Re: What's the problem with Shiv Sena and Cricket
Crazy old man
bechara Thackeray is jealous us kay paway (source) walay banday nahi khel rahey india mein nanaa, aur us ko daar hai the third string team of Pakistan will kick Indias behind :p
so Javed Miandad's personal visits to Thackeray's home could not change his sentiments regarding Pak cricket ties?
cricket and subcontinent politics.
source www.cricinfo.com
The presence of Natwar Singh, the Indian foreign minister, in Islamabad, was expected to help resolve various issues. Shaharyar Khan, the president of the Pakistan board, was likely to meet the Indian foreign minister and raise various concerns he had. The Mid Day report quotes a Pakistan board source as saying, “basically the Pakistan board has to go by the advice of its foreign ministry, which so far has not given clearance to play in Ahmedabad. But that situation could change in the next 24 hours, with the Indian foreign minister in Islamabad and some important meetings scheduled.”
why do pak-india involve politicians into sports … do u ever see canadian or american foreign minister resolving some sports issues with teams or countrys … a big NO NO … we even put siasat into sports .. makes one think if cricket is da only big game played in pakistan .. its time pakistanis invest in more type of sports such as soccer and heck even field hockey
these kinda gestures( politicians involvement) makes one think again that either cricket is a very big game that even the politicians sit down and talk about the tourny schedules OR makes the Politicians position to be less valuable .. by stickin thr noses where thr not suppose to.
Re: Pakistan’s tour to India/Shoaib faces disciplinary inquiry
Pakistan’s Indian tour hangs in the balance
Cricinfo staff
February 17, 2005
**The Pakistan Cricket Board has suggested that its forthcoming tour of India could be in doubt unless the Indian board sorted out issues of scheduling within the next two days. **Two ad-hoc committee meetings of the Pakistan board were cancelled, and Abbas Zaidi, a director, said, "both meetings have been cancelled as the next two days are critical for us and should decide if we tour India or not.
“I think Thursday is going to be a crucial day for both boards,” said Zaidi to Mid Day, a Mumbai-based newspaper. “It should decide the outcome of this long-awaited tour.” In the meantime the Indian board is likely to announce the venues and dates for the Pakistan tour on Thursday after a working committee meeting. Pakistan have refused to play in Ahmedabad on security grounds.
The presence of Natwar Singh, the Indian foreign minister, in Islamabad, was expected to help resolve various issues. Shaharyar Khan, the president of the Pakistan board, was likely to meet the Indian foreign minister and raise various concerns he had. The Mid Day report quotes a Pakistan board source as saying, “basically the Pakistan board has to go by the advice of its foreign ministry, which so far has not given clearance to play in Ahmedabad. But that situation could change in the next 24 hours, with the Indian foreign minister in Islamabad and some important meetings scheduled.”
it was also in ary news .. so just the matter of two days .. they will finalize it by 19 february.
what do you mean by that nikhil- and how do you justify that given that last year we gave indian team such a warm welcome- not it is india's turn to give us the same respect that we gave u ppl - that respect cannot be given by digging up pitches and not being able to make petty decisions as to whther to stage a game in a'bad or not - Your Bala Thackrey is so scared that he doesnt even go out of mumbai because he fears someone might kills him - don't bring javed miandad into it- just admit it that he is against bringing peace b/w pakistan and india
Re: Pakistan’s tour to India/Cricket and Politics (Merged)
now there will be 6 ODIs…
** Pak will play ODI at Ahmedabad **
[INDIATIMES CRICKET ]
NEW DELHI, Feb 17: The Indian cricket board on Thursday decided to host the sixth one-day international against Pakistan at Ahemdabad.
BCCI took the decision in its Working Committee meeting in New Delhi on Thursday following a meeting between the Indian Foreign Minister K Natwar Singh and Pakistan Cricket Board chief Shaharyar Khan in Islamabad on Thursday morning.
Pakistan Cricket Board was reluctant to play at Ahmedabad in the forthcoming series due to security reasons. Ahmedabad was supposed to host the first Test of the three-match series.
Pakistan will play now six one-dayers instead of five as scheduled earlier.
people are waiting for this tour , hope that final decision would take place soon.
more delays…
** BCCI moots ODI at Ahmedabad **
[PTI ]
NEW DELHI, Feb 17: The BCCI proposed on Thursday to have six one-dayers instead of five to accommodate Ahmedabad as a one-day venue during Pakistan’s upcoming tour of India in an effort to resolve the fixture imbroglio.
The BCCI’s Working Committee, which discussed the issue on Thursday, has also proposed Chennai or Kolkata as an alternate Test venue in view of Pakistan Cricket Board’s reservations over playing in Ahmedabad which witnessed communal riots in 2002. Kolkata has now emerged as a frontrunner to host the third Test as per the rotational policy of the Board.
** However, the Pakistan Cricket Board chief Shaharyar Khan has reportedly sought a day to take a final decision. **
“We are planning to have an extra one-day international to accommodate Ahmedabad. While Mohali and Bangalore are confirmed as Test venues, we propose to have the third Test in either Chennai or Kolkata,” a top BCCI source said here on Thursday.
