Pakistani Music is the New Craze in India

**Pak Music Rules
*Divya Sethi
***expressindia.com

SHALWARS with laces, dupattas that look like a chaddar and kundan jewellery…if you happen to come across any of these in the city, do not be surprised! This city is catching on with what is Pakistani with open arms.

What are geographical boundaries for music and fashion so counter the city dwellers ..

Manjinder Kaur, a resident of Sarabha Nagar, says, ‘‘What do we have to do with politics. It is between the two governments. Good things should be admired openly and if they have good singers like Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Abida Parveen, we cannot critcise them just because they are from other country. You can not restrict the music to a particular area.’’ She further said, ‘‘I am very sure even the residents of Pakistan must be enjoying the melodies of Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhonsle.’’

Harvinder Singh of Planet M says, ‘‘Pakistani music cassettes sell like hot cakes and sometimes we get out of stock as well. These days Ali Zafar is on everybody’s lips and still one can see the craze for Pakistani band Junoon.’’

For ghazal lovers the craze is for Tahira, Iqbal Bano and Abida Parveen. He further says, ‘‘The political standoffs between the two nations has nothing to do with music. The customers between 15 years to 30 years don’t talk about Indo-pak relations, in fact, they simply appreciate the music and the singers.’’

Meenu Aggarwal, a resident of Bhai Randhir Singh Nagar, echoes the same opinion and says, ‘‘Pakistani music is really soulful and different from re-mixes. I don’t categorise the music. I prefer meaningful, soothing, and touching music and I don’t mind whether it is Indian or Pakistani.’’

A salesman of Music World revealed, ‘‘We are selling numerous Pakistani albums and these days Fakhir is on the hot list. And mostly people aging between 20-30 years go for this kind of music.’’

The most popular bands and singers available on these stores are Ali Azmat, Fakhir, Abida Parveen, Tahira, Iqbal Bano and Junoon. Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan is an all time favourite, says Harvinder Singh.

Re: Pakistani Music is the New Craze in India

two words: woh lamhey

The whole world’s gonna rock to Pak music while the Pakistanis themselves will listen to all the trashy garbage coming from you-know-where :rolleyes:

Maybe Paki punjabi music is somewhat heard in Indian punjab, otherwise, no one pays 1/100th attentoin to Paki music compared to how Pakis live and breath Indian music/movies/culture.

don’t get your dhoti up in bunches, bhindoo wrote that article. We just posted it. :smiley:

Old exams: not true.

Yeah Old exams, you're just pissed now that we're rockin the music scene and totally blowin the gas outta the retarded hindian music industry...NFAK, Adnan Sami, Atif Aslam ALi Z ...they all rock and they're all from Pak!

You mean the ‘hindi speaking’ population :rolleyes:

In India, they assume everyone speaks Hindi or Gujrati. Kinda like how everyone in Pakistan is assumed to speak Punjabi. ;) Oh yeah, and urdu too...

are you sure …

There is this talk of pakistani music ruling india ...... thats not a fact. Only thing one can say that a lot of pakistani bands have released there albums almost at the same time.

As far as pakistani music / musicians go there are only a few singers/ band who are loved in india. Most famous pakistani musician in india is GHULAM ALI followed by NFAK. WHen you talk about bands, all the ways STRINGS. STRINGS are Original, refreshing and good. JUNOON i dont think they can be accepted widely as GA,NFAK and strings. There music can be liked by some ppl, personly i dont understand there music.

As far as other bands are concerned they all sing in same way, and they are one hit wonders like that hawa hawa man.

Right. So what you’re saying is that people like Ahmed Jahanzeb, Aaroh, Hadiqa, Haroon, Faakhir etc. have the same singing style? Excuse, me!

They have so much diversity. Hadiqa is known to be equally at ease singing eastern pieces as well as western ballads. Haroon has his dictinct bubblegum/boyband style while Ahmed Jahanzeb singing is totally eastern classical.

One hit wonders! ha! They all thriving on the music scene, Jahnzeb comes up with his second album this year while most of these people have been around for decades, having acquired a huge following.

Certainly oodles of more diversity and following than Bollywood singers [which is all India has really, and is running even short of those these days]. They all sing the same old boring way. Heck, even every song in Bollywood sounds the same!

And I haven’t even touched the more traditional singers like Naseebo Lal, Isa Khelvi etc…

yeah drawing a line one day and making it an international border doesnt exactly create new and distinct music. indians have been listening to pakistani music for years now without even noticing it is pakistani. my rather anti-pakistani friend was playing a strings album at her place when i was over, and she was shocked when i told her they are a pakistani band. turns out she also has some Kabir by Abida, a bunch of NFAK remixes, a fuzon album, and had no idea Jal and Atif being paki.

bottomline is, good music is good music. indians could use the pakistani influence to broaden their taste which is stuck at effed up bolly pop numbers.

Naseebo lal - isnt she the one who sings about how her choli is all tung? bollybuster, kya yaar tu bhi na..

Your friends are dumb, dude! Did they lower your IQ too? :hehe:

And Queer, I have no informtaion regarding Naseebo Lal singing Tung-Choli song. However, a certain Indo singer started that trend and excelled at those. Yup, tung choli, tang gharara, shararas, dhotis, lungees whatever. They all have it in that rotten Bollywood of yours.

And incase you’re still wondering, she’s the one who actually takes credit for numerous Bolly songs which were originally sung by her. And we don’t want to start taking names now, do we?

yeah well "dude", naseebo lal did sing choli meri tang ho gayi. and as per your claims, it is the hindians who copy everything pakistani.

it is not like pakistani music is all class either. assan te jaane billo de ghar sums up your avg pakistani music lovers level. pretty much the same as indians. same smelly people and all, my dear salan slurper.

Queer dude, Naseebo Lal wasn’t even around when they started to pioneer the choli, sexy kind of garbage in Bollywood.

You don’t even have the remotest idea abt Pakistani music and yet you’ll argue. It’s pretty pointless.

and why wont i have the remotest idea about pakistani music? read the posts above about how hindians lurrrrve paki music.

and while on naseebo lal, why does she sing hindianized stuff like "bindi ka lashkara"? how many pakistanis wear bindis hain? tauba tauba. whats up with mehdi hassan (such a lovely lovely voice) singing bayhooda songs like "tere bheege badan ki khushbu"?

now quit denying your artists. "assan te jaane billo de ghar" is probably the most popular song in the last two decade of pakistani music. bruuuuahhhh baybee (punjabbi aksent) !

Queer, I just proved a while back who supremely ignorant you are. And now you’re shoutin out your freak accent and makina fool outta yourself :hehe:

Yaar, Queer, do you actually ever THINK before emotionally jumping into arguments? :slight_smile: There have been many, many songs which have been far more popular than BBillo Dey Ghar. And you’re absolutely clueless, which is understandable given your biases and your level of ignorance. Ab chorro yaar, aur kitnee BS Karnee hai :slight_smile: And now let’s not talk about Gultu and Bomaayitttttte accents which seem to annoy the hell out of everyone…:hehe:

oh yeah, dil dil pakistan, jaan jaan hindustan. i remember that song! :hug:

assan te jaane bollybuster de ghar…bruahhhh baybeee!!

Some PeOPle caN't hAndLe the tRuTh.