Pakistan vs South Africa - 1st Test Match @ NSK- Oct. 1st-5th

Re: Pakistan vs South Africa - 1st Test Match @ NSK- Oct. 1st-5th

^ Another 50 from Younus, than 100 from Malik and 90 from Misbah. The rest will be taken care by Danish Kaneria and co. :)

Its going to be battle of nerves. Inshallah hope that Pak comes on top.

tricky situation for Pakistan, in order to save the match younis must stay around tea time tomorrow (i know I am being too optimistic) however the way he played today you can expect alot of run scoring as well if he stays for that long, however Misbah/Malik need to keep one end intact all the time.

Bonus for Pakistan- Asif sticking for 10-15 overs tomorrow.

Bottomline is that Pakistan will have to save this match first before even thinking of going for the target. There is a reason why chasing 400+ in the final innings is almost impossible. In order to save the match Pakistan can only afford to lose 2 wickets (including Asif) around tea time. We must have 5 wickets in hand @ Tea which will be the time when the second new ball will be due.

Aur khuda ka wastay Paul Harris ko wicketay mut dena

buss 97 runs say reh giey butt kee century :hehe:

There is no saving this match as a draw on the cards. If Pakistan survives 90 overs tomorrow it will end up winning.

SA must still be overwhelming favourites to take the test.

thats why I said tricky situation for Pakistan. i know there is an outside chance of winning but then again many times we see similar situations in final innings when a team is playing well but lose the plot when a wicket or two falls.

The moment they lose one crucial early wicket tomorrow (I hope not), they will become defensive. From then onwards it will be a game of cat and mouse.

Just like my MAMU used to say about his fav cricketer (Manzoor Elahi :smack:) k “ager yee out nahi hota tu 100 bana laita:slight_smile:

and we used to say “ager main bhee out na hoon tu WI k khilaf 100 bana loon..liken masla yee hai k main 1st ball per out ho jaoon ga” :slight_smile:

I agree, Pakistan should play safe first. The required RR is 3 in order to win but keeping wickets are very crucial. Hopefully, Asif will stay around at least for hour or two, inshallah. Akmal needs to play like he played against India in Calcutta few years back.
Go Pakistan.

hahahhaa Ehsan bhai. But chalain at least in both innings he didnt get caught in slips :D

Younis Khan was brilliant though. I wish he had this authority everytime he comes to the crease but sometimes he is just too clumsy.

Don't raise your hopes people, If we survive till lunch without any loss (or at the most asif's), then captain and co can reassess the situation and play accordingly. Safety first!

I honestly don't understand what is this "safety first"? You CAN NOT play for a draw. There is NO draw tomorrow. It's SA winning the test - 90% chance. Pakistani will win if SA loses. Comprende amigos?

Pakistanis should play normal positive cricket. No need to think of the target or draw. Just play it out.

Another thing that usually does happen is when the batting side gets in a position where it can start thinking of actually winning the game, then they start losing wickets due to the mental pressure. I think that is exactly what will happen. Pakistan will play positive until lunch and then lose quick wickets.

why can you not play for a draw? It has happened before and it can happen again (last series between Pak-SA). Yes odds are heavily stacked in favor of saffies winning but Pakistan can grind out a draw if they lose a couple of quick wickets and decide to drop anchor.

Pakistan is not yet capable of playing normal positive cricket consistently. But I will be glad obviuosly if younis plays in this mood.

a lot depends on the First session tomorrow. They should only think of winning this if they loose not more than 1 wicket in first session tomorrow.

I don't think misbah is going to do much...Saffies probably have a solid game plan for him after seeing him in SA 20/20.
its going to be left for YoYo and Malik to see the innings through and most likely a draw...
then again what do I know ...:)
Only Allah truly knows..

Usually this kind of hope (for the batting team on 4th day) ends with immense heart-break around Lunch on the last day.

For the sake of my Pak friends here, I hope it would be different this time around.

^ I agree but then let's not forget Mohali of a couple of winters ago. Kamran Akmal and Razzaq battling it out on the final day trying to avoid a innings defeat and turning the tables on India by setting them a target. Anything can happen but given the current experience level it will be a miracle if the batsmen will survive.

we hope so

there will be no draw for sure. There will be a result to this match. Inshallah lets hope that it goes Paks way

^ Yes I agree..the chances of DRAW is close to nil (barring rain, of course).

^ I agree too. It will be a miracle if we survive. chasing 200 on the final day is tricky never mind 278. I don't want to say much except that Salman Butt DOES NOT deserve to be the vice captain of this team. pathetic in twenty-20 and even more abysmal in tests. If he has any sharam left in him he should abdicate it of his own accord