Its good that Shabbir has the opportunity to get in form by playing domestic cricket. He will regain confidence about his performance and his action. It was a mistake last time when he was directly thrown into international cricket after he got his action corrected.
We have been bashing Sami for a long time now, and the reason is that we want to see Pakistan win as many games as possible and play the best 11 team thats available in the country. So its not personal just based on stats.
There was a very good article on cricinfo.com about 3 months ago where either Osman Samiduddin or Kamran Abbassi wrote about the stats of internatianal cricketers with at least 25 test matches and amongst the bowlers internationally Sami had the worst average. Agit Agarkar was second to Sami on that list.
Let's spare our debate over the many reasons why Mohammad Sami should be hand-fed each time with a silver spoon. I would love to stand on the opposite side of the table on this one.
It is beyond my imagination; why has Sami cut down on his pace so much? He can barely touch anything over 85 now. I can understand the pace situation that has been closely monitored over the years, but he doesn't even have that now. Last I saw of him, he was shuffling between 80 and 84, 85 being the highest.
*Anyone who loves Sami should just go bury his face in mud. I know ehsan bhai is celebrating the exclusion of Shoaib, but all I will say is that I will take a toota hua, langra, kaana, behra, andha, mota Shoaib for my test team over a fully fit Sami anyday.
And for God's sake, when is Faisal Iqbal's sifarish running out? Do we not have better batsmen than him in domestic cricket?*
P.S: I predict a series loss right now, and this time I'm sure I'm not getting eggs on my face. Shoaib was the threat that would have prevented Smith from even thinking about genuinely bouncy tracks. That threat is gone now, thanks to our Kaptaan sahab who holds a grudge like a 12 year old girl.
Sir ji, this was supposed to a doosra janam waala case. Unfortunately for Pakistan, the case got screwed up and the Almighty sent both janams together .
Shoaib’s New Year curse - Kamran Abbasi http://blogs.cricinfo.com/pakspin/archives/2006/12/shoaibs_new_years_curse_1.php
The first major controversy of Shoaib Akhtar’s career was at its height over a New Year period. He had been called for throwing and urgent negotiations between Tauqir Zia, the chairman of Pakistan’s cricket board, and his pal Jagmohan Dalmiya, the president of the ICC, ended in Shoaib’s return to international cricket in front of a cheering crowd in Australia.
With Pakistan’s squad announcement for the South African Test series, Shoaib finds himself sitting it out again over New Year with the prospect of a recall for the one-day series. You suspect that the spectre of WADA has something to do with this too. Personally, I’d have taken him to South Africa to ensure he regains fitness under the scrutiny of team management. Unless Shoaib–like Mohammad Asif–is banned by the ICC, Pakistan need him back fit and in form for the World Cup, and that means he has to play the one-day series in South Africa.
For Shoaib’s part, he needs to be careful. It is clear that he enjoys considerably less sympathy from the Pakistani cricket fraternity than Asif does. This remains a dangerous period in his career. And if his fitness continues to fail he will rapidly lose the remnants of support he has among Pakistan cricket fans. The public loves to celebrate heroes but it also loves nothing more than cursing fallen idols. Shoaib has to put concerns about WADA to one side and show that he is ready to play if he is allowed to. Anything else will be negligent. Can Shoaib–and the Pakistan selectors–rise to the challenge
Pakistani selectors said Akhtar lacked fitness for a five-day Test despite bowling 21 overs in a four-day first class match and featuring in a domestic Twenty20 tournament. “There must have been some compelling reasons to keep a bowler like Akhtar out of the team, reasons we don’t know,” Imran Khan told AFP.
The Pakistan team will leave on Tuesday and open the tour with a three-day game against South Africa A’ at Kimberley from January 6, before playing the first Test at Centurion from January 11. Khan, who played 82 Tests for Pakistan and was among the world’s top four allrounders in the 1970s and 1980s, said it was tough to keep a match-winner like Akhtar out. “It is tough to keep a fully fit Akhtar out of the team – he is a match winner. If selectors feel he is not fit, then they must watch him in a match, and if found fit he should be sent on the first available flight,” said Khan.
The 31-year-old Akhtar has not played for Pakistan since a one-day match against England three months ago. He was banned for two years, and fellow paceman Mohammad Asif for one year, last month after both tested positive for the banned steroid nandrolone in October. However, a Pakistan Cricket Board appellate committee overturned the bans earlier this month on the grounds that both did not take the banned substances knowingly. The World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) has challenged the decision and the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) is likely to hear WADA’s appeal this week.
Khan’s former new-ball partner, Sarfraz Nawaz, said Akhtar’s exclusion had eased pressure on South Africa. “Now with Akhtar not in the team, South Africa will prepare fast pitches, as there would be little pressure on them,” said Nawaz, who played 55 Tests for Pakistan.
Nawaz, who groomed Akhtar in his early days, said he would personally watch Akhtar play a first-class match soon. “I am told Akhtar is playing a first-class match this week and I will personally watch him, and if I find him fit then I will expose all the selectors,” said Nawaz. Former medium-pacer Aaqib Javed said questioning of Akhtar’s fitness was surprising to him. “I watched Akhtar bowl in the Twenty20 and I saw no reason to question his fitness, but I think selectors have different ways,” said Javed, who played 21 Tests for Pakistan. “But having said this, I expected Akhtar to be 100 percent fit after he missed cricket due to the doping issue.