The Working Committee meeting is expected to finalise the itinerary for Pakistan’s tour, the first since 1999. The Board officials are in touch with their Pakistani counterparts and BCCI President Ranbir Singh Mahendra held telephonic talks with PCB Chairman Shaharyar Khan just before the start of the meeting here this morning.
It also appears unlikely that the Working Committee will announce the final itinerary on Thursday as the matter was still being discussed with PCB, the source said.
“The venues and dates will be announced in a couple of days after consulting with PCB,” he said.
Meanwhile, President of the Gujarat Cricket Association Narhari Amin said the GCA would have no objection if Pakistan played a one-dayer instead of a Test in Ahmedabad.
“We should have a match in Ahmedabad, that is all we want. Hopefully, PCB will agree to play a one-dayer in Ahmedabad,” he said
I think PCB should agree to play an ODI there.
I think the PCB should ‘Call off’ this tour, on the ground that it is severely tainted with politics and Party concessions. :o
In view of Bal Thakoo,even though he’s just a piece of $hit , ![]()
I’m not comfortable ‘watching’ my beloved youngsters playing in front of 50-60+ thousend of hostile fanatics who are already calling this a “Yudh” … what else are we waiting for?
Raindance Bhai,
Thats what Bal Thakrey and his goons are counting on, ie the fear factor they want to capitalize on it and make a political statement, I can understand your concern for the safety of the players, which should be the first priority, and I am sure the Indian Government and BCCI will step up to the occasion, and will provide ample and proper security for the players.
Hence calling off the tour will be just falling into the Trap of Bal Thakrey and his goons and the likes of him.
I just hope we match the hospitality shown to us by the Pakistanis, which I know is a very tall order, but I do have my fingers crossed.
And if you come up with one more post about cancelling the tour, believe you me I am going to shoot you.![]()
Pakistan’s Akhtar fined for Australia disco visit](Yahoo is part of the Yahoo family of brands.)
LAHORE, Pakistan (AFP) - Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar has been slapped with a 500-dollar fine for a disco outing during the recent tour of Australia and three other counts of indiscipline, officials said.
The 29-year-old, who has denied the charges, immediately announced he would appeal against the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) decision.
“I would not make any other comment, but I am going to appeal,” Akhtar told AFP on Thursday.
His reported disco visit, the pictures with girls which appeared in the Australian media, his delayed return home, and his hiring of a private trainer prompted the PCB to set up a three-member inquiry committee.
Their punishment does not bar him from the Indian tour beginning on February 25, but the leading Pakistani bowler’s place was still in jeopardy after failing to shake off a hamstring injury he picked up in Australia.
Akhtar received the fine and a warning not to step out of line again at a PCB disciplinary committee headed by a retired judge at Lahore’s Gaddafi stadium Thursday.
“Akhtar was charged for visiting a disco on the tour of Australia, for returning home late, for issuing media statement on his return and for hiring a private trainer,” PCB’s legal adviser Asgher Haider told reporters.
“He was found to have committed indiscipline for which we have penalised him and warned him to maintain discipline in future but the action is not linked to his selection for the tour of India,” said Asgher.
Akhtar was to appear before a medical commission on Saturday, when Pakistan announces its squad to play three Tests and five one-day games in India.
The PCB had also directed Akhtar to play a four-day first class match this week to prove his fitness but he failed to comply with their demand.
Re: Pakistan’s tour to India/Akhtar Fined.(Merged)
Pakistan’s India tour may be delayed as disputes rumble on](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/050217/3/94yy.html)
NEW DELHI (AFP) - India’s cricket board has accepted a Pakistani request to change one Test venue but said its neighbour’s first cricket tour across the border in six years may still be delayed by continuing disputes over venues and television rights.
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) accepted Pakistan’s demand to avoid Ahmedabad as a Test venue, but proposed the city host an unscheduled one-day international to appease local politicians and cricket officials.
The BCCI on Thursday sent a revised list of venues for the approval of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), under which the Test will shift to Calcutta and Ahmedabad is allotted one of the six one-dayers.
The PCB is expected to reply in the next 48 hours whether it is willing to consider a one-dayer in Ahmedabad, where at least 2,000 people – mostly Muslims – were killed in communal riots in 2002.
The tour is scheduled to start on February 25.
“There is a possibility the tour may be postponed by four to five days,” BCCI president Ranbir Singh Mahendra told reporters after a meeting of the board’s working committee.
“We want everything to be in place before the tour starts.”
The PCB said it would seek government permission to play the one-day match in Ahmedabad.
“It is a welcome decision but we will have to get the government’s permission to play a one-day match in Ahmedabad. We hope the matter will be decided amicably,” PCB chief Shaharyar Khan said.
Mohali and Bangalore will host the other two Tests during the seven-week tour, while the one-dayers will be played in Cochin, Visakhapatnam, Jamshedpur, Kanpur and New Delhi.
