This one person was expressing his “honest” opinion to my mother [while I was sitting there too!] that “parhai larkion k lyay aik laanaT hae, ziada parhi likhi larkion ke nakhray boht hotay haen, koi parhi likhi larki jab mein daftar se ghar aaon ga to mujh ko apnay haath kee rotYaan bana k naheen khilayay gi. Unparh larkiaan are easier to ‘control’ and ‘manage’. Hamara to irada hae k choti [his younger sister] ko bhee BA karwa k rukhsat kar deyn ge…”
person is from good family, army cadet, graduated with a professional degree from one of best colleges of the country and is now doing a great job. SEEMINGLY well mannerred and decent i mean not the person u’d think would have such daQyanoosi views innit. Lekin…
Irem, I just opened a similiar thread in gen yar tell me about it girl, khanney peeney kai sivva orr bhi kaam hain iss duniya main when will these ppl realize that we have a mind and we girls very well know how to use
waisei main ajj kull aissey logho purr sahhhat tappey hoyee ho
mutt poocho
mahnoor…yaar it just amazes me…that why rnt these ppl thinking in the light of ISLAM…i mean, Islam made education compulsory for men AND WOMEN…and there’s a hadeeth that for education we should even go to China..
Okay, so i don’t derail your thread, let me respond to something you wrote:
Why do people assume that ‘parhi likhi larki[yaan]’ are going to make worse wives ? Just because you have a formal education, doesn’t make you a negative spouse.
Nadz honestly speaking the nikammay types who get bad grades coz they r so nikammay and they dont get into any decent colleges say this stuff…sour grapes ya know
yes well irem anty/ baji ( not to sure about u now ) from wat i have seen the girls i have seen ( very few of course ) sit at home all day do nothing think its a favour if they clean the house once a week think. make the husbands cook after they come from work at 6 pm or go out for dinner everyother day cause the beghum shiba cant cook wont cook.
would it be right of me to say all educated girls r like that?
i would like to have a wife who is well educated at least we can be at the same level.
lakin from wat i have seen i am scared to mary a girl imported from pakistan.
I am nikkama, naliak banda, mushkil se paas honey wala tu mujhey koi Phd larki tu milay gi nahi Our waisay bhi ziada tar parhi likhi larkeyoon ka dimaagh satwain asmaan per pohanch jata hai.
They look for a person higher or atleast equally educated. The girl who has done masters look down upon a graduate guy no matter how good he is.
**ziada parhi likhi larkion ke nakhray boht hotay haen, koi parhi likhi larki jab mein daftar se ghar aaon ga to mujh ko apnay haath kee rotYaan bana k naheen khilayay gi. **
well Irem u know what , u should bring to this misinformed person’s attention the fact that there is an equal number of “NAKHREELI” girls who are the least educated. I personally know ones who are barely Inter. pass leave alone BA !! Plus if a guy is the most ill-fated bechara then he might even get stuck with an unparh + nakhreeli + phooharr (opposite of the ever famous, well-loved “sugharr” of our society) !!
phir to “soney pe suhaaga” ho ga !!
on the other hand , he should also know theres a huge number of career women in pakistan (and pakistani women abroad) who work outside their homes, come home make fresh haandi roti , feed their bhookay hubbies and kids , clean the house etc…etc… My mom whoz a teacher, my mami jan whoz a civil engineer, my 2 phupoz and 1 bhabhi who r doctors are jeeti jaagti examples! All have professional degrees Mashaallah! Plus they are great home-makers too !
As they Sadi Sobi's signature says. You can take someone out of the gutter but you cant take the gutter out of them. Basically it doesnt matter if you are educated or not if you are brought up in a household that has such pathetic notions. No education can over come what someones parents teaches them.
So if the parents havent had a proper education even though their kids have there is a very high likely hold that the kids hold to the notions their uneducated parents instilled in them.
This is just another example of a jahil upbringing.
CM - it doesn't have to do with education i reckon. i mean, all human relationships at the end boil down to sensitivity of the other person's feelings and letting justice rule your actions. education prolly facilitates this maybe, but not necessarily.
anyways, i dont think one looks down at the other in terms of educational degrees? i really dont think a sensible female would do that, and ive seen cases where girls are more educated than their spouses, i dont think thats a big deal as such. its all abt how the two approach the issue and their basic repsect for each other as people and equal partners in the marriage.
The more educated the mother is, the better for her and her children's health and education. Besides that, she can help out her husband in his business instead of being a burden on him and instead of pulling him down from progressing.
Let's say some girl is not well educated and is from Pakistan. Suppose her husband is in America and he brings her in US. If she's well educated, she can learn english faster, help take care of kids (along with her husband), she can learn how to drive, groceries, and all that. On the other hand, if she isn't well educated, first of all she wouldn't know about her own health issue, then her child's, then her husband would have to drive everywhere, go to the groceries with her and a lot of other issues.
Some people say that 'parh likh kar kia karna hai, roti hi pakani hai', that's also wrong. If she's well educated, like I said before, she doesn't necessarily have to have a job, she can stay home and take care of her children in a better way, teach them (she has to be educated in order to teach something to her kids), and a lot of other things.
Education is not necessary only to get a job nor it guarantees you a job, it only improves you and help you become a better human being and succeed by making the right decisions based on knowledge.