Pakistani English

Or subcontinental english, since I believe such expressions exist in India as well.
In Pakistan, we have a lot of english words that are screwed beyond recognition, and those messed up forms are actually considered to be correct, and you would have a hard time convincing someone of the opposite.

Far Ceiling
False ceiling of course. However, in Pakistan, all businesses selling false ceiling fixtures advertise it as ‘Far Ceiling’. If you tell them its ‘false, not far’, they think youre bonkers. Its ‘far ceiling’, because, well, its far above!

Dacoit
This word always amused me. Its not an english word. Neither american. Its of course derived from the urdu/hindi word ‘dakoo’, the english for which would be ‘robber’ or ‘burglar’. But the word ‘dacoit’ for robber and ‘dacoity’ for robbery are widely used, not just by people, but by the mainstream press as well. Everyday you’d see a headline in the papers that goes something like ‘Daring daylight dacoity in Darakhshan. Dacoits do away with dozens of dollars and dinars’.

Racken Pinion
Rack-and-pinion, two parts of the steering mechanism in a car. My mechanic once told me the racken of my car needs repairs. I said whats that. He said its the part that goes above the pinion. I said ‘Oh, the rack’, he said ‘yes, the racken’. :slight_smile: A few days later, I also saw it written on a workshop. ‘yahan par racken pinion ka kaam tasalli baksh kiya jata hai’. Oh well, racken it is.

Rod Iron
Wrought Iron of course. But the craftsmen who make wrought iron furniture, say its ‘rod iron’, since most of its components look like rods. Its written in bold all over furniture shops…both in english and urdu. Rod iron.

The list must go on:) I’ll add more soon.

Akif bhai, interesting thread...not exactly words, but these phrases are used sometimes... OPEN THE LIGHTS, OPEN THE FAN, WHATS THE TIME IN YOUR WATCH, GIVE THE EXAM :D

more later :D

I think many of the words misspoken are because of how they sound in Desi accent/pronounciation for the layman. For example, to speak "Wrought" you really have to know how to prounounce the word with precise tongue-twist. "rought" part can easily become "rod" since it's easier to pronounce. I noticed some of these sorta words as well written on ad banners/boards etc on the road.

dont forget jenin motor parts :) (genuine)

akif, if they want to use dacoit, why not let them, after all it is included in the dictionary now, so whatever their reasons may be for using dacoit instead of robber or burgular..its not an incorrect word

Career is pronounced as Carrier.

this one pisses me of the most....and is the most common.

Then we have Laacs, for laakh in urdu.
I was in an argument with this uncle of mine, he was like...no its British, its British. I said, i went to a British school, never once did I read this word anywhere. The only place where this words mentioned are those Pakistani text books.

fraudia....im not even stopping them from using racken:D Its just that the way some forms of certain words have made their 'legitimate' place in desi english is funny and impressive. The way people are so convinced that its rod, not wrought.

Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
Then we have **Laacs
*, for laakh in urdu.
I was in an argument with this uncle of mine, he was like...no its British, its British. I said, i went to a British school, never once did I read this word anywhere. The only place where this words mentioned are those Pakistani text books.

lakh is actualy in the dictionaries as well, which point to its indian roots, but as far as I know it is in the english dictionary now and thus can be considered an english word.

akif

rod vs wrought is a diff thing than using dacoits. for all intents and purposes it is a legitimate word and is being used appropriately.

I think ‘chor’ and ‘dakoo’ gives much better description than the generic "robber/burgler’. ‘Chor’ is typically used for someone who steals from you but doesn’t confront you. ‘Dakoo’, on the other hand, is more like a “mugger” who aims a gun at your temple and makes away with valuables, so the word ‘dacoit’ is a natural extension.

In any case, if you check dictionary, as fraudia mentioned, you will now find the word associated with India.

[thumb=H]dacoit12080_8267028.JPG[/thumb]

shabash, Faisal.

Interesting thread.

Here are some words that are pronounced in a uniqe way by desis:
Menu = meenoo
Buffet = boofe
Vegetable = vegeetable
Schedule = shedool

By the way, IMO, the dictionary definition of 'dacoit' is slightly misleading. A dacoit doesn't have to be part of a gang. He can be a sole properietor as well. Or no?

The one that pisses me off the most and is used by Indians and Pakistani alike is desert for dessert. This PhD guy at my work announces 'time to eat desert' every frikkin outing we have together.

^ Next time take some sand in a cup and offer it to him. Will drive the point across beautifully.

what gets on my nerves is the way they pronounce the american states
Florida _ floreeeda
Texas -Tex Az
Chicago _chee cago

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
By the way, IMO, the dictionary definition of 'dacoit' is slightly misleading. A dacoit doesn't have to be part of a gang. He can be a sole properietor as well. Or no?

No, your opinion is wrong. that would be a Dakoo. Dacoits are usually bandas that are part of a gang.

well, dacoits are a group, dacoit is a member of the group.
I am assuming that a dacoit can have a solo career on the side where he does small gigs which does not require the presence of the whole gang.

but to be considered a dacoit, he must be a member of a gang, whether he has a side venture or not is a diff story.

I suppose that their could be dacoits who all have solo careers, and take on independent projects, but the fact that they belong to teh gang gives them the dacoit credentials.

must be a union thing or something

a person who does not belong to a gang and takes on solo assignments is just a low level robber, not a certified dacoit

*Originally posted by Matsui: *

No, your opinion is wrong. that would be a Dakoo. Dacoits are usually bandas that are part of a gang.
Dakoo can be used as both singular and plural. Dacoit is singular. Dacoits are plural. Meaning-wise dakoo and dacoit is the same thing. Plus there is also "dakait". Check the screen shot above.

Phultru is my favorite. Pull-Through is a gizmo to clean the gun barrel with in case you didn’t know.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Dakoo can be used as both singular and plural. Dacoit is singular. Dacoits are plural. Meaning-wise dakoo and dacoit is the same thing. Plus there is also "dakait". Check the screen shot above.

Faisal, I have made a solemn pledge to not read adn cut and paste siht on gs.

So why don;t you glean the info and write an editorial on it.

Madhanee: What are you talking about?

Back in the 80s, anyone who went to the UK was referred to as 'london gaya hai', even though the guy may be stuck in bradford, or birmingham. I doubt people even knew london was a city, and UK was the country. Quite similar for most people going to the UAE...who all went to 'dabaee', whether the guy was in Qatar, bahrain or Oman......it was always 'dabaee gaye hain'. Every motorcycle was a Yaahmaa, and every car a Tota. When a mitsubishi lancer drew oohs and aahs from onlookers. Those were the days:)
Aah off topic, but the heck with it.