Pakistani team arrives in India

Re: Pakistani team arrives in India

God Bless Pakistan and God Bless Our ‘Cricketers’ :jhanda: Even though I have no hopes for a test series victory, but I hope we will fight till the 5th day of each test match and save some pride with atleast one draw or even WIN.

^ :jhanda:

2 test victories will be :yummy:

-------x–st----j—u—d—n-------

I thought you were smarter than this,:blush::k: but I’l say it,

Shabir / Shoaib Akhter :bash:

It should have been :mocking: The bollywood anti-pak movies hardened crowd will prove my point,:bukbuk::k: “app kay baal dhoop mai sfaid hoye hain” j/k lol

Our "Pace" battery comprises of Shoaib and Sami. Shabbir is not much pacier, more of a LnL guy with swing control on both sides. I guess you are only missing Shoaib Akhtar badly, and that is all. Too bad, you'll have to live with it for sometime or don't waste your time on this series :p

:rocketup: :mocking:

Great now you’r denying that Shabir is an openning bowler, A pace bowler, Medium - Fast bowler,:smack2:

Captaan sahib ,When you talk about pace attack - you don’t jump on the “Comparison” scale, LOL only if we have patience to read what the other guy is talking about,

Shoaib Akhter,will not play for Pakistan , You don’t have to worry about him now, :wink:

GOOD LUCK boeyz (boys)

If they are able to play with positive frame of mind, certainly there will be few upsets.

Good luck to India! In the last one year, this Pakistani team has come a long way and have proved they have spirit (thankfully for us, not too consistently); During the same period the highly talented Indian team fro some reason has not won matches! Come on Ganguly and gang! Get your act together. You cannot rest on past laurels!

Who is denying Shabbir’s being a lethal bowler? All I said was that his bowling doesn’t have as much pace as Shoaib’s or Sami’s, but being Shoaib’s fan perhaps you equate lethal with speed, I don’t. I actually put Shabbir ahead of Sami, even Rana and Rao are better than Sami in IMHO. When you talk about pace, if you don’t want to jump to comparison scale, fine, but still Shabbir doesn’t bowl at 160 or 150km/hr speeds. He doesn’t need that much speed anyway.

I’m glad in a way that he is not in the team.

Chaloo bhayee lerhnaa band karoo and say GOOD LUCK To PAKISTAN :jhanda:

:bhangra:

THats what I am saying man… :jhanda:

Even thrilling draws are exciting: Woolmer
IANS
New Delhi, February 28

Pakistani cricket coach Bob Woolmer is hoping for an exciting and close Test series and would not even mind thrilling draws.

“Hopefully, we will have good Test wickets that would last five days,” said Woolmer at his first press conference after he landed here with a 16-member squad on Monday.

“Even good draws are exciting. All in all, I hope the surfaces will be sporting,” said the South African-born former England Test player.

Pitches in India recently came in for a lot of criticism, especially during the Australian tour last year, because of their heavy assistance to spinners.

Woolmer, who played 19 Tests and nine One-Day Internationals (ODIs) in 1970s, largely kept silent as the questions were mostly addressed to captain Inzamam-ul-Haq.

Woolmer, who had earlier visited India with the Hansie Cronje’s South African team as coach in 1996, said he was excited about the series.

“I am looking forward to the series tremendously,” he said with a smile.

Woolmer, who had earlier coached South Africa and also had a coaching stint with the International Cricket Council, was, however, the first from the Pakistani side to arrive in the hall for the press conference - a good 15 minutes before Inzamam, manager Salim Altaf and vice-captain Younis Khan.

Source: http://www.htcricket.com/htcricket/7679_1261694,001600980007.htm

**Sony bids $40 million for Indo-Pak series… **

(28 February 2005 10:00 pm)

MUMBAI: Sony Entertainment Television (SET) has made a composite bid of $40 million to get the satellite TV telecast rights of the upcoming India-Pakistan cricket series, indicating a high price broadcasters are willing to pay to control cricket programming.

Sony’s offer to BCCI includes air time sales and telecast rights for India and international territories. The Madras High Court has already mandated the telecast feed of the matches to pubcaster Prasar Bharati, but kept all the other rights including air time sales and production contract with the BCCI to decide.

According to a source, Sony has made a three-tier bid, offering the cricket board different options for a deal.

As an alternate offer, Sony has bid $26 million for the international and India satellite TV rights. As a third option, Sony has made a bid of $10 million for international telecast rights, the source says.

“We have made different bids so that the board can weigh its options and take a decision accordingly. The only thing we have stayed out of is bidding for just the production rights,” the source adds.

Several broadcasters and sports marketing agencies have evinced strong interest in the India-Pakistan series. Nimbus Communications had bid in the range of $33-45 million, depending upon the “quality of coverage, type of the matches and swiftness in decision making.” This includes air time sales, sale of international rights and TV production for the series.

