Keeping in mind that a good number (majority?) of Pakistanis reading this message are immigrants or children of immigrants so I am sure that a certain bias should be expected.
There is always a lot discussions in the Western world about immigration (both legal and illegal) but I want to take a Pakistan specific perspective. Pakistanis have been migrating to the West even before the partition of British India, but the rate has progressively been increasing. Pakistanis comprise of one the larger minorities in European countries such as the UK, Norway and others. While Pakistani emigration to Canada, US has also increased, they are “lost” in the shuffle and definitely not as visible.
Is this a good thing? Should we be exporting labor, brainpower?
I say it is a great thing. For emigrants and for Pakistan. Remittances to Pakistan are in the Billions, the fact that our countrymen are abroad and hopefully making a better life for themselves and their families should be welcomed. Furthermore, this international “exposure” give many Pakistanis the chance to visit Pakistan with new mindset. I hope that the trends continue with Pakistanis emigrating to a new country, perhaps staying, perhaps returning after a bit of time.
Totally agree with u! This is what India did and now is earning lots and lots from the NRIs sending money home!
I have studied with Indians in UK and they come with the mindframe of not only getting a degree but also getting a British passport. I see more and more pakistani brothers thinking on similar lines.
I doubt pakistan will ever become like that! I have even heard that "goreys" are going to India for full time employment! not just teaching english and sightseeing, but proper multinational jobs!! I am not even sure there is a single gora in pakistan!?!
I have done my deed. I came here and am bringing my brother here and then Inshallah our parents. together we can be as far spread in the world as any other country!!
I doubt pakistan will ever become like that! I have even heard that "goreys" are going to India for full time employment! not just teaching english and sightseeing, but proper multinational jobs!! I am not even sure there is a single gora in pakistan!?!
I have done my deed. I came here and am bringing my brother here and then Inshallah our parents. together we can be as far spread in the world as any other country!!
^ Good on you mate.
I wish all the best in your plans. I think Pakistanis should emigrate to whichever country that allows them better opportunities.
Patriotism for Pakistan has nothing to do with the economic realities on the ground, I would rather see my countrymen succeeding abroad rather than stagnating in Pakistan.
The marriage system is also very helpfull in increasing pakistani numbers abroad. this means that every 20 years, pakistani paopuation abroad should at least double!
I wonder if Pakistan's foreign affairs ministry is still pushing for bilateral discussions on migration.
I know that Germany has been looking for highly qualified persons (Medical, IT, Engineering) and their technical institutes are very affordable compared to other European countries.
I know that many Pakistanis are looking for additional information so please post useful websites, information about schools/institutes. Lets make this a thread to help interested people migrate from Pakistan. I am willing to answer questions pertaining to parts of Europe and the US.
^^ god i hope not...already way too many pakis in Canada
Merc, why are you so dead set against Pakistanis migrating? Even if you're Canadian born, you're parents/grandparents must have come to Canada.
I'm assuming you still identify with Pakistan on some level or else you wouldn't be part of this community, so why the hatred for Pakistanis who want a better life, more education?
Yes "bander" seems to be one of those who has climed the tree and now wants to eat all the "keelee" on his own!!! lol
Yaar I have asked PK admins to have a seperate section on immigration. I was having a tough time a few months ago in extending my visa so I know exactly how it feels to be on the verge of deportation!
I have studied the UK border agency website inside out and also seen 2 lawers so I am willing to help on UK issues.
Merc, why are you so dead set against Pakistanis migrating? Even if you're Canadian born, you're parents/grandparents must have come to Canada.
I'm assuming you still identify with Pakistan on some level or else you wouldn't be part of this community, so why the hatred for Pakistanis who want a better life, more education?
Maybe it might have to do with the fact that some Pakistanis who migrate to the West, still cling on to their backward customs and still hate the land they migrated to.
I'll be honest...I rather live in America than to live in Pakistan. I feel more kinship with America than I do with a country I was merely born in. I'm sure mercenary2k feels the same about Canada.
Something that is absent among many Pakistanis living in the West these days...a love of their adopted home. It's not against Islam to love your adopted home.
^^ yaar not only that...anytime when a bunch of pakistanis gather....all the ladies start their gossip...the uncles with their political mumbo jumbo....the smell of desi food....undisciplined children....and them nosing in each other's business........
i live in a predominately italian/portugese area of toronto...and no complaints....as soon as you go to a desi area...its a meela bazaar...with bollywood songs....people speaking in urdu and thick accented english....
one thing that is shocking...i know kids who have been here since they were very young...and they still speak english with an accent...which is because at school they only make other desi friends...and they all speak urdu...and no assimilation
my parents came here to get away from pakistan....not to create a mini pakistan in canada
^^ yaar not only that...anytime when a bunch of pakistanis gather....all the ladies start their gossip...the uncles with their political mumbo jumbo....the smell of desi food....undisciplined children....and them nosing in each other's business........
i live in a predominately italian/portugese area of toronto...and no complaints....as soon as you go to a desi area...its a meela bazaar...
my parents came here to get away from pakistan....not to create a mini pakistan in canada :)
mercenary, I do not believe that is exclusive to us as a whole. If you go to any city with a multicultural setting, you will see Little Italia, Little Greece, Chinatown, etc.
But the difference between areas with a large Pakistani community, and those that I listed, is that the latter express appreciation for the land they migrated to.
^^ its a tricky question...there are many pakistanis who love their adopted countries and appreciate what it has given them....but there are other more religious pakistanis who look at the ills of the muslim world and blame the west including their adopted countries...
so on a whole...secular people adopt better to canada than religious people