Re: PAKISTANI LAWYERS
Astagh firullah may Allah give these people hidaayat
iam not supporter of Mushi, i do have some sympathy for CJ- Ifti, but i do believe that lawyers are the worst kind of human beings, doesn't matter which country they belong ...
In Pakistan, L.L.B are for those who cannot afford and/or not capable for other professions.
If one goes to court, these lawyers are there, abusing the flaws of law and the ripping the client to last cent.
there is a saying which says,
Allah Ta'la sab ko Court, Hospital aur Thanay kay chakarooN say bachaye.
There is a reason why the people of Pakistan perceive the judiciary as the 3rd most corrupt institution in the country, after the politicians and police, and this just confirms why. Everyone I have talked to in Pakistan is disgusted by this kind of behaviour by our wukla biradri, and I am surprised the CJ (who is busy on his "political tours") has not seen fit to condemn the behaviour of his supporters.
but lets not forget.....
the same lawyers are making the biggest fight of pakistan today..... for constitution...against the army rule..and for independent judiacary......
for 60 years..we have been under millitary boots...and now they are at fore fronts...then you people are saying that all to them.....
where have these lawyers been at every kind of crap the country has had. where were the protests against wide ranging human rights abuses in karachi by banazir govt? where were they during all the gang warfare in karachi, what about when nawaz stole hard earned money of people by forcefully converting FX accts into rupee accounts at pathetic rates.
and for a second forget these large political issues, where was this pain for justice, where has this pain for justice been when in pakistan a simple case can drag on for years, or decades.
judiciary is not clean, has not been clean, cases drag on for years with lawyers getting their retainers and chilling, judges getting kickbacks...dont believe me, find out the avg salary of a judge and then see how they live.
..and these are the people who are out their 'protecting' the hoor of court and judiciary? abay... you judges and lawyers are the very people who have done everything that goes against the basic essence of justice for decades.
dont believe me??? ask an avg Pakistani how likely they are to go to a court for anything..and why.
Here’s what Ardeshir Cowasjee said of the lawyers this Sunday 22 Apr in his Dawn column;
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?p=4966250#post4966250
"…
On to a current and most serious matter. Our men of law and letters are for once united in that they all want law and order and justice to prevail. But should they demean Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, and all the good he has done and stood for, by parading him around the country like a political ‘mascot’? Should he be stood up to face politically motivated crowds? Should he not be allowed to be at peace while he faces the presidential reference? Our legal fraternity is mistaken if it thinks that its parades and strikes and ‘token hunger strikes’ (whatever nonsense they may be) will make one iota of difference to Acting Chief Justice Baghwandas’s sense of duty, his adherence to the law, or to his conscience.
** How many of our marchers and strikers have been to jail and seen how the under-trial prisoners, many of them innocent, suffer? Dates are fixed for the hearing of their cases in the district and high courts usually after long delays. Many detainees have to appear in person. They are ordered to be ready at 0600 hours to wait for a van to take them to court, a van that too often does not arrive.**
** Now, should the diligent lawyers not spare a thought for all those detainees who may have been summoned to appear in court on the many days they have been on strike and intend to on further strike – for instance, on April 24? Their cases have been postponed and will further be postponed for up to three weeks or to a date in office which may take months to arrive and, if innocent, they have remained and will remain in jail for these indeterminate periods. Is it fair? Should all those lawyers involved in their clients’ cases, and paid to appear for them, not resolved to duly appear on the dates fixed and mitigate the distress caused by our prevalent laws and procedures.**
** A ‘core’ issue pertains to the mock ‘hunger strikes’, referred to as ‘token hunger strikes’. What do the participants do? Do they announce that they have just finished eating a hearty lunch and intend to plonk themselves down on a pavement, and support the cause by not eating or drinking until their mid-afternoon biscuit and cup of tea is due? They should grow up.
…"**
where have these lawyers been at every kind of crap the country has had. where were the protests against wide ranging human rights abuses in karachi by banazir govt? where were they during all the gang warfare in karachi, what about when nawaz stole hard earned money of people by forcefully converting FX accts into rupee accounts at pathetic rates.
and for a second forget these large political issues, where was this pain for justice, where has this pain for justice been when in pakistan a simple case can drag on for years, or decades.
judiciary is not clean, has not been clean, cases drag on for years with lawyers getting their retainers and chilling, judges getting kickbacks...dont believe me, find out the avg salary of a judge and then see how they live.
..and these are the people who are out their 'protecting' the hoor of court and judiciary? abay... you judges and lawyers are the very people who have done everything that goes against the basic essence of justice for decades.
dont believe me??? ask an avg Pakistani how likely they are to go to a court for anything..and why.
So u expect them to be protesting at every single thing? Naturally they will protest against actions in the judiciary, which is the area they know best, the area where they are able to say what is right or wrong
As for going to court, ask the avg Pakistani how the first step,the Police will treat them, it is to the lawyers they go for justice
The way the CJ has been treated by the dictator is widely agreed as horrible,yet people attack the judiciary, what a joke
Cowasajee states what most people in Pakistan are now actually saying about our wukla biradri. :k:
The CJ’s reputation is being trashed everytime he attends any of these rallies, which end up being dominated by JI, PML (Nawaz), PTI and other opposition parties, and the lawyers behaving like animals - beating up their colleagues and journalists etc.
Why is the CJ not speaking out against the violent behaviour of his supporters?
Why has he not publicly told the politcal party activists to keep away from his rallies totally? That is what his job is i.e. to remain above the political fray.
By not speaking out against the violent thuggish lawyers in his own ranks and the political opposition rallies, he has completely compromised his neutrality, and he has in fact politicised the judiciary more than anyone has so far.
So u expect them to be protesting at every single thing?
No, not at all, I do not want them to protest at every single thing, just some important ones/ I am questioning why the legal community has not had a zameer for decades.
Naturally they will protest against actions in the judiciary, which is the area they know best, the area where they are able to say what is right or wrong
right and one of my primary questions is about judiciary...an area they know best.
Howcome they are not really bothered about the honor and dignity of judiciary, when simple court cases take years to resolve.
surely yo are nto saying that the court cases situation in the country is all hunky dory? and this is when its completely in the hand of teh courts so they cant really pass the buck to anyone else.
and am I the only one who is confused about the lifestyle of the judges? I mean I have the same concerns about lifestyles of ppl in civil services..police, customs, and military. where is that money coming from.
there is a problem.
silly billy, u are indeed silly..why did u have to post cowasjee's column
cowasjee speaks the truth when he blasts the govt about how it has dealt with the CJ case, but as soon as he starts trashing the hoodlum lawyers, he is going to be considered out of touch with reality and on military payroll and what nots :)
Blank statements. I see. Does this corrupt judiciary, happen to include all the judges appointed by the Caesar such as Justice Iqbal, Justice Bhagwandaas etc or just the CJP and his supporters? ![]()
could include them could exclude them and could exclude ifti and could exclude ifti. if we stop being concerned with personalities for a second and look at the ground reality, it is a fact that our court system and judiciary is a joke.
justice delayed is justice denied...as some may say
and as far as delaying justice, pakistani courts can set world records.
I say we strip Umer of his Khilafat title posthumously. ![]()
could include them could exclude them and could exclude ifti and could exclude ifti. if we stop being concerned with personalities for a second and look at the ground reality, it is a fact that our court system and judiciary is a joke.
justice delayed is justice denied...as some may say and as far as delaying justice, pakistani courts can set world records.
Caesar's record is weak in this arena too, my friend. So I would urge caution, lest we have to criticize him.
Govt. wanted to censor the beating this poor chap took at the hand of police. It took Geo and AAJ off the air for showing the same. ![]()
Post more pics, and I’ll post videos of police brutality.
I am glad the dorks at PML-Q took out the rally today. Atleast they wont be able to use “they’re making a political issue out of it” excuse from now on. I was sick of hearing that.
I dont have an objection to criticizing musharraf or anyone else who has not delivered on what they should have delivered. its not just his record that is weak in this arena, it is a record that is weak and has been weak for decades, successive governments did zilch to fix it, and all ppl associated with the judiciary have failed to bring about real improvements in how our courts work. (even our chaheetay ifti sahab)
as I said..in my previous post "if we stop being concerned with personalities for a second and look at the ground reality, it is a fact that our court system and judiciary is a joke"
how do you like dem apples?
Great. If objectivity is in today, then I would like to hear the credit due to the CJP for reducing the backlog of cases at SC from 28,000 to 10,000 in 20 months. So delaying justice is not an accusation for the CJP to be bothered abt.
Having cleared that up, the govt did make a lot of noise abt some Access to Justice program a few years back. It even created some model courts, I believe. It died its natural death. Who's to blame..I am not saying.
silly billy, u are indeed silly..why did u have to post cowasjee's column
cowasjee speaks the truth when he blasts the govt about how it has dealt with the CJ case, but as soon as he starts trashing the hoodlum lawyers, he is going to be considered out of touch with reality and on military payroll and what nots :)
eeerrr.....if you read his column's, he is rarely tough on a current govt.
i have had the pleasure of meeting him several times, and asked him about this, his answer was basically 'I have learned the limits, thus I play the game and enjoy my life in peace'.
His charitable work is not well known, but he has given away crores, a real decent man.
Great. If objectivity is in today, then I would like to hear the credit due to the CJP for reducing the backlog of cases at SC from 28,000 to 10,000 in 20 months. So delaying justice is not an accusation for the CJP to be bothered abt.
Having cleared that up, the govt did make a lot of noise abt some Access to Justice program a few years back. It even created some model courts, I believe. It died its natural death. Who's to blame..I am not saying.
The above facts you mentioned will be conveniently ignored by Mush supporters.
lets see realdeal, do you agree with the rest of what he says in the article.