Pakistan VS South Africa - ODI series.

well played Pakistan and well played SA too. We were almost there in the end but D/L nay marwa deya. Khair better luck next time.

• Razzaq is bowling quite well from last game. He is not taking much wickets but stopping runs.
  • Shoaib is making his ball do all the talking than his mouth. Which is good for Pakistan
  • Personally i feel that Pakistan was at least 25 runs short of what was really needed to put pressure on in the early/middle stage of the game
  • Time to go in to the game with 3 regular fast bowlers Shoaib, Sami, Shabbir and 3 part timers namely Hafeez, Razzaq, Shoaib Malik

Kallis and Smith lead South African run-chase](http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/OCT/271242_PAKRSA2003-04_07OCT2003.html)

Dileep Premachandran

South Africa kept the one-day series alive by beating Pakistan on the Duckworth-Lewis method at Faisalabad, when bad light forced play to be called off five hours early, with 23 runs still needed, and only four wickets in hand.

Shoaib Akhtar had set up an enthralling finale with some stunning fast bowling, but the deteriorating light forced the umpires to call the players off with South Africa well ahead of the D/L target of 208. :frowning: South Africa’s run chase was inspired by Jacques Kallis and Graeme Smith, who added an even 100, while Jacques Rudolph held it together when things threatened to fall apart. Pakistan owed their total to Yasir Hameed’s 72, and to a late flurry from Abdul Razzaq.

Akhtar had bowled a fiery four-over spell first up, during the course of which he sent back Herschelle Gibbs. A ball after he had eased one through the covers for four, Gibbs couldn’t resist poking at one that pitched on off stump. The thin edge was easily held by Rashid Latif (10 for 1).

**Three balls later, he should have been celebrating a second wicket, as Kallis got an inner edge while attempting an off-drive. But Shoaib’s subdued reaction – in sharp contrast to his excited teammates – seemed to convince Darrell Hair that there had been no nick. ** :smack:

Kallis made full use of the life, playing some superb drives off Umar Gul, whose profligacy was exacerbated by some fortuitous edged fours. When Saqlain Mushtaq came on, Smith greeted him with three superbly struck fours. To make matters worse for Yousuf Youhana, Saqlain had all sorts of problems with his run-up, bowling six no-balls.

Kallis, who had earlier spanked Gul for a six and a four throught the leg side, rotated the strike cleverly once the fielding restrictions were removed, and South Africa were well on top when Smith departed in tame fashion.

Having just got to his 50, Smith attempted to dab a Razzaq delivery past point, only getting a thick edge through to Latif (110 for 2). The two Jacques then cobbled together a useful partnership before Shoaib turned the match on its head. After Kallis had struck a superb off-drive, he hit him on the hip with a full toss – which ran away for four. The next ball was the perfect yorker, and Kallis’ off stump went for a hike (146 for 3).

Boeta Dippenaar played a ridiculous shot to be bowled off his pads by Mohammad Hafeez (157 for 4), before Rudolph and Mark Boucher got the run-chase back on track. Boucher played a couple of stunning sweep shots off Shoaib Malik on his way to 24, before Shoaib castled him with another screeching yorker (206 for 5). When Rudolph, assured and elegant en route to 46, skied one from Malik to Abdul Razzaq in the deep two balls later, Pakistan had a sniff of victory. But a meaty six from Andrew Hall off Saqlain titled the equation in South Africa’s favour before gloom descended on the Pakistani camp.

Earlier, Hameed provided the stability and mid-innings impetus, while Razzaq added some late urgency as Pakistan set up a challenging total. South Africa’s bowlers kept their discipline, and their nerve, knowing that defeat would end any real interest in the series.

Pollock was at his Scrooge-like best in the opening stages, troubling both batsmen with his probing line and length. At the other end, Andre Nel was hostile without being quite as controlled. On another belter of a pitch, both Hameed and Hafeez struggled to get any sort of batting rhythm going, taking 15 overs to bring up the 50.

Hafeez departed soon after, when an ugly hoick off Hall looped off the outside edge to Dippenaar at extra cover (52 for 1). Youhana came in, and promptly struck two magnificent cover-drives off Makhaya Ntini. When Ntini strayed onto leg stump, he was deftly flicked down to the fine-leg fence. With Kallis brought into the attack to join Hall, Hameed also joined in the fun, with two meaty drives over midwicket, and a fine stroke through cover.

South Africa’s frustration was increased by a run-out that wasn’t given. With Youhana on 9 at the bowler’s end, Hall deflected a Hameed drive onto the stumps. The South Africans appealed, with Youhana out of his ground, but Hair didn’t even see fit to consult the third umpire.

Ntini ensured that it wouldn’t be too costly, when he came back for his second spell. Youhana lunged at one that pitched on off stump, and the faint tickle was well taken by Boucher (95 for 2).

Hameed played some more clunky strokes through midwicket as he motored past his half-century, before he was undone by Robin Peterson. He made room to slam a flighted delivery over cover, but Gibbs jumped up smartly to pluck the ball out of the air (128 for 3). Moments later, Peterson had more cause to celebrate as Younis Khan slammed one straight to Ntini at deep midwicket (139 for 4).

Malik and Faisal Iqbal then took the score to 169 in decent time, before Nel came back to nail Iqbal, who had made 22. A clever yorker took the edge of the bat, and Boucher dived smartly to his right to snaffle the chance. Malik, so influential with the bat in the first two games, played two lovely shots down to third man in his 18, but then sliced one from Ntini to Gibbs at point (181 for 6).

Latif flayed the bat around for 14, before miscuing one from Pollock to Kallis at deep point (200 for 7). But Razzaq then played some cracking shots down the ground and over midwicket to ensure that the South African batsmen would have to be at the top of their game to prevent Pakistan from running away with the series. :k: When they threatened to falter, the forces of darkness stepped in to help.

[thumb=D]046844.JPG[/thumb]
Jacques Kallis has his stumps shattered by a scorching yorker from Shoaib Akhtar

I forgot to mention about our batting.

Hafeez once again pulled another ‘Afridi’. I mean if the slectors are to persist with an allroudner opener who would fail more often than he succeeds, then Why not Afridi? Coz its certain that when he succeeds, we end up winning. and his bowling is more penetrative than Hafeez’s ,plays lot less balls :smiley: (thus more delievers to hit by the batsmen in the end :hehe: ). But as both Aamir and Inzi have hinted about giving Hafeez more chances so i guess we can expect more occurances of 50-1 and 43-2 inside first 15. mind you, i would suport bringing Afridi only if slectors are gonna persist with Hafeez for his additional bowling skills.

Yasir Hameed played very nicely, IMO he is the find of this rebuilding process so far, apart from a rejuvenated inzi :smiley:

Faisal Iqbal played really well in the middle overs before he recieved a really good ball to be dismissed, he looked assured and played to spanking cuts for boundaries and didnt waste anytime. I would rather suggest that he should open alongwith Yasir, might turn out ot be an effective opening combination.

Razzaq , apart from his continous improvement in his bowling perforamcnes (looks a lot more threatening and penetrative now) he is batting intelligently apart from aggressively :k:

I missed the game… bad luck. Inshallah next game will be ours :k: The team is really gaining momentum.

*Originally posted by saby: *
I forgot to mention about our batting.

Hafeez once again pulled another 'Afridi'. ....

I don't like this guy. This guy is taking his seat for granted. He must be made to work for it. 20 runs, whata achievement.

Originally posted by ehsan: *
**Kallis MOM

[thumb=D]b42.JPG[/thumb]
Ironic considering that he was clearly out before he got into double figures.

*Originally posted by Decent 6Chora: *
...Three balls later, he should have been celebrating a second wicket, as Kallis got an inner edge while attempting an off-drive. But Shoaib's subdued reaction – in sharp contrast to his excited teammates – seemed to convince Darrell Hair that there had been no nick....

QUESTION:
Isn't this a CHEATING? Like Rashid was banned for 5 matches just because he claimed a catch which was not completed (he was in worst position to judge the completion). But Refree watched that on TV later on after a protest from BD and gave this HARSH punishment to RASHID.

Now the question arises that WHY IS NOT SAME PUNISHMENT GIVEN TO KALLIS? He cheated as well. He should have WALKED BACK TO PAVALION even if shoaib didnt appealed. Who else than a batsman know about the knick from the bat? Rather than a ban he is getting MOM?

Isnt this all about DOUBLE STANDARDS? Why Pakistan cant appeal and get a ban for 5 matches for Kallis?

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *

I don't like this guy. This guy is taking his seat for granted. He must be made to work for it. 20 runs, whata achievement.

oh i like him, he is cute, tries to give his hundred percent in every department, just the implentation is a lot to be desired.

p.s and those who are raising thier eyebrows at my comment above, yes dont worry, i m straight :D

*Originally posted by Decent 6Chora: *

QUESTION:
Isn't this a CHEATING? Like Rashid was banned for 5 matches just because he claimed a catch which was not completed (he was in worst position to judge the completion). But Refree watched that on TV later on after a protest from BD and gave this HARSH punishment to RASHID.

Now the question arises that WHY IS NOT SAME PUNISHMENT GIVEN TO KALLIS? He cheated as well. He should have WALKED BACK TO PAVALION even if shoaib didnt appealed. Who else than a batsman know about the knick from the bat? Rather than a ban he is getting MOM?

Isnt this all about DOUBLE STANDARDS? Why Pakistan cant appeal and get a ban for 5 matches for Kallis?

Then the same rules apply for Youhana, according to the footage, he was clearly off his crease when Halls fingers touched the ball and went onto to hit the stumps.
I think its more of Pakistan's fault that they didn't appeal convincingly, then it would have been out.
I never agreed why Rashid was punished, it is all the umpires fault.

Originally posted by ehsan: *
**The sight of the day. Shoaib taking Kallis's wicket

[thumb=D]a802.JPG[/thumb]

Enjoy it.

I am defintley dissappointed by the loss, but when I saw this pic, I was definitly delighted, other then Pakistan winning their matches, thats one thing I always look for.
Shoaib @ his best, too bad it was in a losing cause.
Razzaq is becoming a better economical bowler day by day.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Forget playing the two spinners, Saqi and Mushtaq, bring in another fast bowler.

Yep, lets bring back Junaid Zia.

Pakistan suddenly looks a different team than it was vs Bdesh. mashallah. Shoib is bowling at his best. Bad luck, that Sami and Inzi didn't play, but overall performance by Pak is excellent in this series. Hope it continues.
This D/L method sucks! Just when Shoib came back to bowl...

the d/l method is nothing but crap. what it doesnt take into account is the form and performance of a bowler, or the remaining batting lineup of the batting side b4 the game is brought to a halt. rule shd be simple, if it rains and doesnt stop then match is a tie, if there's bad light then switch on the floodlights if floodlights are not available then match's a tie again. this rule gave south africa a win, which they may or may not have gotten. shoaib was at his scorching best, and he still had 2 overs 2go!

my team for the next game [in batting order]:

farhat
hameed
youhana
inzi
younis
abdur
malik
rashid
shoaib
sami
kaneria

*Originally posted by saby: *
oh i like him, he is cute, tries to give his hundred percent in every department, just the implentation is a lot to be desired.

p.s and those who are raising thier eyebrows at my comment above, yes dont worry, i m straight :D

I didn't know u r pro-Afridi too

Ehsan darling...any good news re--broadcasting next two matches??

O bhai kuch tu karo..humain khawar na karo...plezzz..

where is that Weasel--teaser?? any help from him (he better help u in this o/w he will get a great tease at his rear end)
Ehsan zalim!
ALLAH KE WASTAY HUM GHAREEBON KU MATCH DEKHA DO!!!

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *
Ehsan darling...any good news re--broadcasting next two matches??

O bhai kuch tu karo..humain khawar na karo...plezzz..

where is that Weasel--teaser?? any help from him (he better help u in this o/w he will get a great tease at his rear end)
Ehsan zalim!
ALAH KE WASTAY HUM GHAREEBON KU MATCH DEKHA DO!!!

bhai spell Allah right ...

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *

I didn't know u r pro-Afridi too

well that 'i like him' comment was in response to your comment it was related to Hafeez, Not Afridi :)

and yes i am pro-afridi (but only in this situation when our management wants a sixth bowler option and we have Hafeez who will fail in most mathces with the bat)

Ofcourse SA had to win this - otherwise the next two matches will be boring

*Originally posted by akpower: *

bhai spell Allah right ...

(ALLAH maaf karay mujhay)
thanks akpower.. ..that was not deliberate..buss zara humaree ingreze kamzoor hai!

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Yeah Right - Allah is really checking out spellings now. You are headed for hell.

well its not that ALLAH is checking or not..
its the faith and spiirit ALLAH sees,,,,
ALLAH is the all mightiest and HE should be given the best respect any Muslim can give.....

waissay tell us relly,, are you a Muslim...

Can’t believe that Pakistan actually beat South Africa - unbelievable! Surely the South African board now realise they need to change things around?

i have to say Shoaib Akhtar is back and on fire - he has changed himself and is quite economical in three ODIs - well done kiddo!

:smokin2: