Pakistan will either break up or fall under Taliban rule by 2015.

This is the sad reality. Each day I turn on the tv, go online and see the same carnage across Pakistan. And each day I see the complete apathy of the Pakistani masses regarding the situation.

Where are the protests? They showed up for the lawyers, they showed up over cartoons, and yet they seem quite content to watch extremists turn Pakistan into Iraq. I see no difference now between the 2, both are prime examples of state failure.

No one can resist a mass peoples movement, but the Pakistani masses have the zest of life seemingly sucked from them. Have 60 years of maltreatment and ill opportunity rendered them that indifferent to the fate of their nation? India is about as poor per capita as Pakistan, but the people have a spirit-they see a future.

Frankly, this carnage cannot continue, nor can the fragile state withstand it indefinitely. Seeing as our pathetic armed forces surrendered in Swat and elsewhere, and a good number of them support the militants, we cannot resist by force. And we are not resisting through the mobilization of civil society. I can draw one conclusion only, Pakistan is doomed. I say this with the heaviest of hearts, Pakistan is doomed. We will probably fall to the Taliban-which amazes me that a militia force is hammering one of the world’s supposedly better armies, or we will simply balkanize along the lines of our many contradictions. I can see the North and NWFP break away, and Balochistan too. Left with just Sindh and Punjab, they will soon merge with India again.

Pakistan stands as proof of what happens when you let religion take such root in society. People accept anything done by those people, it sucks the creativity and life force from a populace. Now I am not against religion-but only oppose certain strands AND giving religion such a place in the fabric of the state. Let people be religious or not privately, like Turkey, but see around the world and notice that we alone stand in abject failure in comparison to similar countries.

What good are armies that cant fight? Of nukes when the people are living in shameful poverty?

Our political myopia has come back and is killing us.

I had to get that off my chest, I weep inside when I look at my ancestral homeland. And yet I see no solution to the crisis, as the masses seem quite content whilst the forces are unable to do the job.

Frankly, we need American intervention. And perhaps if we didnt have nukes the terrorists would not seek to overthrow the state?

Re: Pakistan will either break up or fall under Taliban rule by 2015.

Go Ask Yankees to take us …yay Vietnam :k:

Do you seriously see Pakistan itself fixing the problem?

LOL.

We cant even hold Swat!

If you think protests can solve the problem or lead to a solution then good news for you:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/316864-video-girl-swat-tool-used-us-invade-pakistan.html#post6434253

Its more a case of seeing opposition to it. Frankly, there is little or none. Most Pakistanis simply dont care, my point was this. We as a qaum can get riled over a few drawings, but dont get riled when we are collapsing into anarchy.

Atleast protests would show the world, and the militants, that Pakistani society rejects what the Islamists stand for. Its a show of solidarity, but no, we have grown to accept this indiscriminate killing.

Our myopic security policy is to blame. We fed the radicals, now they are feeding on the carcas of Pakistan.

One protest-its a start. But these should have happened ages ago, now the Islamists are well entrenched.

The ONLY solution is a Stalin like ruler. An avowed opponent of political religion, who is willing to crush the militants and the culture that breeds them. Short of that, I see a map without Pakistan very soon.

Obama is No Yankee!..in 2015 Latinos and Africans + Asians will be very influential in USA…

Like some one said…Tael dekh tael ki dhaar daikh!

is it leaving?

First will have to invade North Korea!

I have been saying the same thing as I've been posting here about Swat since the situation started, and no one has been moved, other than perhaps Burqaposhx, who is about as panicked as I am about this. Both of us were running back and forth on these forums, effectively calling red alerts to get everyone's attention and even then, so many people were like oh its nothing, good for there being sharia now in Swat, and all this blinded backhwaas.

Pakistanis DONT get it. And it just goes to show how publicly supported these long marches and lawyers movements might have actually been. I for one, still hold, that the Pakistani awam was lazy, and still is, when rising against these matters. Its not going to be until the turbaned men come to your door with a whip, that people will be freaking out.

It certainly so appears that Pakistan will not survive the existential crises facing her because I dont think we managed to develop into a Nation in these 62 years, I bet if you start a thread asking what it means to be a Pakistani ? what are the core values/principles that define us as a nation ? you will not find vivid / cogent or consensual responses , its only natural to see our country withering under the geo-political challenges that it faces in the absense of any national character, any centripetal force uniting us , only centrifugal/divisive forces exists tearing us apart at all fronts.

But I disagree with your assertion that it is perhaps religion that is to be blamed for this....,while it is true that religion has been exploited as a slogan to misguide people which has acted as a catalyst in destroying our society in recent time but if we do some introspection & reflection on our social character we are perhaps the most Hypocritical & least islamic of all muslims in the world today..., if anything it is the lack of understanding of our religion , non-adherence to the core islamic values of honesty,integrity,truthfulness etc. & total absence of the vision of Islam as a 'Deen' not limited to beliefs/practices/ritual/laws ;but as a complete socio econo political system , that is the true cause of our demise. Now , I dont want to debate whether fostering a society based on islamic values would have made us more prosporous or not, but I certainly believe that this is the only thing that could have made a Nation out of us,it was the only possible centripetal force for our Nation, it was the only justifiable basis of creating Pakistan... a nation built as a rejection to the principles of nation state , its only natural for ideological states (only 4 were ever created State created in Medina by our Holy Prophet, USSR , Isreal & Pakistan) to dismantle when the faith in the core ideology fades away.

First SWAT, then it will be the rest of NWFP and then Quetta and surrounding areas and then Balochistan.....

