Re: PAKISTANI LAWYERS
I saw his interview on Indus abt a year or so back..the host asked him to compare NS, BB and Mush and he said Mushy is best of the worst lot. He sure has a way with the words ![]()
Great. If objectivity is in today, then I would like to hear the credit due to the CJP for reducing the backlog of cases at SC from 28,000 to 10,000 in 20 months. So delaying justice is not an accusation for the CJP to be bothered abt.
Having cleared that up, the govt did make a lot of noise abt some Access to Justice program a few years back. It even created some model courts, I believe. It died its natural death. Who's to blame..I am not saying.
kewl man 28K down to 10K so we went from being absolute horrible to just pretty darn bad. but thats good. so good job on that ifti, bravo, pat on the back. see...no problem accepting good work by people.
so was the legal community doing much about the fundamental probolems in judiciary, the muka muka between judges and lawyers and all that created such a backlog to begin with. did anyone aside from ifti do anything, did legal community that wants to protect the sanctity of judiciary show much concern about the joke pakistani courts had become and still are?
as far as the program dying natural death...dinn see much hoopla from lawyer community about issues with justice system then.
PS: any stats on the number of cases being brought to courts now versus recent past versus distant past.
The legal system in Pakistan has its flaws. lots of them and lawyers' should be more proactive abt them. I agree. But lawyers can only do so much, u see. We need more courts. Its a little known fact but Pakistan already has the highest number of lawyers per capita. We dont have enough judges, and thats something the govt. has to look into.
I have no idea abt the current case nos. I think Justice Bhagwandaas mentioned it some days back but it slips my memory.
ur own caesar hasnt been able to prove BB corrupt in more than 7 years, and is now going to bed with her. Also spare a moment and have a look at his work group including the makhdooms and the chaudhary's. The general is as indefensible in corruption as the politicians.
Than Probably you are either not a good judge of character OR you are as corrupt as Cleopatra (BB), who sold her country to Cesar for some S**.
The legal system in Pakistan has its flaws. lots of them and lawyers' should be more proactive abt them. I agree. But lawyers can only do so much, u see. We need more courts. Its a little known fact but Pakistan already has the highest number of lawyers per capita. We dont have enough judges, and thats something the govt. has to look into.
I have no idea abt the current case nos. I think Justice Bhagwandaas mentioned it some days back but it slips my memory.
its not just lawyers dude, its judges as well. for the better part they are sitting and as ong as they have their cheques coming they dont really care, its not justice to them, its employment..plus ooper ki kamai. go back 10 years, 20 years, 30 years and tell me
these are not just my opinion, my frind's dad was high court justice in lahore and wife's uncle is high court justice in karachi, I hear the same from them and their frustrations with their colleagues and with the lawyers.
regardless, the reason I asked to see if anyone had stats on court cases, is because someone in the legal community in pak had told me that court cases had gone up in the last 8 years because #1 people thought they had better chances of getting justice and #2 that courts had begun to work better due to some govt programs and some activist judges... by which they may have been referring to the model court program you mantioned and ifti respectively. i dd not know for sure.
what a fool you are making of yourself, a real class act ![]()
silly billy, u are indeed silly..why did u have to post cowasjee's column
cowasjee speaks the truth when he blasts the govt about how it has dealt with the CJ case, but as soon as he starts trashing the hoodlum lawyers, he is going to be considered out of touch with reality and on military payroll and what nots :)
Fraudz, did you know there are about 58,000 lawyers in Pakistan. Yet at most we only see no more than a couple of thousand regularly at these demos - the number actually decreasing everytime (plus a lot of them may actually be political workers dressed in wukla garb). The 95% plus of lawyers who don't come to any of these demos are on the ISI payroll no doubt like Cowasajee? :)
Vah, such twisting and 'spin'!
Is this is 'Silly Billy' guy really Wasi Zafar?!
who dont the rest of the lawyers show up? :)
afraid of getting beatings by the cops
afraid of getting beatings by the political party stooges hoodlums who attack dissident lawyers?
mix of both?
lack of interest?
or they understand it all as topi drama and keep away from it?
Vah, such twisting and 'spin'!
Is this is 'Silly Billy' guy really Wasi Zafar?!
waisay realdeal bhai, spin par transprency international report yaad ati hai the one with pakistani ppls perspective, aap nay bhi bohot top spin maray thay..aap kabhi kabhi farjad saif lagtay thay mujhe, that guy had a mean topspin.
Post more pics, and I'll post videos of police brutality.
Who says that Pakistani Police is not corrupt ,infact they are at the top in corruption,after all they come from the same society where these corrupt lawyers,judges,Iftikhar Chaudhary(current most favoritre Political Mascot) & Lotairay policticians come from.
there’s more ![]()
During CJ’s 20-month tenure the backlog of pending cases in Supreme Court of Pakistan was reduced from 38,000 cases to around 10,000
Free legal aid was provided to the unrepresented jail petitioners, who could not afford to hire the services of a lawyer.
Additional posts of research officers were created with the aim of improving the efficiency and performance of the courts
Steps were taken to curtail corruption among the court staff by banning the entry of munshies/clerks into offices.
The CJ established a Human Rights Cell within the Supreme Court premises to process citizen complaints. This forum soon became known for providing expeditious and inexpensive relief to members of the general public.
