Pakistani Emigration

Yaar why do u want to forget your roots? U want to become a coconut? Why?? I personally love the mini pakistan area such as southall in london! If u cook paki food then u are going to smell of curry! that is our identity!! and wise people say, never forget your identity. "awkat" in other words!

Do u think the indians or sikhs are better who start drinking, eating pig just to mix in with the gorey? Lanat hai aisi mixing per! I have seen here that unless u go to the pub every weekend u cannot be part of the british society and that is why we are condemed as a society.!!

I hate to break it to you, but Pakistan was an artificially-made country.

What culture does it have? Heck, I've seen some Pakistanis try so hard to disassociate themselves from its Indian identity and emulate a Saudi.

No, British Pakistanis are condemned as a society because many of them hate Britain, the way of life, and the fact that many British Pakistanis have often been caught trying to commit terrorism, and not because of not willing to visit pubs.

If you don't like the society of the West, here's a thought: don't move there. It's not that hard, is it?

Re: Pakistani Emigration

^^ Brother, I would be happy to follow the Saudi culture rather than the hindu culture any day!! It is a muslim country and this is what pakistan was based on! Islam!

I dont know what u mean by artificially made contry? The muslim majority parts of british india were made into pakistan with exception of Kashmire as we all know and are angry about.

I do mix with the white people but that is because I dont fully follow the sunnah! If I grew a bear and went to the mosque 5/day. and did not speak to poorly dressed white women then I am sure I will be discriminated big time!! And if u are discriminated against, u get angry and hence the people start looking for ways to relieve their anger and get brainwashed by terrorists.

Why should we not move to the west? If is for the better life! And it is a fundamental right for a human to seek a better life! We just want to stick to our culture and values! Why is it that the american soldiers are allowed everything from discos to alcohol in the holy country of saudia arabia? Same thing we are asking for to let us practice our religion and our culture!!

But the gorey want us to become cocunuts! But we wont! Mashallah Islam is the fasted growing religion in UK & USA which is a miracle as it is against all odd!! And I am proud that the pakistani community is at the forefront of this expansion even compared to arabs who get distracted by the "western colours"!!!

*^^ yaar not only that...anytime when a bunch of pakistanis gather....all the ladies start their gossip...the uncles with their political mumbo jumbo....the smell of desi food....undisciplined children....and them nosing in each other's business........

I don't know how that unique to Pakistanis? My very blonde female friends also gossip because that's what SOME women do regardless of where they come from. As for the uncles politics, how is that different from the politically connected older men who like to talk about some thing that interests them? Well you know where I am going with this. Pakistanis being family oriented might have some of these traits but it's hardly unique to us. I can come out with a smilar list for causcasian hicks but that would be equally narrowminded.

i live in a predominately italian/portugese area of toronto...and no complaints....as soon as you go to a desi area...its a meela bazaar...with bollywood songs....people speaking in urdu and thick accented english....

I don't think you truly know the Italian or Portuguese culture, both are very similar to Pakistan in many respects. I think the difference is that the areas that you mention might be more assimilated or are more accepted in Canadian society.

one thing that is shocking...i know kids who have been here since they were very young...and they still speak english with an accent...which is because at school they only make other desi friends...and they all speak urdu...and no assimilation

my parents came here to get away from pakistan....not to create a mini pakistan in canada**

I hear you. I think assimilation occurs at varying speeds and paces, but those kids might end up going to college and being exposed to the larger society or they may not. Either way they are much more assimilated than their parents so when they have kids in Canada, the process will be furthered.

I don't have a self-hatred for Pakistanis because I recognize that everyone is circumstances have been different, so some Pakistani emigrants might not be as assimilated because that is a luxury that they don't have, they would rather worry about having enough money to feed and house their family.

When I was living in NYC right after college, I had many friends that graduated from exceptional universities, secured some well paying jobs, but you know who I would connect with the most? The Pakistani taxi drivers who would pick me up late at night from work and we would go to a late night 24 hour Pakistani hole in the wall joint and to eat and talk. I still remember those conversations the most because they made me step away from the bland, sterile furniture of the office, the spreadsheets that I would stare into the entire day, and the fake collegiality of the firm. Maybe you might see them as uneducated villagers with bad BO, and speaking broken english, but I wanted to look beyond that because many of them would work 16 hours, and would try to save every dollar to send back to Pakistan so that their kids would go to good schools, and their wife would have a nice house to live. Maybe they didn't know about deodorant but once they did (once I told them) they used it regularly. Some wanted to learn English but didn't have the time other made efforts even as small as asking for direction in English despite knowing the City inside an out.

I'm not hating on you for thinking a certain way, but if you try to realize the different perspectives of migrants, you will see things are not black and white as they might seem from a distance.

first, its not Pakistan, its Pakistani who are wannabes :p
second the premises of Muslims demand of a separate homeland was based on two nation theory so it our fault to not to act responsibly and unable to follow the requirements, which not only defines us on an individual level, but also sets our ideology.

ps. the west you see today, has become like this after the world wars. otherwise they also had the same living-conventions as what to denote to East today.

ps2. if you or M2K likes canada or anyother country except for Pakistan than good for those countries, but expressing your hatred towards Pakistan on a Pakistani forum is really Pakistanish and it doesn't reflect any western admiration.

western country never speaks themselves the hatred they have for east, instead they sow the seed in the locals.

so think before you speak!