Pakistani Guppies: Need your advice on Car Purchace

Salams my hamwatno :smiley: I need your advice on car prices and stuff :smiley: I wana talk to as many people as I can before I go for the purchase :smiley:

Hmmm. So I’m thinking zero meter Suzuki Mehran TVX or TVR whatever that new model is. I want a choti car and my cousin who used to be a car dealer told me its the best one and my dad agrees so this one it is inshallah.

I could either go for the leasing through the banks option or cash purchase [ofcourse thanks to my daddy :smiley: ] . I wanna know which banks are the best for car leasing…? I’ve heard Al Falah is the best?

Also can you share some tips and your personal experiences about car insurance in Karachi?

mehrbani te shukran :smiley:

What is your price range? (Min or max) that you want to spend?

learn how to drive :p

STRONGMAN - hmmm…im looking to spend max 3,50,000 approx for a cash deal…if its on lease though then i want to make a max downpayment of 1.5 laakhs n the total cost can exceed3.5 then, coz u have to pay interest on lease too innit…but i dont want a big car…and i do want a zero meter choti car…dont want second hand…
what do u think?

waleed i know how to drive :hoonh: come to karachi, i’ll drive u to sea view and push u into the sea u cheeky thing :mad:

hi Irem
so you going in for a big buuy! good luck! :k:
youre right BankAlFallah is the best with leasing options, with the lowest markup rates and insurance included in the packages fro monthly intallements. so i think if you go for the installmenmt thing, youll have the insurance covered up and hidden within the mnthly installment and the bank will deal with it on its own and youll have little to worry about. remember insurance is imp. even more so in khi. so whatver you do, do get insured.
secondly, the car choice seems right too, if its only majorly for your personal use. this car is built for the pakistani roads. im not surew hat the latest models are called, but the ones from last year were VXR and VX. the VXR had an AC and stereo while the VX didnt have both. id say go for the AC, music version. i cant be very sure about the exact price ranges, but roughly your range is right.
if you have no problems with a cash deal, go for it and then get it insured seperately, perhaps through your bank or the car dealer or even directly aproach an insurance company. if you go for the installments, no hassle there too, just pay the max down payment and youll get low instalments to pay each month.

and yeah second best after AlFallah is MCB in this regard.
and other model options could be the Alto, Cultus or the Daihatsu Cuore. with Cuore being a bit tougher than the suzukis. but, cuore and alto etc would be a bit more expensive going upto the 500000 ranges.

best of luck! :slight_smile:

don get a mehran :smack: duffer car hai. is ka first gear is so sticky can’t tell you :pukey:

Get an Alto VXR :smooth: choti car hai aur fit bhi hai. thori mehengi hai…leasing kar lo. alfalah and soneri both offers stack up well for leasing.

happy driving (i am sure ppl when they see you drive, dar ke maare footh path chor kar khamboon par charh jaein gae :hehe: )

Don't go for leasing option unless you own a business where you can
write-off this expense for tax return. Leasing option will clearly cost you
double the price after lease end(using the buy out option as well)+ The car will not be on your name. (Consider this as a long term rental)

with your 1.5 Rs you'r better off doing the financing. Your monthly payments shall be lower as well and the Car belongs to you.
For Karachi you must follow the local trend considering,;
Maintenance / Value for money / Re Sale value / Brand + Warranty

Good luck. Inshallah

-----x-------
“khamba charing and neechay halwai ki karahi aur kholta hua tail
dekhaing” :eek:

Raindance ahan…thanks for advice :slight_smile: cool tips, thankU!!!

KHAN bhai r u sure mehran is not good?
alto seems a bit too mehngi..hmmm…5 laakh kee…mein to luTT jaaon gi :halo:
hmm…guess will have to ask around more abt this alto/mehran thing..
thanks for telling me…i’ll esp check abt this first gear issue u mentioned…
soneri is good too? acha i’ll chek that out too
thanks!!! :slight_smile:
and i am a VERY GOOD driver arright :mad:

Harris thanks!! abhee tak soch rahi hoon, u know how it is, spend months thinking , then months planning, THEEEEEEEEEN u get it :smiley:
aur haan AC aur DECK kee wajah se to le rai hoon…coz we have two cars, one i dont drive and the one i do has no ac and a khatara deck :smiley: so i want my own one with a cool ac and deck INSHALLAH :smiley: :slight_smile:
thanks for the tips, some great info, thanks Harris!!! :slight_smile:

^kasmay i went over my list of cars that i hate and mehran still tops the list :halo: first gear ki tension kaafi garion main hai. is main beth kar achay se acha driver bhi anaari lagta hai. itni ‘smooth’ drive hai is ki wah wah :smiley: (no offence to mehran owners. i still lub you all :kiss: )

good driver :hehe: jaisa aap kahein. Yeh to aap ki aur tullay ki aksar sarak par mulaqaat ho gi to pata chalay ga :mocking:

khanu bhai r u serious? hmmm, will have to look into it now..

my dad suggested today that i shouldnt go for a zero meter just yet, shud get a second hand car in good condition and then after a yr get a new one…so will do that now inshallah… :slight_smile:

as for tullas, i look so masoom and shareef that i’m always allowed to go scot free :smiley: :mash:

jalein jalein :stuck_out_tongue:

^its not a bad idea to get a relatively decent 2nd hand car…iska faida yeh hota hai ke driver anari ho aur gari choti moti lag laga jae (karachi jaisay barey shehar main aisa hota rehta hai honestly) to ziada takleef na ho. Nai gari ho to banda aisay bacha bacha ke chalaata hai ke koi hadd nahin. :rolleyes:

Get a 2nd hand alto then…ziada purani nahin..max 2 saal purani.

happy driving.

khan bhai, really appreciate your advice...thanks so much :-)

hmmm...was talking to my cousin today who has been driving mehran for sometime and he said k koi masla nai hota mehran ke saath gear shear ka...
specially if i get a second hand one i can test drive it n stuff innit...

waise aap k khayal mein, whats the advtg of a second hand alto over a second hand mehran?

shukran

^obviously your cousin is quite passionate about his mehran :stuck_out_tongue:

partner…very simply put, alto over mehran is no comparison (and perhaps no brainer too). alto just handles better. i know its a bit pricey too, but hey, you don just get a car that takes you places…therez a certain thing called driving pleasure as well. Well obviously alto also doesn’t reside at the pinnacle of the so-called driving pleasure but it decidedly is a better automobile.

however, if your consideration is to get a thing that takes you places, get a mehran (or rickshaw :D)

re-sale wise, either won’t be bad.

alto looks :Pretty: too, innit? (aha..so i have used innit for the first time :smooth: )

dekho. a 2nd hand car is just that…2nd hand. it is all the more important that you get a 2nd hand car that is sturdier. mehran ka suspension sakht hai kaafi..it jumps a lot..drive ain’t too pleasurable. thoray arsay main itna bolnay lagay gi ke car stereo ki zaroorat nahin rahe gi :hehe:

good luck :stuck_out_tongue:

^^ hi khan,
for ma interest can you possibely list the names/brands/prices and ver brief specifications of kars in pakistan...no rush though, wat make is alto wageira wageira , thanks

Raindance thats a mighty task u've asked him to do...did you try checking if those details are avlbl on the net?

Khan bhai...hmmm...thank u...some very mufeed mashwaray u've given..will keep em in mind...thanks again :)

hmm..Khanzada you seem to have good knowledge on cars.
i never knew there was this gear problem etc with Mehran. i had heard that there used to be some problem in the old fx versions. but how come so many pakistanis still love this car. i think its the most common car.

but, Irem, definitely, the Alto is better than Mehran. a huge population has this car proabably as it gets the work done for less money. its not the strongest of cars. Daihatsus are much better ive heard; Cuore. the old Charades still run strong.
with this in view, a second hand (not very seconded type) car bought from a reliable seller seems to be a good idea.

