Pakistani Cinema will never be revived

Because Pakistan is an Islamic State. Can you imagine lots of movies being made in an islamic state? India/America are secular countries and thats why their movie industries are popular.

Most Mullahs want to ban woman showing some skin on tv but at night they probably watch them on tv

I have some great ideas for movies in Pakistan but they will never work cuz Pakistanis don’t have much wealth to finance them and I doubt a lot of talent exists anymore.

Re: Pakistani Cinema will never be revived

So, are you a director looking for work? Scriptwriter? Actor? Or an Indian hating on Paksitan?

Im actually a Pakistani born in karachi.

I'm a director-screenwriter
I have wrote about 5 screenplays and will go to Hollywood after I'm done university. I;m just tired of seeing India being ahead of Pakistan in everything. The main reason Indian's are united and we only care about greed. And India is a secular country whole were stuck in the 19 century.

have you seen our music industry, its huge and we have people like rog and annie with dancing girls in there music videos

our fashion industry has made its stamp in the world by holding its very first fashion week which featured quite revealing dresses

all these music videos and fashion shows are held and filmed in pakistan

plus the entire country is obsessed with bollywood/lollywood (but thats the double standard in our country that we praise katrina kaif for dancing in a bikini but if hadiqa kiani wears a sleeveless then the world is about to end)

i dont know pakistan is a complicated little country....but if your talking about the film industry well then we had khuda ke liye a few years back and the new movie by shoaib mansoor titled bol (which has iman ali and atif as the leads) so i think we are at a start to revive our entertainment industry

Indians are not united, what makes you think that? There are riots all the time, in all corners of India. Secularism doesn't bring good, it's the people who bring good and making movies doesn't unite a people. =)

Yeah looking forward to Bol cuz of Shoaib Mansoor and Atif Aslam. But there should be more film-makers like him

Ramchand Pakistani was another good movie.

Aashiq why is there so much self-pity in your words? Being optimistic is the first step to reviving the film industry. Your talk about Islam and films not being compatible isn't true as Iran, Egypt and Turkey have successful film industries.

The present state of cinema has been a wake up call to those people that thought they could fool the audiences with their cheap and meaningless films. Now you can see the likes of Sangeeta, Syed Noor & Co changing the direction of their film making and opting for more sensible stuff.

The following Films are expected to be released in 2010-2011:

Bol by Shoaib Mansoor

Chup by Shaan

Price of Honor by Syed Noor

Kitni Haseen Hai Zindagi by Reema

Slackistan by Hammad Khan

is Pakistan an islamic state? I thought it was based on secularism and the majority of people have secular ideas etc....

....I know that we have problems with extremism etc. but people do watch movies...it's just a pity that the industry is dead due to lack of creativity, lack of resources especially the government is doing absolutely nothing to support the industry and many more things which leaves the door open for the Gujjar produced "movies"

Who says an Islamic state can't have a movie industry? Look at Iran, which produces many fine movies.....

Eventhough Shoaib Mansoor has made a movie or two that doesn't save the industry....in order to start/support an industry the government is really MUCH needed...it looks like arts is not on the agenda at all....

paksitan film industry or lollywood can surely make films (both glamorous and art type) without the aid of vulgarity or woman showing skin . we have the talent. i have read so many great stories myself and i always think "yaar is pe kitni zabardast film bane gi".

finance is another topic.

^ I agree, so much stuff out there that can inspire a masterpiece of a film in Pakistan but without finance and government support the task becomes difficult (not impossible).

BTW I've noticed 3 threads on this forum that refer to the same topic - moderators could you please try merging them??

Yes, you hit the nail on the head.

The country is mostly populated by hypocrites who love watching Devdas-type bollywood films but are the first to attack singing and dancing on their national television. Basically, mostly a closeted mullah lot who still enjoy a salacious bollywood dance number. Thats their idea of entertainment.

The only place in Pakistan where creativity CAN survive in theory, IMHO, is Karachi. But they've handed that city over to political thugs, rangers and now a whole bunch of unwanted individuals. People there have a different mindset than Lahore, which only churned out bad Mujra-based films even in its glory days.

You're right the Indians are united, more tolerant and overall have a desire to project their country in a positive light. Pakistanis? -- Slasher flicks with burqas (Zibahkhana), Extremism (Khuda Ke Liye) is really the furthest their cynical vision goes.

The last 20 or 30 years have done much damage to the belief that we CAN make films. The fact is that film making is not rocket science. Also, the population needs to correct its expectations and be more accepting of non-musical films, films they would call "dramas". The television industry also needs to go back to producing soap operas and not high end made-for-tv-films in the name of drama. Financing is another huge issue, basically the major issue which prevents even established media personnel from jumping into films.

Ideally, like minded people need to get together in Karachi, get support of some multinational or some finance institution and churn out 5 or 6 low budget movies every year, get a return on their investment and work towards making their projects bigger in scope every year as the profits come in.

A.
you are giving indian movies too much credit. India is a backwards third world country, which is reflected in the low mentality film industry. People who like them are mentally unstable.

B.
Moving on, Pakistani cinema and Indian cinema, to the rest of the world are the same. No sane person can tell the difference outside of pak/ind.

C.
Modern day Independent Pakistani cinema is bringing wonders. As film making becomes cheaper, as it goes digital, more people in pakistan are getting opportunity to experiment with the median. There is proof. I have seen Pakistani's in film schools in NYC, and Chicago create some amazing cinematographical pieces, which are ten times better then the "best indian/pakistani filum" out there.

no worries. It's already being revived. There are three young but promising digital film schools in karachi.

I agree with stalker, Karachi should be the central hub for film-making.

And @ Above

Most Indian movies are 3rd class and rip offs of East Asian movies and Hollywood movies but with money anything can look good.

Why are we making this thread a bash-India thread?? and dr. lulworth if you are watching all of this talented pakistani movies - there is still a long way to go because if the movies can't be distributed inside the country due to lack of infrastructure (cinemas mostly) or released officially on DVD due to no funds etc. How can that revive an industry?

No-one mentions the fact that our pathetic excuse for a Government has still put 65% tax on cinemas in Punjab...how is anyone supposed to make a profit??

Don't flatter yourself. I personally, don't differentiate between indian and pakistani junk. I feel the same way about both, essentially.

You are talking about profit. Reviving an industry doesn't mean they have to be supreme money making blockbusters. I've been seeing quality in the films I am talking about. This means the message of these cinematographic pieces is universal and has a world wide appeal. Most film makers aren't worried about a few bucks right now. They actually make money in film festivals, but they have a wider view. How do I know? I'm one of them.

Bol is probably the only film worth waiting for. Shaan has a track record of making tall claims which simply do not match up to the end product.

I cringed when I viewed the trailer of Price of Honor. Melodramatic expressions, zoomed-in frames (apparently, the rest of the world moved from that technique after the 70s/80s) and what seemed like some over-the-top acting. No hopes here.

Don't expect much beyond a crude bollywood rehash from the Reema movie.

Slackistan doesnt look like a film. Moreover, the english dialogues are uttered with stage-play effect in the film. Not much hopes there.

Yeah I agree Bol is probably the only movie expected to be good in that list.
Watched the trailer for Slackistan and it looks like those Indo-Pak serials produced in Canada instead of a feature film.
Price of Honor is nothing special and outdated

True Price of Honor is of the melodramatic nature but for someone like Syed Noor this is experimentation (and a much needed break from Saima Aunty!!!).

I wouldn't ditch Shaan's film just yet, he may be the most arrogant film actor alive but he seems to have woken up to competition thats now around him (e.g. Shoaib Mansoor). He's nowhere near as talented as 'Showman' but his mobilink music videos are impressive.

Reema's film is to be based on a novel - 'Veronica Decides to Die' by Paul Coelho. The initial script had been penned by Shaan. Yes, it will be Bolly inspired but it's a trend we can't change immediately. Dancing and singing has been Pakistan Film Industry's sole saviour since 1947. With legends like Rahat F. Khan and Abida Parveen rumoured to be featuring on the soundtrack, I've got a feeling the music will be good.

Slackistan looks like an independent movie through and through, however we should encourage such cinema as it brings forth better talent that would otherwise go unnoticed in mainstream 'lollywood'.

Optimism is the magic word:

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.”

Just saw the trailer for slackistan. It looks laughable. That looks like a home made video, with rich young pakistanis kids who were bored and had nothing better to do. It has no credibility. I saw parts of the video equipment in oe scene, and everyone in that film is the same age. That is a classic sign of a homemade and very badly thought out amatuer "movie." I hate to diss it, but it is what it is.

Dr. lulworth "spade is a spade"