Re: Pakistan vs South Africa @ Johannsburg, Feb 14th 2007
Definitely listening to different commentators. Why can’t the Pakistanis have their own commentary team?
A pity you can’t listen to the commentary I hear. The commentators are taking the umpires to task when they make mistakes but also praise them when they make good decisions.
I very much like Kass. Very few woman commentators out there. There is a West indian lady who also know her stuff. Might hear her during the WC.
I actually liked the commentary :) What do ypu think of the woman Kass's commentary?
I think everyone will feel that the other country's commentators are biased.
Worst I think are the Ausies. Extremely arrogant and biased.
Quite a few commentators around the world are biased but the South Africans leave them all standing, especially Barry Richards. Anything which SA do wrong is rare according to Barry while bad if it is other teams. But than maybe it is all SA. The other day when SA lost the ODI, Smith made about 20 excuses for the loss and than it was like BTW Pakistan played well .
Smith is still an immature captain. Nothing near what Hansie was. Pollock was a fair stand-in. Hansie lost it when he got too involved with the game and it wasn’t fun anymore.
I can't tolerate this MORON ------>Barry Richards<------------
I have heard his commentary and also read a lot of his columns,this guy is a DORk.None can beat him in Biased attitude.Yeah,the crown of bias-ness goes to him.I sometimes felt like punching him on his face.
Gavaskar blasted him in his column in India's tour of SA.
Lots of laughs in the commentary box. When South Africa started, Ian Bishop stated they would win in 28 overs and two balls. As the score got near, everyone started talking about it. The second ball from the 29'th over, AB scores the winning runs. Wonder what Ian Bishop might have made if he bet on his prediction?
And the series comes to an end......finally, some relief for Pak fans.
Congrats to South Africa for a comprehensive victory, watching Kallis batting and Pollock bowling was a treat. Best part of this series for me was M Asif, the Pak lone ranger and Pollock bowling length and line.
At the end of the day, what Barry Richards said or didnt say did not matter, the South African cricket team gave pak team a lesson in how to play at the top level, you never let your opponent any chance of recovery and you do not let your game to suffer no matter what.
Most worrying part for Pakistan is total loss of confidence just ahead of the worldcup. Is this part of the big scheme of things? I doubt it very much, Paki team management have lost their way and there is no plan B, injury to their main bowlers is not the problem, real problem is in their poor batting performance. Inzi, Razzak, Hafeez, Akmal had a terrible tour and in the case of Inzi/Akmal a very poor 12months with rare flashes of form which proved to be elusive.
Fielding was another big issue, Pak fielding standard was deplorable and with South Africa doing such a terific job our weakness was further magnified.
Consistency is what is required for a good cricket team to beat the other better teams, unfortunately that has not been the case.
its not the bowlers fault if theyre defending under 150. u just cant expect that from them, not when theyre gelling as a bowling team much less if they're under stress already.
[quote=Cricketfan]
Pakistani doesn't want to risk any further injury. That was the main reason Hafeez and Inzi decided to take it easy. Heard some rumours that Inzi and Bob are upset with Malik that he stayed out too long and thus exposed himself to a bigger risk. Now Bob woolmer for the first time (because of loosing his laptop) using a pen and paper and drawing some Aaloos (potatos to represent players in the field) and contemplating field setting for Inzi. Also heard rumours that he will bowl Asif for very few overs and will mostly rely on Rao, Rana and Razi lightening speed.
PAK GOAL is to get ONE WICKET thats it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!/quote]
Goal achieved
When Pakistan lost the first one day, everyone thought we are destined for doom. Than we won the second ODI, we are back and ready for World Cup. After loosing last two, we are done, team is weak and we won’t make it.
Team is strong, passionate and mentally tough. The reason we won second ODI and loss the rest three is because of our openers. The more they expose our middle order early in the inngs, the more we will loose series and matches, it is simple as that. It’s been over 3 and half years and still we cannot rely on a single pair, make-shifts only make it worse. Whose fault is it? Neither coach, captain, management or selectors….it is the players, so many opportunities given and still they can not hold on to their wickets for 10 over.
The game was a déjà vu’ of 3rd Test against South Africa, where Pakistan came into bowl after giving a very weak target, Asif bowls his heart out, Kallis and company way off the trouble over not playing loose shorts. When comfortable, go for the kill. In contrast, our openers did exactly the same they have been doing for a long period of time.
Please koi is thread ko un-thread karooo mujeh roooona aa-raha hai Kambakhtoo nay meri neend aur sakoon tabha kar-diya, itna ghatiya to GS (KK) ki team bhi na khelay