At this current rate, Pakistan by 2015 will belong to history books just like Yugoslavia and USSR

^^ the same of said about Karachi and surrounding area.. infact they named that area as Liaqat abad and/or Jinnahpur... that went into the dustin, so does this morrons in the swat and FATA with ur dreams...

So stop worrying about Pakistan and look into the failing economy of west and try to find a solution to that if that doesn't happen then the whole world will fall apart to crimininals and small groups....

Absolutely. Pakistan has no identity, it tried to use religion-that has failed and is ironically killing the nation.

100% agree with you coffee_cake, parties like MQM predicted this long ago unless we change our ways, but no one listened. Now as my signature says, Pakistan's death will be at the hands of mullahs and their thugs.

It is disturbing and sad to see the current situation getting worse but Allah says keh umeed na choro...pray for the country if thats what we can do and within our little spheres of life and exposure. we should take little steps to bring about positive change...best place to begin is home...practice humanity, love, sharing, tolerance at home and love for the country, so that hopefully us and the next generation will turn into a nation united in thought and principal.

With regards to religion, Islam means peace and those who kill are not muslims but are ruining the image of the religion. We need to make the world aware of this that if a Muslim raises his hand to kill anyone, he/she is not a Muslim in the eyes of Allah any more...

I hope and pray Pakistan to grow into a strong nation and never disappear from the world's map...ameen

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD

Mercenary2k bhai…FOX have covered Swat Lashing incident …if not why ..:confused:

Its ironic as MQM have been instrumental in causing divison and hatred. They have a 3 decades legacy of racial hatred yet its supporters can point the fingers at Taliban?

The leader of the MQM called pakistan a blunder. How can a patriotic pakistani politicalparty ever do that?

Its hard to predict where pakistan will end up in 2015. pakistan has always been a very hard country to predict.

The last few years have bbeen very rough - they are simply because of the 60 years of mismanegement before it. Finally its taken its toll. Politicians, bureaucrats, seniior army officers, police have never really had to work hard before. Now they are faced with a crisis after after crisis and they dont know what to do.

1. The Balochistan issue has heated up - Baloch rebels allegedly get support from RAW/CIA.

2. The tribal areas and some parts of NWFP are losing control. they are taken over by scum who claim to bring them islam. These scum are attacking pakistani citizens, institutions at will.

3. the death of benazir would have caused much resentment in sindhis and any future policies and projects ie kalabagh dam would have to take into full account views of sindhis

4. ethnic rioting in karachi has resurfaced.

Its like each and every area has been set fire to and sooner or later the fires could join, if not put out properly.

Nothing is as wrong as Pakistan as phoren-based Pakistanis tend/love to project- Like you, if you love Pakistan and Islam, why would you like others to use nukes on your own awan. Saudi Arabia, Sudan and Northern part of Nigeria have Sharia and all of them are rich, successful countries. After all, Pakistan was created in the name of Islam- Islam and sharia can't be separated from each other. Even if Taliban takes over Pakistan, I don't think anything is wrong in it.

I've been thinking about this for the last few hours.

The reality is that we cant beat the MFing Taliban, the state is not able to defeat them and in part unwilling too. Thus to possibly stop this carnage, and accept the INEVITABLE, Pakistan should just give in.

When the God squad are in power, then the people will realize "oh sugar, we should have acted then!".

That and we should voluntarily denuclearize. What have N gotten us? Prestige? Ha, not on your life. We are seen as a basket case. Have they provided security? No, our security threats are mostly internal-and they provide no buffer.

We cant even provide 24 hours electricity to our people, many dont have safe water. What good are nukes? We should publicise terms of de-armament, I am sure the West will accept-it would eliminate their biggest security worry, AND make us less of a target for Islamists.

Possible terms:

1) $10 bn economic payment per annum for 20 years. Gauranteed.

2) Nuclear security guarantee. (If P is attacked with N bombs, we can expect nuclear coverage)

3) Help with infrastructure projects (this allows then to get much of the money in term 1 back. Experts oversee development expediture to ensure our corrupt politicians stay away!)

4) Assurance of access to peaceful nuclear energy, and access to peaceful powerplants.

Hopefully, with that we can overtime become a different nation. No more ' Islamic bomb' to stoke our army's ego, no power IB for the mullahs to desire. We can hope to develop a good infrastructure, good public services and become a nation worth being proud off.

The Saudis have oil wealth. They are not successful through the fruits of their man power/labour.

Nigeria has oil, yet if you think they are successful, think again. They are even poorer then South Asian countries!

Sudan is a basketcase!

Inshallah Pakistan will be around in 2015. I am tired of haters calling for its demise. There are still enough Pakistani patriots that have stopped evil ambitions of foreign powers on our great nation.

In regards to this TTP movement, the best way to engage is to disengage from this war on terror which has brought us nothing but misery and shame. What did we get for being the American rent-a-soldiers in the region? The rise of an indegeniosu taliban movement, drone attacks, displacement of FATA residents, sancturies for militants, attacks in our major cities.

You people fail to realize that the root cause is the occupation of Afghanistan by the Amriki/NATO forces, the fact that Pakistan is actively supporting the effort has caused us SEVERE blowback. I am not calling for another about face (something that the beghairat Pakistani governments are used to) but rather a disengagement from the war on terror. Let NATO supply lines run through Central Asia, let them battle the Taliban insurgency in Afghanistan. In regards to the internal disruptions, we must remove the foreign miscreants (Arabs, Uzbeks etc) from FATA with the cooperation of the militias. As for the militias including TTP, we MUST reorient them towards the external threats including Afghanistan, Kashmir. This reorientation will allow us to transform these fighters into the Hezbollah styled arms of Pakistan. We must reclaim FATA+Pakhtunkhwa and stop the bleeding...this is the most appropriate pathway.