Pakistani Journalists - a joke!

Re: Pakistani Journalists - a joke!

LOL, well said!

no, i meant the ppl protesting against the emergency and media blackout.

first of all gov't never has any strategy, don't kid yourself. And second, let's believe you and this is "the" strategy, back police etc off, and let looters run amock...then it's a pretty pathetic strategy.

Then please support your claim with links.

When did Mush deploy army against journalists in these years?

They think there were army men in civillian clothes especially called out to beat the lawyers!

^^ I don't understand why people just start believing the senseless propaganda. I mean our media is sooooooooooo biased, when it starts taking sides with some party, other become villains over night!

"Pakistani Journalists - a joke". Thats pretty rich coming from someone who can take rediff seriously. Not that i'm trying to defend paki journalists.

Army is ready for most of the scenerios. But you hit the nail on the head, you don't want to deploy the army too early - because if media doesn't see the riot - they will come back bashing army / musharraf that they used excessive force etc :)

Welcome to politics

its not only few journalist, but also news anchors, like that geo Anchor Sana..

While showing Channel 4 video, she said like 20 odd times that see BB is hit by the sun roof. infact if she would have let the back ground commentary to be aired ,then it would have been much better. .since in the commentary it was clearly said that, BB hair and scarf were moved ( due to the bullet entering entering her from back of her neck) and then she went inside the car through the sunroof, but definitely not hitting the sunroof!!!!!!!!!!!!

Only because, there is no idea of having riot control force or equipment. remember the day of earth quake in northern Pakistan, when the first disaster management team who reached the place was FRENCH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yaar pai Cheegum sahab, I told you I don't read that rediff. I just discovered Imran's pic there incidentally.

I do read Indian newspaper now and then though to see how the neighbors are doing, :)

And you probably also remember the Western media (including those usually hostile to Pakistan) showering praise for the efficiency with what Pak army helped rescue people there.

I am sorry, while Pak forces may have their flaws - as most of the forces in the world would do- I just can't take the blind criticism they always have to face.

That is why PEMRA was perfectly justified in putting a code of conduct in place for controlling such crap from Pakistani journalists. These people only pour oil on the fire, have stirred up controversy and encouraged hatred of the authorities by the irresponsible reporting. Some of them should be thrown in jail!

Where is Shahid Masood these days? :)

Exactly.

And they are so biased. Once they start taking sides, they will NEVER present a balanced view. Even if that means putting the country reputation at stake.

Don't know what else to say about those secondary school drop outs!

Bhai, that doesnt mean you BAN media... You cant arrest them and confiscate their equipment... The media itself HAS a right to defend itself, but Mush never allowed them...

The democratic and lawful way of controling media is through legislation, and through the courts...
But because Musharaf is a dictator who doesnt repect the law, and becasue he is a vindictive tyrant, he used the PEMRA as an excuse to fortify his position and silence discent.

All Media have a bias! There is no such thing as a balanced view as no side will ever agree...

Look at media around the word and see for yourself...

In America, there are those media outlets which support the govt and those that dont... FOX news has an obvious Right wing lean to it. CNN is accused of being to liberal..

The New York times has been accuse of being biased many times, so have others... So why are you singling out Pak Media?

Bias is one thing, and we have always had it, as far back as I can remember jasarat had a diff angle than jang etc, so biased viewpoint is one thing

but did u see reportign of outfits like aaj and geo during lal masjid seige? that should be one good example of what the issue is with some media folks.

and recall meterologist extraordinaire shahid masood stating that the cyclone/storm was a govt invention and there was nothing real.

I agree with you guys but lets not be so negative here. We do have some journalists who can analyze the situation really well.
In US where journalists aren't "leftovers", they do ask stupid questions and present stupid reports too. A recent example was Fox's report on California fires.

As far as being Biased is concerned, don't even go there. Have we not seen biased reporting on muslims, african issues, iraq war, bin laden issue, etc.

Yaar, in a country where these is rule of law, media that reports false statments and does things that would entail support of anti-state elements, is accountable to the COURT OF LAW, not the dictates of one man who suddenly decides the Media is violating the law!

The Media in a country where there is rule of law is allowed to defend itself in a court room before a judge!

If Aaj and Geo violated some Pemra ordinance, then by all means, take them to court! Otherwise, you have no case...
Since Mush is a dictator and there is no justice for anyone, Geo and Aaj and other media groups were forcfully and illegally shut down..

And if Shahid Masood is reporting ridiculous stuff like the govt creates huricanes, then who cares?!?! Is the govt so ridicuolous to be threatend by someone who makes such idiotic claims?
The viewing public will decide who stays on the air or doesnt, by not watching!

As for the Lal Masjid issue, the media was only doing its job... If the govt doesnt like it, then take them to the courts.. If the courts decide that the media overstepped its boundries, thats fine, then the media should be fined... But closing them down on the order of some dictator without even the recourse of the courts is wrong!