“I think the selectors should have still sent him and waited for the second and third Test, because you need to have match winners in the squad, as it keeps pressure on the opponents.” afp
Good to hear the bowlers backing up Akhtar and voicing Akhtar’s not being selected. You never know with all this talk and preasure PCB might send Akhtar when the Test starts. That would be nice :k:
Players like Fawad Alam sud be automatic selection, then again they come from Karachi and do not share the same generosity accorded to their colleagues from Sialkot or Lahore. Asim Kamals selection is again another mistake, he is totally out of form and doesnt have the temperament for international cricket. Good news about this selection is inclusion of Zulqernain as the backup wicketkeeper and exclusion of the internationally aclaimed jhatka, Shabbira.
Iam also not so sure about the inclusion of Yasir Hameed, he has some fundamental problem with the ball outside the off-stump. Instead of him they sud have tried some other player, someone like Fawad Alam, Shadab Kabir, Hasan Reza, these three players have potential and track record but not given the same generous treatment that was Yasir Hameed's good fortune.
In the end, this is Pakistan side, wish them all the best.
Well said, and I totally agree with your points. I just don't understand how can a cricket literate person will be bashing Sami, when every one knew we got medium pacers if we exclude Shoaib and Sami from the squad. Every one looks for pace, we all knew Brett Lee is not as successful as Glen and Clark even on Australian and Eng wickets, Bond is not as economical as Franklin, Fernando is not as economical as Vaas, Styne is not as economical as Nel, Pollock, Taylor is not as economical as Bradshaw but captains and coaches knew that these bowlers could hit the deck hard and could cause troubles for batsmen. Though they are not economical but could produce one good delivery and could knock off any good batsman. I agree and it is true that Sami is very unlucky amongs all, but if you follow cricket and see Sami bowling then you will know it is only matter of time when he will start landing his deliveries at the right spots and could produce some lethal deliveries. So I am totally agree with Sami selection if Shoaib is not with the team. We already have many medium pacers in Asif, Rana, Gul, Shabir, Razzaq, etc.
I will definitely groom youngster like Anwar (excellent in swing for right handers), Jamshed (future Wasim Akram, rare left arm in Pakistan), and Fawad Alam.
I totally disagree with Yasir critiques, look at Cook, Amla, Tendulkar etc they all are falling to outside the off stump balls, even though they are trained on seaming wickets and tendulkar is a great player, so if Yasir is getting prey to such balls then it is not a big deal, experience will teach him.
I dont understand why Pakistan keep trying Asim Kamal, except bringing in a left hand batsman in the middle order, I dont see any future asset in Asim. He is old and may not be a good option except filling in the qouta for Karachi, in that case it will be better to keep Faisal, he is young and could be a good future. I dont' agree that he didnt do well. When ever he got a chance I think he played good knocks under pressure, agaist spin as well as fast in recent Eng series.
All happy to see Haider in the squad; in side matches Pakistan should play both Akmal and Haider, rest Akmal from keeping and play him as a batter and allow Haider to gain experience keeping first choice Pakistan bowlers and do some batting.
I also agree with cricketfan and counterpoint, Sami is good choice in the absence of Shoaib. It makes no sense to keep trying Sami on dead pitches and drop him in bouncy pitches of SA where chances are rather high that he would gain his form and confidence back. Sami is much better choice than Rao Ifti. Some people do seem to follow the herd when it comes to selection of Afridi and Sami, its only matter of time when these guys be back in form and same bashers will be praising them.
according to a recent report in dawn Shoaib has been discarded from the national team because of a personal grudge between Inzi and Shoaib. he doesn't even want him for the world cup.if this is true ,it is very unfortunate. national interest should always come first before personal agendas. this has not just happened now but has been happening before as well. even imran khan,as i recall had kicked out players like qasim omer, anil dalpat because of personal grudges..our religious captain should know that even our religion forbids these practices.
Now, one would really really feel ashamed when mentioning Sami with likes of Brett Lee, Shane Bond, Fernando, Steyn and Taylor :-| ... now don't come back and say 'these are just stats', I know these are stats, but they really paint a good picture of what Sami is capable of ;) ... I have watched him bowl in many matches already.
Though they are not economical but could produce one good delivery and could knock off any good batsman. I agree and it is true that Sami is very unlucky amongs all
A guy can be unlucky in 1, 2, 3, 5 Test matches.... but 28??? There is something wrong 'up' there.
but if you follow cricket and see Sami bowling then you will know it is only matter of time when he will start landing his deliveries at the right spots and could produce some lethal deliveries. So I am totally agree with Sami selection if Shoaib is not with the team. We already have many medium pacers in Asif, Rana, Gul, Shabir, Razzaq, etc.
if you REALLY follow cricket you wouldn't be saying that, unless you watch only 5 of Pakistan's 20 Test matches.