Pakistani English

*Originally posted by Akif: *
Every motorcycle was a Yaahmaa
No no no.. all motorbikes were 'Hondas' and all SUV's were 'Jeeps'.

Akif, listen to Faisal yaar..he is a bigger FoB than you are. Good going Faisal… :k:

Guys, can some Phultru please explain to Matsui what a Phultru is.

Matty.......does your kid use a feeder for milk? If so, you must have come across that long wire scrub used to scrub the inside of a bottle. Thats your phultroo right there:) Its a distortion of 'pull-through', a similarly designed device, meant to clean gun barrels.

Oh ok although we don;t that device, I have seen that in India. It still deosn;t explain Madhanee's usage of it. that might be a whole different application.

Matsui, how dumb can you get. Madhanee gave you the best analogy of cleaning gun barrels and then Akif went a step further by giving an everyday example of cleaning feeder bottles.

A phultru is someone who likes to stick himself in other people's things.
get it? You are th ebiggest phultru?

I have seen that in India

No wonder you trip India every other month.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Matsui,

A phultru is someone who likes to stick himself in other people's things.
get it? You are th ebiggest phultru?
funguy, The question mark at the end is not needed. Thank you.

*Originally posted by Akif: *
Quite similar for most people going to the UAE...who all went to 'dabaee', whether the guy was in Qatar, bahrain or Oman......it was always 'dabaee gaye hain'.

Unless UAE attacked and captured Qatar, Bahrain and Oman in the last few hours, I am pretty sure that these are not part of UAE.

see Akif...ur one of those too. :p

Actually some people classify the whole of Arabia as Saudi Arabia. The reason they give is if its a desert than its Saudi Arabia.

Unless UAE attacked and captured Qatar, Bahrain and Oman in the last few hours, I am pretty sure that these are not part of UAE.

and yet for all purposes it seems to be. I remember back in 94 when for a month I studied in a school in Karachi, my Social Sciences teacher asked me where I had come from and I said Muscat. Muscat is where? me:Oman. Oman.. is that in Dubai?

other pakistani english examples

beauty parlour - beety paalor
pajero - pijaaro
market - maarkeet (you have to conform. the vagon driver will NOT stop if you say market)
pineapple - pain apple

i remember an uncle in my father's bank ages ago saying to an angrez client "Okay so I will see you in situmber".

my dad calls pliars "plaas". hehehehehehe

lol at "jenin motor parts".

you guys are hilarious!

funny thread ...

a friend was talking about "car-painter" (carpenter) today.

this friend did not talk about his fancy? i thought he got engaged recently :)

fancy as in fiancee?

yes..his fancy :P

u have never heard this before?

I've heard fyaancee

funny thread..

i always wondered about that word dacoit.

stephanee for a spare tire
double roti- sandwich bread...

don't know if this is completly desi to do this but in Dubai was shocked at how mnay stores that were called so and so Saloon..I was wondering about the drinking patterns of dubai .till i realized it was salon..just spelled saloon...

Pepsi/coke and similar drinks have different names in different countries.

In the US, they are referred to as 'soda'.
'Pop' is another word used for them, I dont know where though. UK maybe?

In Pakistan, we just call em 'botul'. and the burgers call em 'drink'.

Drink peeni hai?
nai mein ney abhi abhi botul pee hai.

*dad calls pliars "plaas". *
:) Paich for 'screw', and paich-kus for screwdriver, though they are jenin translations, they just sound funny.

aww man I really miss Pakistan now lol

I love this stuff :)

sticker - es-teekor

special - espeshal

stupid - estoopaid

*******- baaastaard

My dad has some good ones

Shania Twain - Shaaneeya Twain

Poltergeist - poultar geest

pizza - peeesa

Mc Donalds- MAC Donaalds

a friend of mine used to pronouce all her w's as v's... english was her second language.. I'm not sure where she got the v sound from?

So she would talk like this

Vaqas ! I dun no vhat you aar saaying yaar?

I thought it was cute... in fact the only way she could understand me is if I talked exactly like her lol

I love accents ... they're very interesting.