**Dubai-based Ten Sports, Pakistan-based broadcast company ARY Digital and sports marketing firm TWI have also bid for the rights, according to industry sources. **

http://www.indiantelevision.com/headlines/y2k5/feb/feb270.htm

Imran urges Pakistan to put up fight in India

Samiul Hasan | February 28, 2005 12:27 IST

Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan has urged the India-bound Pakistan team to be positive and aggressive while Board Chairman Shaharyar Khan advised the players to win the Indian hearts with their conduct and behaviour.

“My team won in 1986 because we played positive and aggressive cricket. We were not scared of losing. I am sure if you play with same zeal, dedication and commitment, success will be in your feet,” Imran told the squad during a pep talk in Lahore on Sunday evening.

The Pakistan team leaves for New Delhi this afternoon on a 50-day tour. It will be their first Test tour of India in six years and seventh since 1952-53.

http://in.rediff.com/cricket/2005/feb/28imran.htm

---------x-----st----j—u—d—n-----------

The best improviser (player) is the one who mixes up his variations and carries him self intelligently. In my book ‘Fast’ is a ‘convenience’ and not a ‘lethal skill’ I never use this word in my posts.
Your presumption about me is yet WRONG again like other things.

About Shoaib,since you all ‘hate’ him so much, try to come out of your cocoons and shed the hate ways and act like knowledgeable folks, grasp the basics and ‘changing ways’ of the game and share your thoughts. May be you having a point to add or highlight that I may have missed. After all we folks are no ‘bigger cricketers’ than Imran-Akram-Rashid-Sarfraz who have opinionated that ‘his’ absence can undermine Pakistan’s ‘Pace attack bowling’

With this I conclude my deliberation on Shoaib and Pakistan team players.

My Prayers are with Pakistan :jhanda:

Inshalla :dhimpak:
they wiill kick some India’z behind :jhanda:

b/w lagta hai Pakistan wont get the Practice match!

Pakistan unhappy with travel arrangements in India

DHARAMSALA, India (Reuters) - The Pakistan cricket team are concerned that their travel arrangements could hinder their preparation for next week’s first test against India.

The players were forced to take turns to board a small plane out of New Delhi on Tuesday because the Himalayan town of Dharamsala, the venue for their opening three-day warmup match, only has a small airstrip.

Team manager Salim Altaf said the arrangements could affect their build-up for the first test starting in Mohali on March 8.

“We realise the problem is one of logistics,” Altaf told reporters. “There is some concern.”

“If we have to go back the same way we came, in two flights, then we may not be able to practice on Sunday. We will get only one day’s nets in Mohali.”

Altaf said the Pakistan management would ask the Indian cricket board to arrange to take the team to Mohali earlier than scheduled to allow some extra practice.

Having arrived in Dharamsala, the players were then frustrated by an afternoon drizzle which ruled out any nets ahead of the game against the Cricket Board President’s XI starting on Thursday.

Pakistan, who have not played a test series in India since 1999, are scheduled to play three tests and six one-day internationals.

Bilateral cricket between the two teams had been infrequent for the past several years owing to political tension between the two Asian neighbours.

The Indian government banned all bilateral cricket with Pakistan in April 2000 due to tension. They lifted the ban in late 2003 and the Indian team made a successful tour of Pakistan last year, their first test series there for over 14 years.

Weather frustrates Pakistan

Cricinfo staff

March 1, 2005

Inzamam: welcomed to Dharamshala © Getty Images

Bad weather is hampering Pakistan’s build-up to their series against India and is threatening to leave them with very little practice ahead of the opening Test on March 8 in Mohali. They are due to start a three-day match against a Board President’s XI in Dharamshala on Wednesday but their Tuesday practice session was lost to the weather and the forecast is not set to improve before the weekend.

The Pakistan squad arrived in New Delhi on Monday and then transferred to Dharamshala, which has been chosen as the warm-up venue because of its cooler climate but that decision now looks like backfiring. There was also snowfall in the surrounding areas of Himachal Pradesh. Pakistan manager Salim Altaf told the AFP news agency, “We are here to play and do not want to go into the Test series short of match practice. I wish the rain would go away.”

The Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association are organising their first international match and have been frustrated by the onset of the poor weather. President Anurag Thakur said, “It is sad. We are providing some of the best facilities in the country but we are helpless before nature. It is raining in Mohali also. So even there it would have been difficult to practise. You can never predict the weather in Himachal Pradesh, everyone is keeping their fingers crossed.”

© Cricinfo
http://aus.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/MAR/192956_INDPAK2004-05_01MAR2005.html

why there are so many press confrences hain :hoonh: did Pakistani team went there for confrences or to kick some behind of India?

there should be one after you land in the country and then only after the test matches and each after 1-day match :smack2:

haad ho gai yaar, but one thing is true they all looked good mashalla
and hope they will perform to the same measure on the field Inshalla!

yaar tumhe to pata hai - yeh india pakistan series is veru high profile so there will be a lot of press coneferences- we havent played there since 1999- thats alo one of the reasons of this type of media coverage - well lets just hope they talk less and kick some butt

Yea I hope so but I hope I am wrong coz I followed the article via newspapers and cricinfo

Inzi bhai and Woolmer bragged alot before the start of the Kangrooland series and later being a true diplomat they said its a strong team, true champs blah!

that is the last thing i want them to do here! :o