Pakistani Culture of Pakistan - Today's perspective.

A friend of mine is currently in Pakistan for a job interview. She called me to give me updates on how things are coming along. It was amazing to hear about many things unislamic still going on in pakistan. She is finding out stuff about people’s personal lives that I think are way too personal. She’s not even interested and yet she’s hearing stuff left & right. Some conversations have also led to people talking openly about sex, drugs, alcohol within the culture. Extra-Marital affairs and other sexually related acts.

I am confused…Is this just the “creme” of the pakistani urban society or are others partaking in this kind of stuff also ?

Sadly, the pakistan I remember from the past is no longer the case. I cannot imagine that married people are sleeping around with other married folk. Not one or two, but quiet a few ! I never knew this was so common in our society !! Is this actually for real ?

We put down the west for their society’s problems but are “pakistanis” any better ? I would love to hear what others have to say about this.

Re: Pakistani Culture of Pakistan - Today's perspective.

Yeah I always thought this 'wife swapping' stuff was for the socialites in Karachi. I'm sure the alcohol and drugs are more widespread. I could imagine how shocking it would be to hear these kinds of stories about Pakistan. I still imagine it to truly be the "Land of the Pure".

Pakistan is just as bad as the US, there's no difference between the two now.

^ Thats what my fiance says too and hes spent most of his life in pakistan.

I dotn think it was ever good :-/ I dont know why people think they can go back to pakistan and find pakness(purity), more like the lack of :-/

Re: Pakistani Culture of Pakistan - Today’s perspective.

I’ve spent enough time there to know that it’s not a nice place , at least for me .. I dont miss a single thing about it :no:

Have you ever had those fobish friends that think they are so cool cuz they smoke, drink and have sex like no other lol I have never had any friends in pakistan :frowning: I only stay and chill with my cousins who are too shareef to be fun.

If I ever go, I am gonna make sure i have cool fobish friends :snooty:

I think they are funny :cb:

OMG MINE TOO :grumpy: Even shopping and stuff, they’re too shareef, they dont enjoy it as much as I do, or can’t afford it or dont go out or watever.. meanwhile their bros are hoes.. grrrrrrr

^ lol sooooo know what you mean! other people go to pakistan and they have all these stories and I am just like yeah I hung out with my cousin like every other year that we have went. Not this time though :D

Here are a few examples of how weird pakistanis are:

1. At boutiques, they are so surprised that we came from america and want full sleeves
  2. They think its weird that we pray five times a day
  3. Once it was time for namaz and my brother was hanging out with my cousin and his friends. They were gonna go somewhere so my bro was like lets pray before we go so we dont miss the time, and the friend went "yeh america se aya hai ya mecca se"
  4. They assume you have a boy friend or girlfriend

Theres some more things that happened but i cant remember them

It’s funny, being first generation, my parents painted such an idyllic picture of what Pakistan WAS. What they remembered and what they left behind was frozen in their minds and they beat us over our heads with this ‘perfect Pakistan’. Sometimes I imagined how we would have been if we stayed there. Obviously now I know we would have been more messed up.

^ I totally agree with you Saima. I am also of your generation age group. During our school years, I know we had different social pressures back then, but I firmly believe that if we lived in pakistan, today, we would be a totally different person all together. Our thought process, our ideals, our ethics etc.

Zameen Asmaan difference from who we are as individuals today.

lol I sooo know what you guys mean. I would proably be married to an old filthy rich guy.

Although few years back I used to have the perfect pakistan picture in my head too. I think it did come from parents and other relatives.

How ironic…read this latest blog entry from some guy in pakistan.

http://www.raw.com.pk/blogs/rameez/

I agree there are so many bad things going on in Pakistan etc but you know what I still love my country. It gave us a name and i am damn proud to say i am Pakistani. We [our forefathers] fought like true soldiers and got this land. It took numerous lives to get this land. If it was part of India today i give indians all the respect no doubt that] i know i would hate to be called an indian because i am not!

Not every single person back home is a bad person. There are people who have a very balance understanding of how world is outside of their homeland.

I will tell you one thing for sure. I would NEVER marry a ABCD from here. I do want my husband to atleast have spend good part of his life back home - this way he has understanding of things. ABCD guys don’t do a dang thing for me…Yeah i like Fobish guys… Sue me!

I think we have done heck of job in past almost 60 years. What America is Today we are pretty much close to them in a lot of ways. It will not take us another 100 year to get where America/Uk etc is. I think we are smart Muslim nation.

America is Where it is because of people of various differnet back grounds. No matter how many negative sides i see of Pakistan it still ours… :~)

I do plan on taking my kids inshallah and live there for atleast good 2-4 years. Our culture is mashallah very rich with so many wonderful things.

I don’t hate America at all it made me who i am today. To an extent i am glad where i am. I know years down the line people from outside will inshallah take good things back home.

I don’t see many indians complaining about their homeland what the F is wrong with us Pakistanis. India has more poverty and more diseases…

Education gives you a lot of things but culture also teaches you alot. I love our pinds, our food, our clothes, our langauge, our manners, i love that smell when you land of the plane that smell of mitti, Its a beautiful Country… ETC - rock.

We still clean our behind with lota not with tissue paper :digust:

I feel terrible for those people who have lost their sense of culture. They don’t belong here and nor do they belong back home PATHETIC.

no matter what PHIR BHI DIL HAI PAKISTANI

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD

:jhanda:

more and more money, what for??

drugs, alcohol, designer see through and short tight clothes

buying an islamic modest life is cheap
buying a western "haraaam" life is expensive

that's why the richer you are the tougher it is to stay "pak"

as pakistan is gettting more and more rich, sex, drugs alcohol will spread farther into the society, just look at what happened to arabs after they got showered with pertodollars ;)

they are two sides of any coin:
developpment and money brings more knowledge, and less injustice or corruptiun
but money and developpment brings, individualism, selfishness, family ties breaking up, drugs, alcohol and sex replacing "islamic" values

:smiley: WELL PUT :snooty:

OOOO, another pak bashing thread... ooo I am so impressed... ooooo You the chosen ones were special to be born in the west... ooooooooooooo so you don't drink and sleep around.........ooooooooooooooooo if they sleep around they are kaafirs, if they don't they are too shareeeffff.............. ooooooo and you so can't get over your prejudices........... well sucks be to you.

is it 14 August already? j/k

Pakistan :k: