Pakistan vs South Africa - Test Series

Its an irony that Pakistan won its first test against SA in 1998 under the captaincy of Aamir Sohail who was 'stand-in' for Rashid, and in that test instrumental factor was Shoaib.

Youhana did the same when he is stand-in for Inzamam and again Shoaib was once again instrumental.

We lsot the second test match when regular captain came back, i really hope that isnt the case with Inzamam. God Forbid. And i seriuosly doubt the SA bowling lineup. Those days they had bowling firepower in Donald, fanny deVliiers and a very dangerous Pollock. Now they dont have that kind of fire power anymore in their bowling department. But lets see :)

Overall a good win for the team, this is what team effort can bring to us :k:

Even though we have the upperhand, we shouldn’t take things easily as we did in ODI series and lost it. Though we can’t loose the series now, worse we can bring it down to equal level, but I hope that we can keep the upper hand.

If pakistan can manage a draw in second test they will rise to fifth position in ICC rankings , above India ofcourse :D

Why one shouldn't take his opponents for granted
Here is what Mr. Pat Symcox had to say before the test:

"We’re well equipped to beat them in the Test matches - we’ve got momentum on our side," says Symcox. "Pakistan have also seen that pace is not going to beat us. We’ve shown we can handle Shoaib Akhtar and co., and I would think the guys are pretty confident right now. Pakistan have to look at other avenues now. I don’t know if they have got the batsmen to post really big scores."

I bet he was hidding in a corner after watching his side being butchered, or else blaming the umpires just like Smith.

i thought he is.. par why he was kept saying Allah ki wajah say hua and insahllah wagaira…

i mean it was good but in pak hindu ho ya christian they never use the word Allah when it comes to thank god :konfused:

anyway whoever he is.. May Allah bless him :slight_smile:

have u guyz ever realized nething? no matter how much we bash our board, one thing shd be accepted. our board will never discriminate neone based on his religion. youhana was swiftly made captain when inzi wasnt available, n there never were 2 opinions abt it. kaneria has been given enough chances in the last few yrs to establish himself. rite now there are 2 non-muslims in the team , n i think its gr8 for pak cricket. it mite inspire our minorities to play the game more..

its so unlike indian team, where they always seem to hv a strict policy of player a maximum of one Muslim player in a team!

Saying “Inshallah” is part of our culture now, we say it without knowing what it really means, same goes for “Allah ka shukar hai”.

*Originally posted by akpower: *

its so unlike indian team, where they always seem to hv a strict policy of player a maximum of one Muslim player in a team!

dint we see a match where kaif and zaheer played in the same team????
or am i mistaken????
or is one of them a non-muslim????

:k: :cool: well said

*Originally posted by armughal: *

dint we see a match where kaif and zaheer played in the same team????
or am i mistaken????
or is one of them a non-muslim????

I think Zaheer and Kaif do play in same team, WC match against Pakistan in '03 both of them played.

*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *

Mansoor Amjad is only 17 years old and has'nt even played a single first class match.

[thumb=D]044213.JPG[/thumb]

dotn tell me they are going to bring this kid in to face the South Africans...

He hasn't played a single first class match but has toured South Africa with Pakistan's Academy team.

I don't think Mansoor Amjad will be in the final squad. Pakistan will have Shabbir Ahmad if Shoaib Akhtar ruled out!

He must be eating his words right now and that too letter by letter :hehe:

*Originally posted by saby: *
If pakistan can manage a draw in second test they will rise to fifth position in ICC rankings , above India ofcourse :D

Okay...to what position Pakistan will rank if we win the 2nd test match too?

I am willing to work for win! :)

Pakistan Zindabad!

Alright guys. this is enough. Stop asking questions about his religion. He is a hindu. End of story.

I dont know about Hindus as I have not met many in Pakistan, but virtually all the Christians I know in Pakistan, use the word Allah all the time.

I don’t get it. How come Youhana is injured now, but was 100% fit just before the start of the Test? Did he injure himself somewhere during the test?

http://www.dawn.com/2003/10/17/spt2.htm

???

Well, personally I don’t want Youhana to be excluded from this match provided he is fit enough to go long the 5 -days test match…and I don’t want either to exert an indirect pressure on him to be on the sideline…I am sure, we will be sorry later…because he has rescued so often the team in troubled times… :slight_smile:

Beside that, we should have someone experienced enough to lead the team in case Inzamam get injured during the match…and is unable to play the rest of the match…so, who will lead the Pak team…anybody in sight?

On a 2nd thought, maybe Moin Khan… :slight_smile:

Can we please give this religion thing a rest. Does it matter what religion the player is. They are all playing for Pakistan and their goal is one, to win and enhance Pakistan's reputation in the field of circket. Youhanna and Danish are there because of their talent and their desire to play for their country. Hats off to both of them.

Saying Inshallah becomes part of culture when you are living in a muslim state. I have seen many westerners and even non muslim Indians saying Inshallah and Mashallah when I was living in Saudi. It is as common and part of culture there as hello and hi is in the western world. So get over it and disucss cricket.

^^^Guys, take it easy...better keep the religion out of my strategy of winning matches against anyone on the earth...please give me a break!

Have you ever observed the white thick balk
on the left side of the Pakistan flag...thats for the minorites...

You also lived in Saudi :eek: