Pakistani Sense of Humour

Re: Pakistani Sense of Humour

host of that show is "sheikh qasim". what naseem vicky has do with the idea of that show?

yeh show jis concept se start hua hai naseem vicky ne hi diya hai comedy nights ke baad se, aik aur show kaa bhi parha thaa i think hera pheri naam hai....

apko baaskar award dia jat es tarah k cooments pe :D

hahaha aap nahin maanein gai woh aap ki marzi, but yeh fact hai, media ke andar ki sab khabrein mujhe pata hoti hein bohat se jaaney waaley hein......

Female humour is very underrated in our society and in most cases, it doesn't even develop because of the environment around. I know woman in Pakistan don't feel comfortable being funny and smiley because it sends out wrong signals to men. A signal that might tell a man it's easy to hit on her, signals that might suggest she's not a shy, innocent young girl who'll make a perfectly quiet and obedient daughter in law and forever impressed wife. Female wit is often perceived as sign of great confidence, intelligence and guts, and to be honest, it's all very true. I believe Asian women will certainly experience some form of liberation through laughter, they need to try it. The Victorian practice of telling women that no one hears a lady giggle - meaning you should not release a single sound when 'laughing', is probably still practiced in Pakistan. I know my Nani (bless her) is still quite quick to tell me to *moun band kar *everytime everytime I try to pull Julia Roberts.

What I am really trying to say is that Pakistan needs to make the idea of 'happy and smiley woman' a little fashionable. It's okay to smile, it really is. Between me and you guys, I really think those Life and Relationship women can get rid f half their problems if they just start seeing the funnier sides of things. The world really doesn't really need to fall apart just because someone commented on your weight or complexion. Don't sulk, say something totally stupid and make yourself and the person laugh.

Anyway, we must keep the flow of the thread going. So speaking of female humour, I loved Nadia Khan of PTV days. I know she's quite heavily blamed for the sorry state of current Pakistani Morning Shows, but her character from Bandhan is perhaps one of the most memorable PTV characters of all time. We need genuinely funny woman on the screen and in the literary world. Bushra Ansari, bless her, was supremely successful in shredding the myth that women cannot be comedians, she single handily proved that of course they can. Yes they can wear costumes, pull faces and make funny noises and still look like ladies. I know Hina Dilpazeer tries to act like her successor, but even she gets a boring after a while, mainly because he dramas are never ending. You eventually stop finding her funny, but no one can deny her talent. So the point is, enough of seeing love stricken, damsel in distress type characters on TV. Honestly, everytime I flick through Pakistani dramas, there's a woman crying! This trend needs to die!

Anyone remember 'Choti si duniya' by Abdul Qadir Junejo and humor side of Sindh shown in the drama?

it was a great play no doubt.....

I find taane kosne given by Sindhi and Saraiki ladies to their children a lot. They are humorous. use of words ‘Mua’, ‘Ni’baghaa’

There used to be a Khala Irshad in one of my friend’s neighbor.. she used to kos her son a lot . when Titanic song released, we translated those kosnay in English and sung it in that tune.

I used to ask Amma meaning of some words used by those ladies. Like there was a word ‘Marwaan’ which was used for nasty and destructive boys. When I asked amma, she said ‘pata nahin baRi booRhiyan kehti thin’. Lately, I guessed it might be Marwan Bin Abdul Malik :eek:

quality is a vague term and varies from time to time and place to place. sometimes, we are unable to appreciate humor that is not linked with the environment we lived in. That doesn't make it cheap or choice of people sub-standard who like that humor, provided that is not vulgar.

There was a time, when 'Ghalib ke Khutoot' were a source of refined humor, now majority doesn't get that. Same is the situation with Mushtaque Yusufi, our next generations won't enjoy him as much we or our previous generation did. Read comment about people not getting content of Fifty-Fifty now. World is changing rapidly and so does people's sense of humor. I don't get many of the jokes / lines written here in different forums by people living outside Pakistan, but definitely there are people who understand and enjoy those lines.

I didn’t get this humor :sid:

Whats with Potohari Bias?

I guessed wrongly that s/he is from KPK but she confirmed that she is from kashmir.

As then s/he considered ‘guest house’ from Islamabad/pindi center a real comedy only and other as third class (punjabi comedy plus+urdu by umar shrief) so I assumed she had a taste of comedy that only come from pothuhari people.
Now, i dont want to go into details how kashmir and Islamabad/pindi is linked, it will become a PA/history material :smiley:

May be we can discuss in Racism thread :D

Guest House was written by Abdul Rauf Khalid (late), who was not a Potohari and he did wrote two serials on Kashmir Movement as well.

viewers usually do not know writers background. appearance of actors was really different then those in sindhi/punjabi/balochi dramas center wise.
btw, Guest House was a great production.