to Murree / Abottabad / Kaghan / Gilgit via bus
Those train journeys have been etched into memory for ever. I can totally relate to the pictures posted above. Going up, the trains usually arrived at Khanewal in the early hours of the morning and thats when we would get down to the platform, wash on the nalka, and then have a chai cake ka naashta :D - the rest of the journey to Lahore would be spent either standing or sitting on the doorsteps
ya i know about havelain .......but that route is very far .......v came back from nathia gali thorugh abbotabad than havelian than motor way n it was very long distance
Yaar that's the fun part. You would enjoy it.
Lovely!
from the early 80's and till about mid 90's, every summer i went for a few weeks to either Lahore or Rawalpindi, and then onwards to Murree / Abottabad / Kaghan / Gilgit via bus
Those train journeys have been etched into memory for ever. I can totally relate to the pictures posted above. Going up, the trains usually arrived at Khanewal in the early hours of the morning and thats when we would get down to the platform, wash on the nalka, and then have a chai cake ka naashta :D - the rest of the journey to Lahore would be spent either standing or sitting on the doorsteps
Oh man --- I miss Pakistani trains :(
Kia baat hai.. Very nice comment.. Khanewal kee baat hee alag hai.. especially on winter mornings.. Love the garam aanday!! lolz
I also love travelling on doorsteps of train.. pure fun.. but everyone else plz dont try it.. it's dangerous ;)
another vision I have is of the train in the dark of the night, rushing through the fields and you would see an occasional light flickering in some Kissan’s little house, and smoke coming from the wooden stove. Now we are tired, we are hungry, and we are sitting like faqeers in front of the toilet, and near the door. We are smoking (sharing) a cigarette and looking at those flickering lights far away where some people are having a hot meal and afterwards they are going to sleep peacefully in their beds - and we have none of that luxury, and have a long night ahead of us - till we reach khanewal :no:
That trip to Pindi and the train stopped for some technical reasons, for well over an hour at Chaklala and our group of friends got down and strolled around that lovely station
The trip to Quetta in January, and stopping early morning at Kolpur and having a snowball fight at the platform
A stop over at Multan, during the journey from Karachi to Faisalabad. Arrival in Multan late morning, during July. The next train onwards departed at 4:00, and the time spent at the station was like sitting at the doorsteps of hell. We bought a jug from a stall and then spent about 2 hours bathing on the nalka located in a far corner of the station. When we finally went inside our train at around 3:30, the inside was like an oven and we could barely touch anything - It cooled down later in the evening when the sun went down.
My father is a retired Govt Employee so we lived at different cities. we use to go to Behra (our village near Sargodha ) via Train . From Multan then later on from Peshawar. .
From Peshawar we always took Chanab Express. and a chage of trains from Malakwal. Such nice memories. I use to fight for Window seat. My siblings always made fun of me k raat main kia deikhay ga . . wow . . . great times
Zulfi sahab.. What have you reminded me.. wah.. I used to do the exactly same when I was a kid. Fight for the window seat hehe.. Now I'm 24 but I still prefer the window seat :D If I'm traveling alone and I don't get a window seat, I'd simply exchange the passage seat from someone and give them my berth...lol.. I'm that much crazy :D