Pakistan 'withdraw from Asia Cup'

Pakistan have pulled out of the Asia Cup, ACCORDING TO REPORTS, dashing hopes of a revival in cricketing ties with arch-rival India.
Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka were all set to play in the tournament in Bangladesh in August.

But Pakistan’s refusal to play appears to be a tit-for-tat response after India said they would not take part in a Test and one-day series in Pakistan in May.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) director Chishty Mujahid told the AFP news agency: “We have informed the Asian Cricket Council [ACC] of our inability to participate in the Asia Cup and will issue further details next week.”

The latest decision ends any hopes of a restoration of cricketing ties between the two countries, which stems from a political row over the disputed region of Kashmir.

They did play each other in the 2003 World Cup last month - where India beat Pakistan by six wickets in a group match.

But the Asia Cup, which began in 1983-84, has been marred by India-Pakistan tension.

The last time both countries played together in the Asia Cup was in Bangladesh in May-June 2000.

No Indian team has toured Pakistan since 1997-98 but Pakistan did play in India the following year.

What do youi guys think, Do you think PCB has done the right thing and pakistan shouldn’t play India ?

It's not the response of Pakistan not playing with India vice versa, I reckon. Pakistan won't tour India in 2004. That's already written on the paper, I tell you. Be-fitted reply to India. :)

Asia Tournament is going to be held in August as report suggests; and Pakistan will host Bangladesh in September and South Africa in October this year, hopefully. Of course, it takes time for a team to prepare playing at home after Cricket became victim of violence, tour cancellations, security and blah and blah and more blah blah.

Anyway, this is just my personal opinion, nothin' else. I await Chishty Mujahid's further detail report coming out next week.

The true loser in all this are the fans on both side of the border. A sad situation which needs to be resolved. I personally feel that both sides should be playing each other. It not only brings the best out of the both sides but it also brings a lot of excitement to the fans of both countries. Nothing on the cricket field is more exciting and competitive than an Indo/Pak clash. Also without a doubt no other clash can produce a bigger audience as far as cricket is concerned.

problem india ko hum sya hai khelne main.. humain on say koi problem nahi..

i personally think its not right.. atleast i didnt expect this tit for tat reply from Pakistan :(

The game of cricket will suffer in this mess. I dont think it was a wise decision to pull out of that tournament. Just because India does this kind of thing every time, does not mean we have to follow them. Whats the difference between them and us then???? The fans from both countries have been deprived of exciting cricket for a long time now. We dont play each other in Sharjah anymore. The Sahara cup in Canada was cancelled. No one on one series between the two countries. While Srilanka is a good team and a very fighting team, no other team at least in Asia generates as much interest as India and Pakistan. If PCB sticks to the same policy I dont know whats going to happen to cricketing ties between the two countries.

this isnt the rite thing to do

Asif_k Ji

I guarantee you that Pakistan will take part in the Asia Cup in Bangladesh.

They would never let go of this opportunity to participate as the Prize Money will be substantial due to the fact that the Indian Team will be participating thus there will very large amounts of Money in way of Advertising and Sponsership from Indian Companies.

This Year Pakistan has earned only USD 21,250 from the World Cup and about USD 50 to 60 Thousand in the Sharjah Cup.

When India plays there is BIG MONEY.

Have Patience my Friend.

Have a Nice Day

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
The game of cricket will suffer in this mess. I dont think it was a wise decision to pull out of that tournament. Just because India does this kind of thing every time, does not mean we have to follow them. Whats the difference between them and us then???? The fans from both countries have been deprived of exciting cricket for a long time now. We dont play each other in Sharjah anymore. The Sahara cup in Canada was cancelled. No one on one series between the two countries. While Srilanka is a good team and a very fighting team, no other team at least in Asia generates as much interest as India and Pakistan. If PCB sticks to the same policy I dont know whats going to happen to cricketing ties between the two countries.

LahoriMunda Ji

I am sure that Pakistan will Participate in the Asia Cup as I have already explained above to Asif_k Ji.

Only the Pakistani Fans are deprived of exciting Cricket. We in India have regular Tours from West Indies, England, Australia and New Zealand and of course from the other Countries too.

Still I would want Pakistan to participate in the Asia Cup.

Arre Bhai it is a matter of Money. Do you think the Pakistani Team and PCB will lose the opportunity to make the big prize monies as India will be playing in this tournament.

Have a Nice Day

yup :hehe:
now this reminds me of something.:ahaa:

Neither cricket nor fans will suffer because there are lots of other teams to play with for both countries. I think it is actually a good move for two reasons:

1. I don't want India and Pakistan to play each other again until the two countries mature and realize it's a game. Right now we're turning the game into a surrogate for war.

2. It'd also not be in the interest of the Pakistan team which is trying to reshape itself to meet a team of India's quality this early.

I think they've done right thing. They've cancelled many tours with Pak, and PCB lost a lot of money. This time PCB cancelled the tour, so they might learn something from it.
I hope they resume playing cricket as soon as possible, but hat dharmi ki bhi aik had hoti hay.

*Originally posted by aravamudhan: *

1. I don't want India and Pakistan to play each other again until the two countries mature and realize it's a game. [/QUOTE]

Ok lets correct you. Not until two countries mature but until India matures.

Right now we're turning the game into a surrogate for war.

Not "WE" but "You", Indians.

Surti brother, hamesha ki tarah aapne bilkul Khari baat ki hai :)

Originally posted by bdsurti: *
**Asif_k Ji

I guarantee you that Pakistan will take part in the Asia Cup in Bangladesh.

They would never let go of this opportunity to participate as the Prize Money will be substantial due to the fact that the Indian Team will be participating thus there will very large amounts of Money in way of Advertising and Sponsership from Indian Companies.

This Year Pakistan has earned only USD 21,250 from the World Cup and about USD 50 to 60 Thousand in the Sharjah Cup.

When India plays there is BIG MONEY.

Have Patience my Friend.

Have a Nice Day

As usual your arguments are limited to one thing only. Mere murghey ki eik hee taang. Think of something more then just money to talk about.

*Originally posted by Dr.Evil: *

Ok lets correct you. Not until two countries mature but until India matures.

Not "WE" but "You", Indians.

Why are you against Pakistan also maturing? That's a good thing isn't it?

I'm proud of the PCB. Well done, if the Indians can't play us, we will answer in kind.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

As usual your arguments are limited to one thing only. Mere murghey ki eik hee taang. Think of something more then just money to talk about.

ehsan Ji

Bhai Ji - Hum Aap Ki Pudvi Ka Pura Samaan Kartey Hain.

However although Money is not everything without Money there is Nothing.

Cricket had two types of Team Members i.e. Gentlemen and Players.

Since the last Thirty or so Years ago the Game now only comprises of Players as MONEY is the main criteria in these International Matches.

I trust you will always accept the fact that I am desirous of India-Pakistan Matches. However, we Indians have to accept the wishes of the Indian government.

Aur To Koi Charra Bhi Nahin.

I again reiterate : Pakistan will surely take part in the Asia Cup.

My reasons are that the Prize Money will ensure Pakistan Participating. You have your reasons. I fully respect them. It does not matter as long as Pakistan participates in the Asia Cup.

Have a Nice Day.

*Originally posted by bdsurti: *

ehsan Ji

Bhai Ji - Hum Aap Ki Pudvi Ka Pura Samaan Kartey Hain.

Wah Kya Hindi hai !! :)

:rotfl: :rotfl:

Surti…R u a baniya??

meh..so whats new?

Its just a matter of who pulls out first. If Pakistan hadn't pulled out, India surely would have.