so, the conclusion seesm to be that though mehran is very popular and works good, is not very expensive, has good resale etc its just a car that gets the work done. nothing special. but the qualities above are imp to most average budget tight economizing pakistanis. hence the good going of the car. but note that it isnt a totally bad car.
secondly the financing, most ppl go for it as many have a hard time aranging the hard cash for the big buy, so they are ready to forego some extra cash paid to the bank in form of markup/ineterest etc in the long run and prefer to have the car somehow. it is a hassle and a responsibilty that keeps you worried, but it works. so, if you can afford it outright, dont go for it. but if you want it easy on the bank account, its not a scheme from the mafia overlords, ppl acvtually do it and enjoy!
so no worries, takke it easy and enjoy hunting for a good car. in any choice you make, youll have a lot of happy examples to look at. nothings fatal. :)

and Khanzada,
i had a question..i need an opinion on the status of daewoo and hyundai cars in pakistan. i need to know if they are any good, especially daewoo. sine the new ones never get here, how are the old ones imported for taxis in the 90s? i hear there are many still lying at the ports or at showrooms at 0 meter. how much should they cost and is it a good investment?
thanks?

an alto and driving pleasure? :smack:

Raindance: Partner..itna gehra aur bhari zimmedari wala kaam :bummer: Ok..lemme try.

Toyota Corolla: 1.3..Toyota Indus motors introduced the new model in pakistan this year after about 10 years. The new model is selling like hot cakes. also comes in 2.0D…it is a hot favorite amongst car lifters so insurance premiums are high. great vehicle..i mean the corolla family. Given the fact that 1.3s are the best we have in petrol, this and Honda are the best cars, the mojority of public with the requisite purchasing-power can afford. Price for 1.3 is 849,000/- (ex factory). Great resale too. the old one still has no apparent weakness in its resale.

Honda Civic: Civic introduces its new models globally so we get good value for money in terms of features/technology from Honda. !.6 VTi is the rage..the best vehicle we get here in its class. Price is around Rs. 1,200,000/- Also comes in eXi (lower version of engine, price is around 950,000/-

Choti garion main Suzuki Cultus hai 1000 cc, Suzuki Alto 1000 cc, Suzuki Mehran 800 cc aur Daihatsu Cuore 1000 cc.

Cultus is the powered car in its class. Comes at a price too. Rs. 560,000/- with power windows, steering etc etc. but its negative point in its pickup. the car is basically underpowered for its design (we classify these power things as luxury items here..so bear with me please). Alto is next in line…good pickup and looks. also comes with cng fitted option for cost-conscious drivers. Price is around 465,000/- Cuore has the best pickup amongst 1000ccs..but that’s where it ends. its pricey in its class. over Rs. 540,000/- for a basic version..no power features.

Sorry forgot to mention suzuki’s model in the 1.3 series. Baleno J Series. Great pickup and power features…efi fuel intake as well. The car just lacks style overall…sucks badly in design. Great economy vehicle overall for people who do not think much of design. Price is around Rs. 765,000/-

Phew..bhai main ne kia bigara tha tumhara jo itna type karaya :stuck_out_tongue:

Haaris Bhai: Thank you for the kind comments..i just manage my way around cars simply because i have a little interest in them. About Hyundai and Daewoo…yar at best, these cars that are presently lying at port are juwwa. what i mean to say is for most of these cars, the bottom part has mostly rusted (which can be replaced)…paint has also given way (which can also be bake-painted again..basically as good as new). Daewoo specially handles quite well. Racer is there as part of its name because of a reason. Spare parts are plenty coz of the very many vehicles that throng the road. Price range for Daewoo racer of this kind is Rs. 330,000/- You will need to spend about Rs. 50,000/- on top of this (for bake paint and to replace the chadar at the bottom..plus tyres if you need to)..and voila you got a good car. Don’t dare to get it if you are looking for resale value. You can basically get the car converted into the newer 2002 version by spending about another 40 grand. You will get the new crystal headlights and front grill, coupled with the back lights and reflectors at the back.

Pra: Exactly…and what would you say of a Mehran as far as driving pleasure is concerned? :smiley: It is relative my friend..remember. Alto drives smoother and that’s that. Thanks anyways :stuck_out_tongue:

irem, i say forget mehran, alot, but go for Suzuki Cultus....u dont have to buy a zero meter bcz its a bit costly comparing to mehran/alto... so hmm just go for 2000/2001 model cultus .....

this car is niceee, small, and better in looks as well .....

so ya go for it..thats wot im gonnna get soon inshallah!