Pakistani Sense of Humour

There genuinely cannot be a nation incapable of laughter, so what is Pakistanis sense of humour like? I know group humour is not an easy thing to define, but there must be some characteristics and lingual traits that are unique to Pakistani humour.

I understand British humour can be quite multilayered, and often our jokes have double and even triple meanings. It wouldn’t be quite wrong to suggest that we invented the concept of telling jokes with a straight face (actually our French and German friends might disagree with that). Although, we like to assume we are quite witted people but sadly for some, our sense of humour can be very ironic, euphemistic, aggressively sarcastic, teasing and quite dark. We love ‘friendly banters’, don’t mind two way sledging. In fact even when we were rubbish at cricket, we were still good at sledging, in fact we are expert at that It is very unique, however. I particularly love how self depreciation is a very central aspect of our humour. To me it’s very important to laugh at yourself every now and then, every individual must posses this quality - if done right, it feels so brilliantly liberating.. So in short, either you find British humour totally offensive and absolutely hilarious, it does take a while to get used to (and actually understand) our humour.

Anyway, coming back to Pakistan, I know Punjabis for certain have an amazingly bombastic sense of humour. It’s wonderfully matey and it’s best when it’s conversational. However it has to be said that the clarity and the brutal directness of Punjabi humour means it’s often perceived as low-brow ‘street’ humour - to me, this tag is completely unfair and unnecessary. Of course, it doesn’t help if you are at the receiving end of Punjabi humour, and trust me, it can get very cruel and easily turn into never ending cycle of bullying. As an NRP, one thing that really attracts me to Pakistan (or Punjab rather) is the sense of humour. I love it, even if I don’t get most of the jokes, but I simply admire the fact how Punjabis are not afraid to make fun of themselves. A poster said in other thread Punjabis have this rare ability to laugh at their own stereotypical parodies - and this is absolutely true. It’s one thing to say funny things but another to be able to take a joke, as far as my experience goes, people of Punjab are capable of doing both things so effortlessly.

I remember talking to my uncle who is very involved with PMLN and personally know their top tier leadership. He recently visited my father and at some big family dinner, we asked him what was PMLN’s top guns’ reaction to Imran Khan’s famous ‘Oye Mian Saab jaan deyo, saadi vaari aaan deyo’ and all the other sledging. I thought he will probably say something like Nawaz Sharif wanted to eat him alive, he couldn’t wait to have the guy shot, but to our surprise, he said something “oh they enjoyed it, they thought Imran was hilarious - these little things don’t bother Noon league, they may hate Imran the political opponent but deep inside they and their children are all hardcore Imran fans. They would never wish any personal harm to Imran”

That’s a very important point, as an outsider I must say I was totally blown away by how Imran Khan can stand right in the middle of Model Town, rip apart PMLN in front of a huge crowd (to non Lahoris - Model Town is a favourite residential place of majority of PMLN beneficiaries and ministers, inc Shehbaz Sharif, ironically the area is also Imran’s hometown) and yet not a single person would get hurt. No one would fear for Imran’s life just because he sledged PMLN in their own front yard (he’d been doing this successfully for past 20 years). When I witnessed all this, I could feel this sense of pride and assurance. I wanted to shout out that this is it. This is Punjab - The Great Punjab! This is exactly why we have this strange sense of stability in the province. This is exactly why despite all our faults, we don’t suffer from monumental level of xenophobia which is so ramped in other parts of the country. The fact that even the political parties there can see the funny sides of things amidst tension and rivalry, says a so much about how inherently lighthearted people of Punjab are. The humour is even visible in it’s politics which is supposed to be all dirty and dark.

I did intend this opening post to turn into a monologue about Punjab’s great sense of humour, but oh well, Punjab is part of Pakistan. Everyone Tom, Dick and Harry have his 15 minutes of fame by critcusing the illusive “Punjabi establishment”, but how about for once, we appreciate the positive aspects of Punjab.

Anyway, back to the topic, do Pakistanis is general have a good sense of humour? How would you describe it, how does the common humour translate into literary world? Do you have a favourite piece of satire by Pakistani author? What is the future of comedy in Pakistan, my parents who were huge fans of likes of Moin Akhtar, think Pakistan has lost it’s high to middle brow comic sense.

Re: Pakistani Sense of Humour

Oh my goodness, what have I done, just look at the size of that post.

Apologies folks.

I think society was more open in days of chopal and otaq for humor. It was time when Imam Din's poetry was popular among masses which was quite explicit in content. With the passage of time, tolerance level in society decreased and that also affected overall sense of humor of society.

There used to be many good satire writers in Urdu like Mushtaq Ahmed Yusufi, Shafiq u Rehman, Ibn e Insha, etc, but now its mainly Yunus Butt who lost his originality due to excessive writing and most of the time his work is based on parodies. Anwar Maqsood as you mentioned is a witty person , I always liked his writing from Aangan TeRha to now sawaa choda August.

Does it have something to do with Urdu as a subject losing it's popularity? I blame the loud, bratty and insolent Morning Show hosts and people like Amir Liaqat for dumbing down the people. We are currently going through a phase where anything that's not loud, is not funny. Somehow people in Pakistani media think you have to act stupid and hold gimmicky props to be considered funny. Plus, I don't understand why comedy cannot be simple and short, a comedy play doesn't really need to have 700 episodes - no wonder most of the called funny serial and sitcoms have lost it's charm because they have well passed their expiration date. They seem never ending.