To his credit the CJ worked on a large number of human rights violations - from complaints and letters which he received from aggrieved persons and from press reports – by ordering the relevant authorities concerned to obey the law of the land. These suo moto actions resulted in provision of quick relief to the common man.
Note: At the time he was suspended, he was receiving 150 letter every day.
**The Military **
In December 2005 the CJ took a suo moto action on the illegal abduction of scores of Pakistani citizens. Many of the detentions were related to the anti-Musharraf insurgency in Balochistan, where a secret agency was accused of abducting hundreds of youths.
Previously relatives of the missing people would file writs of habeas corpus in the courts. The judges would then formally request the Interior Ministry for information. Characteristically, the ministry would reply that the secret agencies had no clue as to the person’s whereabouts, and the matter would end there.
The Chief Justice changed all this by diligently following up these cases and compelling the authorities to trace the missing citizens. As a result, many missing people suddenly reappeared in the strangest of circumstances; many of them accusing the secret agencies of incarcerating and torturing them. The CJ then put the cat among the pigeons by ordering these agencies to appear in court in front of him.
It was perhaps the first time that the powers of these near omnipotent military agencies had been challenged in Pakistan and obviously they and their masters would not have at all been pleased.
The Bureaucracy and Government Politicians
In December 2006 the Supreme Court declared a land grab in Gwadar of 1000s of acres illegal. It ruled that the Islamabad’s handpicked Balochistan government was not at all competent to allocate quota for allotment of Gwadar lands to politicians, ministers, MNAs, MPAs, Senators, higher civil bureaucracy and provincial Judiciary without having a proper legislation.
The court also concluded that in view of the glaring illegalities in allotment of land in Gwadar all similar petitions would be given an early date of hearing upon the consent of the Chief Justice.
** In another case of public interest, the Supreme Court took the unusual step of blocking bureaucratic shenanigans by citing the fundamental rights of the public enshrined in the Constitution**. In this particular case the court cancelled a lucrative lease of a public park in Islamabad owned by the Capital Development Authority (CDA) which was to be converted into a mini golf club. One can imagine the distress of the bureaucrats to discover that there was such thing as ‘fundamental rights of the public’ and that it could be used against them in all their future dealings. ![]()
Shaukat Aziz and his Corpocrats
Late last year the Chief Justice cancelled the much publicized privatization of Pakistan Steel Mills which was being sold to Arif Habib and his associates. The billionaire stock market operator Habib is believed to be close acquaintance of Shaukat Aziz. The detailed judgement exposed a number of legal violations, lapses, omissions and commissions committed by the Privatisation Commission and the Cabinet Committee of Privatisation contrary to the law promulgated by the regime itself. Shaukat Aziz is believed to have been furious at this Supreme Court decision because he headed the Cabinet Committee of Privatisation which had attempted to rush through the sale of the steel mill.
** Two days before his house arrest the Chief Justice had directed that the chairman of the Central Board of Revenue (CBR) and the Secretary for Finance be made respondents to a case against inflated prices of petroleum products, along with the Secretary for Petroleum, the Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority chairman, the Oil Companies Advisory Committee and eight heads of the major oil companies in Pakistan.**
And now to the most important part.
Musharraf
A few days after Musharraf’s publicly expressed his wish to allow kite flying during Basant the CJ defied him by upholding a decision to ban kite-flying because of the large number of deaths that were caused annually as a result of the razor-sharp kite flying strings.
This act of open judicial defiance, taken together with the ‘Missing Persons’ case, must have caused loud alarm bells to ring in the General’s head.
Add to this CJP’s address to young army graduates in late feb where he mentioned that in his opinion the president should not be in uniform, and one gets an idea of the motives behind the suspension.
so u’re saying the Police Order 2002 was an exercise in futility? waste of money and waste of time…only to produce these monsters?
Edit: which blessed part of the society does the army come from? How come they remain untouched by the unholy spirits of corruption?
c ya ![]()
If you think that Pakistani Police sudharnay lagi by passing these orders then Pakistani Police would have been the most respectable one by now:hoonh: .Dozens & dozens of orders like these were passed in the past governments too…but Pakistani Police is like a kuttay ki dumm jo kabhi seedhi nahin ho sakti.
address ur anger at the Caesar. After all it was he who bent to the chaudhary’s and makhdooms to amend the original order of 2000 ![]()
Edit: which blessed part of the society does the army come from? How come they remain untouched by the unholy spirits of corruption?
If you want to cut your own 2 feet with your axe,so God please be with you...Army is helping you to stand on your 2 feet & live freely in Pakistan...If you want to curse the same institution (by the way which is the only organised institution in Pakistan) then be prepared to live in a war torn Sub-Saharan country like Rawanda etc.
cough cough
u’ll have to do better than that to be taken seriously ![]()
If you want to cut your own 2 feet with your axe,so God please be with you...Army is helping you to stand on your 2 feet & live freely in Pakistan...If you want to curse the same institution (by the way which is the only organised institution in Pakistan) then be prepared to live in a war torn Sub-Saharan country like Rawanda etc.
The only organisation that does what Armies all over the world do, yet think they are special because of it
The only organisation that demands so many billions from the Pakistani people
The only organisation where thousands of its senior members retire as multi-millionare's, money taken from the people of Pakistan