Only five one-dayers had been originally scheduled but a sixth was added to accommodate Ahmedabad.
India’s main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party last week urged the government to cancel the tour if Pakistan declines to play in Ahmedabad.
The BCCI was also unable to finalise TV rights for the high-profile series following an ongoing legal battle in the Madras High Court.
The BCCI backed out of a four-year, 308-million dollar deal with India’s Zee Telefilms last September after it was challenged in court by rival ESPN-Star Sports, jointly owned by Disney and Rupert Murdoch’s News Corp.
The Madras High Court, which is hearing a counter-petition by Zee, on Thursday adjourned hearings till Friday amid indications a final decision was unlikely before next week.
“We can’t decide on TV rights because the matter is in court,” Mahendra said. “That’s why I am saying the tour may be postponed.”
Pakistan’s first full tour of India since 1999 follows India’s visit in March-April last year to resume cricket ties that had been stalled since 2000 due to political tensions.
India won both the Test and one-day series on that tour, their first to Pakistan for Test matches in 15 years.
Pakistan’s cricket chief met visiting Indian Foreign Minister Natwar Singh earlier Thursday in Islamabad about the venue dispute, in an indication of the tour’s political significance.
Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Shaharyar Khan said Singh agreed that a postponement of the tour should not be an option as both countries are willing to play.
Pakistan's Akhtar fined for Australia disco visit
nice joke actually. he should have been banned for a series atleast to teach him a lesson. I wonder what Imran khan would have done with him
-----------z-z-----------
Hai maar dala,
Yaar aejaz bhai aik to app bhi na bus cheez ho,yaar kiss kiss ko Shoot kero gay
Yeh loo esko bhi goli maroo,
qoute,
The Madras High Court, which is hearing a counter-petition by Zee, on Thursday adjourned hearings till Friday amid indications a final decision was unlikely before next week.
“We can’t decide on TV rights because the matter is in court,” Mahendra said. “That’s why I am saying the tour may be postponed.”
Un-qoute
Aur woh appnay ehsan bhai,etni lambi lambi chore rahai hain,errr I mean thread paste ker rahay hain,kay aik inch ki thread puray do do foot ke ho rahi hai,scroll ker ker kay mera “Mouse” ki bhi dukh gain hain BCCI ghootalay mai,
-----------x-x------------
^ Lay Off !
Imran would have consulted with GoldSmith on the issue
whats the problem with you guys ?? ![]()
This is really ridiculous demand by PCB by asking him to gain full fitness (which can be gained by “rest” and rehabilitation therapy) and play 4 day match as well. Its okay to demand match fitness AFTER recovering from an injury, but why ask when someone is recoverING? Some fishy politics I smell.
Pakistan agrees to play one-dayer in Ahmedabad
(Updated at 1205 PST)
LAHORE: Pakistan has agreed to play a one-day international in the riot-hit Indian city of Ahmedabad, ending a row over venues that threatened the team's first cricket tour of India in six years, an official said on Friday.
"We have agreed to play an additional one-day match in Ahmedabad and the proposed Test in Ahmedabad will now be played in Calcutta," Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Shaharyar Khan told foreign news agency.
"The tour may get delayed by three to four days," he added.
Shoaib is named in the Pakistan XI fund raising match against the Rest of Pakistan on Monday by the PCB, lets see if he plays or not…
GEO news alert:
** I AM NOT FULLY FIT TO TOUR INDIA - SHOAIB AKHTER.
Shoaib may rule himself out of India series…**
KARACHI: Shoaib Akhtar, Pakistan’s senior most fast bowler, is contemplating making himself unavailable for the tour of India, following fitness problems and differences with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) over a fine of $500 dollars imposed on him on disciplinary grounds.
The 29-year-old, who is recovering from a hamstring strain, well informed sources said, could rule himself out of the coming series as he was not happy with the treatment being meted out to him by PCB.
Shoaib is due to appear in one-day fitness trials on Saturday (tomorrow) before the PCB appointed foreign trainers and physiotherapist to assess his fitness for the Indian tour.
Other pacers Mohammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed and Mohammad Khalil would also appear in these trials which are being held on the same day when the national selection committee announces the touring squad for India.
Shoaib was on Thursday fined $500 dollars by the PCB disciplinary committee after they found him guilty of violating some clauses of his central contract by visiting a nightclub in Australia.
“Firstly, Shoaib is not happy as PCB has attached a stigma of indiscipline to his name when not even the team manager Haroon Rasheed has reported him for any indiscipline on the (Australia) tour. And secondly, he is worried about his fitness because he has had some more problems with his hamstring and for the last one week, has not been able to get proper attention because of the absence of foreign trainers who have gone on vacations with coach Bob Woolmer,” the source disclosed.
Shoaib, who has taken 144 Test and 186 One-day International wickets, the source said, would take a final decision on making himself available for the tour before the fitness trials. The fast bowler is contracted to PCB by signing the central contract till June this year.