Loss of humour is certainly a sign of social decay. I am not sure but I get this feeling Pakistanis are losing their sense of humour, the sense of humour is being replaced by victim complex. They are becoming a nation of whiners, an uptight and rigid entity.

Pakistani humor is pretty amazing but people don't want to understand it. White rubber stamps.

Hasb-e-Haal :/

Hasb e Haal is quite good, excellent in fact. However, again it's one those parody shows. The question is, can Pakistan do any other forms of comedy quite successfully? I am sure they can and had done so brilliantly in the past. But it's quite annoying to see everything on TV either is terribly depressing or over the top in your face funny. But then again, I don't really watch that much TV so forgive me for being ignorant. What I really wanted to gain from this thread is Pakistanis describing their tradition of humour, elaborating the diversity, highlighting the environmental factors and lingual trait that give Pakistani humour a unique identity. Perhaps also touching the way humour is used in everyday life, how important it is in their way of life and social interactions.

Jolie… You can send this story to Express Tribune… :lajawab:

I am not very good in Punjabi language… and only pick few words… Humor in Punjabi :5:

I have seen Janjal Pura on PTV (I think…that was not pure Punjabi)
Besides Punjabi language… I had been seeing 50 50, Family Front, sun to sahi, sub set hai(Indus TV), bulbully… Those are quite funny in nature…

Moin Akhtar… was great actor… Lehri was also best comedian… If you remember… Alif Noon… I never saw full.. but parts of that series is pretty interesting…

Anwar Maqsood… He writes mature and taunting dialogue…

Definitely, people are losing grip on language and that lead to inability of writing / saying things in witty way. During the suppressed and heavy censored era of Zia, we were able to produce good TV shows like Fifty Fifty, Aangan TeRha, etc and in literature people like Mushtaq Yusufi and Shafiq u Rehman were active, but now we are living in era of free media, but our humor has downgraded to cheap stuff like Qudusi Saheb ki bewah.

Loss of humor is also attributed to news channels creating havoc on incidents like a blast due fault in electricity transformer. They are promoting sad stuff with dedication and that had resulted in common men not able to understand or enjoy the humor.

well yes humor in ptv dramas and shows was fantastic and intelligent, now a days comedy is more in form of punjabi stage dramas and also that program khabarnaak, they all deliver third class comedy.... Quddui sahab ki bewah and hum sab umeed se hein (who watches it) are also crap. BNN was good but then lost charm due to repetitive comedy...

Hasb-e-Haal :confused:

I think khabar naak has much better comedy style than hasb e haal

TLK bhai, keise baateiN karte hein aap?

Moin Akhtar is a legend. No one can do sophisticated and to the point comedy like him, and the fact he was genuinely a very likable and intellectual personality meant people had immense respect of him as an artist. They can see the integrity and exceptional finesse in his work and appreciate it. This is something the present day Pakistan lacks. Anwar Maqsood is fantastic as you said, but unfortunately, from current generation, he cannot find people like Bushra Ansari and Moin Akhtar who would not just deliver his written work, but actually own it.

There is of course Punjabi humour and then there is sense of humour of people belonging to Punjab - and that is the ability to take jokes and have a laugh. This is something I wanted to highlight and appreciate.

Loss of humour - one the great tragedies of the war.

However, as a society, do we see being funny as a desirable trait? A man can have a long list of how he'd like his future wife as someone so fabulously feminine, shy, sweet, pretty, educated etc, but would he also add funny in the checklist? Now this might lead me to another feminist debate, to what extent in Eastern culture, female humour is accepted and encouraged.

I shared 50-50 episodes on youtube to some of my acquaintances of today's generation and they didnt find it funny. Different strokes for different folks

TLK bhai, keise baateiN karte hein aap?
that ali guy who does excellent parody of everyone is very talented, plus honey albela delivery style is phenomenal, especially his timings. But that is just my opinion.

In comedy, timings is everything, even more than a joke. That is why, Friends was such a popular show, cause the humor was not much in words, but how the dialogue was delivered. Similarly Jerry Seinfeld and Ellen Degenrus (their stand up act) are all about timings.

That is why Jugat bazi style of lahore theatre and fiqray baazi of karachi theatre became popular, because of timings. Unfortunately they could not maintain the standard. In Lahore, it became vulgar. In Karachi, it turned into bhaand tamasha and ego wars. Omar Sharif tried to become king. Slapping everyone on the stage is not comedy. Then he tried to become moin akhtar. Moin was never a comedian, he was an excellent actor, who just got caught in comedy roles in tv, and he had a great sense of humor of course.

In last few years, our Pakistani humor has turned into “doosron ka mazaaq uraana”, because we have such fake ego about ourselves, so we can’t laugh at ourselves, we have to laugh at others.

Over all, I agree with jolie that Punjab has more open hearted sense of humor than Karachi, at least. Even in khabarnaak, when they invite dummy guests from Karachi, like Anwar Maqsood or Altaf Hussain, they have to give them fake name. This is how insecure Karachites are about someone making fun of them.

You show people who is the boss, or even married with children, and they won’t did it funny now.

whether bhaands of punjab or karachi, they both did pathetic comedy/jugat baazi on theater, sense of humor in punjab is not open hearted but even more crap than others, khabarnaak is a third class show.

I love pakistani comedy.....

i enjoyed loose talk,Family Front,Home sweet Home,cocktail..etc

You dont have to agree with me. Even in the midst of crap juggat bazi, there are some talents hidden. If it’s one of the most popular style of the biggest province of Pakistan, you can’t just pooh pooh it. The style has an amazing potential. It’s just needed to be saved from vulgarity.